We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel near amenities”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #194 of 2,558 Hotels in Xi'an
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel near amenities”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

A large modern hotel just outside the city walls and overlooking a park. Large foyer and ground floor breakfast buffet with excellent choice of Chinese and western food. Obviously well regarded by the locals as two weddings took place on the Saturday while we were there. Well worth walking along the top of the walls during the day and through the old centre at night when all the sights are beautifully illuminated. Room was well equipped and comfortable with fine views, complimentary water and tea making facilities.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    160
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
23
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour arranged through Travelsphere, this was the 2nd of 3 hotels booked for us. The hotel is in a great location opposite the city walls and overlooks a nice park. In comparison to the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to China this room was huge. There were lots of amenaties in the room such as dressing gowns, slippers, tooth brushes, comb and the usual toiletries. Well stocked mini bar and reasonably priced too. As our tour included food we decided not to eat at the buffet (as we prefer western food) but we tried the al a carte menu (it is not al a carte as you and I would know it in the western world - more like a pub meal). We had soup to start followed by steak and chips which was pleasant but not what you would have in the UK or US (quite thin cut) , the meal with drinks cost around £30 which we thought was reasonable. The bad points in my opinion were the beds were very hard (apparently this is quite normal in China) our tour guide recommended asking reception for an extra quilt to make it more confortable. The hotel is on a very busy main road and crossing it is very difficult. The breakfast was average and the breakfast service is very hetic so be prepared. Overall a nice hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for just one night (thankfully) as part of a Travelsphere tour. Air conditioning didn't work - had it on all night and dropped only 1 degree (to 26 degrees!!) and very noisy. Others on tour said same. Had staff up twice to the safe as wasn't working. Eventually advised that was OK if I used 1234 for the code!! Bed very hard and uncomfortable. Bathroom very shabby and all towels were grubby - to be honest we don't use towels like those on our dog! Food OK. Remember, if you go there as part of a Travelsphere tour, it's only for 1 night. It's just that the conditions make it a very long "one" night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Amazing locations,next to the wall,great views.good breakfast.always the best to stay in Xi'An

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our room was very large with a large, firm but comfortable bed. The view from our upper level room across parks and the old city wall was spectacular. Staff were very helpful with a good command of English. The breakast was good with a range of Western and Chinese cuisine. The grand foyer provided a palatial welcome to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old city wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

This is shabby! It appears to be a new hotel in a nice spot across the road from the city wall but if you look closely it has a number of problems that do not justify the four star rating.
Carpets are stained and windows are filthy. The curtains cling unevenly to the fixtures (in all the rooms I saw). More a concern is the shower - water does not flow away due to the uneven floor and spills out over the mats. The shower door has a 3 cm gap at the bottom side, there is serious rusting in the corners and above the showere head the ceiling is in a state of decay. These could be fixed with a bit of maintenance but my impression throughout the hotel was that this is a problem all over.

I stayed as part of a tour group in which we had no choice but if you are traveling independently, think again. I'm sure you can do much better.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

An average but unspectacular hotel right next to the Western city wall in Xian, a ten minute cab ride from the Bell Tower in the centre of town or a fifty minute walk. You might want to add ten minutes onto that estimate just to cross the road outside the hotel as it resembles a grand prix circuit used by China's most myopic drivers. Opposite the hotel is a pleasant but small park which is good for a short walk. The rooms are spacious but a little tired, ditto the bathroom. Most rooms are twin not doubles. They do have satellite TV, an iron, hairdryer etc. and the usual stained carpet that seems to be compulsory for this type of hotel in China. The staff are very polite but some of the service is eccentric, there is no table service in the bar, you have to order at the bar, but they bring your drinks and change to the table. The restaurant is good with set and a la carte menus and plenty of locals eat there which is a good sign. Breakfast in the morning is good and copious but heaving with tour groups. The outside of the hotel is full of revving buses in the morning which adds to the poor air quality that Xian sadly has. For a short stay in Xian, which is the one most tourists are likely to do, the King Dynasty is fine.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is quiet, but you don't get the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.1 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#524 of 2,558 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#21 of 2,558 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,558 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#53 of 2,558 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,558 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,558 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#103 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing