We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired Hotel”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #292 of 2,692 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of China. The hotel was clean but tired and in need of renovation and too many insects flying around the bathroom for my liking. That said, the rooms were very spacious. The hotel is in walking distance of the Muslim centre but located on a busy roundabout. The hotel was full the first night and breakfast could only be described as chaotic. There were additional table set up at the back of reception - but trying to get cutlery, tea/coffee was nearly impossible. The second morning wasn't as bad , but out of all the hotels we stayed in, this one had the least choice. It was fine for a 2 night stopover, but would be very disappointed if I was staying any longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is not that nice located. The view was a good one, on the city wall, but it was very, very noisy starting from 7 o'clock in the morning. A big junction is near so the horns sound right into your ears.The taxi to the center was not expensive.
The room was very large, old furniture, but ok. A problem - as in most of the hotels - is the smell inside. Here the carpet I believe was the problem. The most annoying thing was that after the first night there I had some itches on my body and some small red dots on my legs. The next morning I found the cause: some small insects in the bathroom that looked like flees with wings. It took me 2 weeks until I managed to get rid of the itches.
The towels looked like rugs - not all of them, but most of them.
The staff was ok.
Don't give them the card for deposit, give them cash! They unblocked my money after one month even tough they gave the receipt upon leaving as the money were unblocked.
Go and take the taxi from the street, don't order it at the reception.
The breakfast was one of the best we had in China: a large variety, American/European breakfast, fresh products, helpful waitress. We also had one dinner: very expensive, and disappointing not because of the food (the food was ok) but because they actually took what we ordered (duck breast) from the containers that were on the designated tables for the persons that had the dinner included in the hotel rate. And they sell it to us at a triple price!

Room Tip: If they have, ask for a room that will not front the street in case you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hteo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was more basic than others we stayed in on our tour. Still comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. This was the first hotel where we were bitten while we slept. Free wifi in lobby area.

Good variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Big hotel at a very busy junction....with a big name! Even with a room at the back of the hotel and on floor 17 the street and traffic noise was huge andvthe room was very hot. Ancient furnishings of course. The radio was a time piece as was the TV. Breakfast was a rammy. Handy small, very small shop next door to get water and beer. Hotel is close to the spectular city wall which is splendid at night.

Room Tip: Hmmn. Maybe they had exceutive rooms tucked away some where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbb961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel would pass for a 2* as it was generally very grubby and their health & Safety needs a review as our room had 2 exposed electrical cables joined with tape. The staff could speak very little English, not even understanding knife, fork, spoon, cup etc. The were also very badly trained (At breakfast I caught one blatantly picking his nose, both nostrils, then flicking it on the floor!). The bed was more of a board but apparently this is normal in China.
The best thing about it was he roundabout in front of the hotel. Many spare minutes spent in amazement as the Chinese dice with death going around it, both ways & on foot!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Wendy Wu "wonders of china" tour last month (Sept 2013).

Was in a twin room which was rather large.

Beds are hard but that's standard in China, but wasn't a problem for a great night's sleep.

Supermarket within 10min walk.

wifi only in the downstairs lobby.

Hire a bike and ride along the City Wall. A lot of fun.

Room Tip: room overlooking the city I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieswooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel on face value looked ok when we arrived, but it was downhill from there.

Whilst I expected the beds to be hard, and I like a firm mattress, I think it would have been softer sleeping on the floor. Luckily I was in a room on my own, and could sleep on the doona with the other 1/2 to cover me. Not ideal, but it was a bit better.

The first morning there, my toilet flooded, not pretty or nice, and whilst they sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly, I'm not convinced they cleaned the bathroom very well afterwards. Several other members of my group had similar issues.

The food was very average, but ok. Don't expect anything exciting there unless you want Chinese food for breakfast. Their idea of western food leaves a lot to be desired.

Overall, the hotel was tired, not particularly clean feeling and as others have mentioned, in need of an overall.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,093 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,692 in Xi'an
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,692 in Xi'an
542 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,692 in Xi'an
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#151 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing