We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First place to get bitten”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #198 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
dorset
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First place to get bitten”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was more basic than others we stayed in on our tour. Still comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. This was the first hotel where we were bitten while we slept. Free wifi in lobby area.

Good variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    160
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
23
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Big hotel at a very busy junction....with a big name! Even with a room at the back of the hotel and on floor 17 the street and traffic noise was huge andvthe room was very hot. Ancient furnishings of course. The radio was a time piece as was the TV. Breakfast was a rammy. Handy small, very small shop next door to get water and beer. Hotel is close to the spectular city wall which is splendid at night.

Room Tip: Hmmn. Maybe they had exceutive rooms tucked away some where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbb961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel would pass for a 2* as it was generally very grubby and their health & Safety needs a review as our room had 2 exposed electrical cables joined with tape. The staff could speak very little English, not even understanding knife, fork, spoon, cup etc. The were also very badly trained (At breakfast I caught one blatantly picking his nose, both nostrils, then flicking it on the floor!). The bed was more of a board but apparently this is normal in China.
The best thing about it was he roundabout in front of the hotel. Many spare minutes spent in amazement as the Chinese dice with death going around it, both ways & on foot!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Wendy Wu "wonders of china" tour last month (Sept 2013).

Was in a twin room which was rather large.

Beds are hard but that's standard in China, but wasn't a problem for a great night's sleep.

Supermarket within 10min walk.

wifi only in the downstairs lobby.

Hire a bike and ride along the City Wall. A lot of fun.

Room Tip: room overlooking the city I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieswooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel on face value looked ok when we arrived, but it was downhill from there.

Whilst I expected the beds to be hard, and I like a firm mattress, I think it would have been softer sleeping on the floor. Luckily I was in a room on my own, and could sleep on the doona with the other 1/2 to cover me. Not ideal, but it was a bit better.

The first morning there, my toilet flooded, not pretty or nice, and whilst they sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly, I'm not convinced they cleaned the bathroom very well afterwards. Several other members of my group had similar issues.

The food was very average, but ok. Don't expect anything exciting there unless you want Chinese food for breakfast. Their idea of western food leaves a lot to be desired.

Overall, the hotel was tired, not particularly clean feeling and as others have mentioned, in need of an overall.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel was probably once very grand but sadly it no longer is. The room was huge with a very large bed (firm but ok) and a large bathroom, the breakfast was ok, and the hotel is close to the city walls but this is where the positive ends.
The rooms are all very tired and badly need a makeover, the carpet was filthy and there was a significant amount of mould in the bathroom which could have been improved dramatically simply by replacing the silicone around the shower and bathroom fittings. The shower leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. The air conditioning was useless. The place stunk of cigarette smoke and the windows and curtains were dirty.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not on an organised tour and therefore has a choice of where to stay. Unfortunately we did not have this choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Driving up to the hotel we felt it has potential. Good location and impressive entrance. But as we entered we felt the neglect and the dire need for renovation. I can understand that hotel is not up to date with renovation, yet the King Dynasty was simply neglected and dirty. Did not have any noise problem but would not stay there in its current condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafib1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.1 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#527 of 2,578 in Xi'an
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#24 of 2,578 in Xi'an
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,578 in Xi'an
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,578 in Xi'an
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#109 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing