We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wendy Wu tour booked”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #221 of 2,611 Hotels in Xi'an
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wendy Wu tour booked”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Fair accommodation, old but has good shower pressure and water over flows into the bathroom area it was comfortable, just takes abut of getting use to. I would rate at about 6/10 and would strongly suggest that you check the room before you shift in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pregener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    160
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
23
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

On arrival at this hotel we were given a non-smoking room on a floor reserved for foreign tourists. As soon as we entered the room we noticed a strong smell of smoke. We complained to the Wendy Wu National Guide, WeiWei who had us transferred to a different room. The new room was excellent and offered a view of the city wall. We don't know if it would have been as easy without the Wendy Wu Guide as the changeover was quick and seamless. The breakfast was excellent and offered both Chinese and western food. The mattress was fairly hard. Normal for China, so we were told.
Toby the concierge was very helpful and friendly. He was able to help with changing money and asked if our new room was suitable.
The city was highly polluted during our stay so the bedroom windows etc were covered in dust. You could taste it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunchasingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is right next to the City Wall so it's got a good view out front. The administration here is not fast, so you may find yourself waiting around for check-in or check-out. Rooms are spacious, beds are fine and bathrooms are a good size too. But ... plan ahead when you check out of here ... the elevators are shocking. They are slow, they can't cope with heavy loads very well and it will take you a long time to get down to the ground with your luggage - try 20 minutes! Just know that, and you'll be fine - everything else is pretty stock standard for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel is well-positioned near the city wall and it provides all your basic needs - reasonable food, helpful and friendly staff etc. The room itself was clean but the highly-polluted atmosphere of Xian meant that the bedroom windows and curtains were heavily stained and this gave an impression of being unclean even if the room itself was fine and very roomy. It is on a busy roundabout and could be quite noisy. After staying in Beijing the hardness of the bed was no longer a problem!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

On the way we visited the Small Goose Pagoda (dates from 707 – Tang Dynasty. Best photos from the bell side).
14-15 Oct: King Dynasty Hotel: The hotel has an excellent position overlooking the city wall near the West Gate. No negative issues with the hotel - breakfast, bed, room, fridge, room temperature wer all fine. Friendly hotel staff. Not just the hotel, but the whole city seemed to make you welcome. Room 1642 is a side room towards the front and you can see the ring road and North Gate of the city wall. Traffic watching was entertaining. A car broke down on the 6 lane southbound road. Traffic just moved out and around it - most without indicating. Someone crawled under to fix it. Two lanes were out of action. It barely interrupted the flow, traffic moved out of the affected lanes mostly without indicating. The other lanes just let them in.
I went to the small shop just outside and to the right (as you come out) of the hotel. A 600 ml bottle of beer was 2.5 yuan (25p)!! they use a bar code reader so you know you are paying the correct price.
15th: Visit to the Terracotta Warriors (wow – enough said by others), the Shaanxi Museum (I really enjoyed e.g. a carved bone skull between 5 and 7 thousand years old, small terracotta warriors, Zhongshan Grotto – not all did) and a pearl factory (expecting this to be a waste of time but it was good and my wife bought a beautiful pair of gold pearl ear rings that we will always treasure).
Optional (you pay) was a night our of the city – really worthwhile and another side to the historic city – Las Vegas in China – including the lights and the Downtown ceiling video experience. We got to see the Large Goose Pagoda and if you didn’t do the trip you didn’t see it.
16th: Visited the Muslim Quarter (Unpleasant smells but enjoyable experience). Lots of bargaining and the first chance to buy a Rolex for £5 – more would follow. Reviews say you should pay a quarter of the start price – I would suggest much less – often about 10%. A useful tip is to watch someone bargain them down to a price they pay. You then use this as their start price and bargain down from this. Even if they let you walk away, they are often still watching in case you wobble – and if you do not they may come after you.

Room Tip: I only saw room 1642. It suited us fine. The view is fine and the noise level OK. A full on front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of China. The hotel was clean but tired and in need of renovation and too many insects flying around the bathroom for my liking. That said, the rooms were very spacious. The hotel is in walking distance of the Muslim centre but located on a busy roundabout. The hotel was full the first night and breakfast could only be described as chaotic. There were additional table set up at the back of reception - but trying to get cutlery, tea/coffee was nearly impossible. The second morning wasn't as bad , but out of all the hotels we stayed in, this one had the least choice. It was fine for a 2 night stopover, but would be very disappointed if I was staying any longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is not that nice located. The view was a good one, on the city wall, but it was very, very noisy starting from 7 o'clock in the morning. A big junction is near so the horns sound right into your ears.The taxi to the center was not expensive.
The room was very large, old furniture, but ok. A problem - as in most of the hotels - is the smell inside. Here the carpet I believe was the problem. The most annoying thing was that after the first night there I had some itches on my body and some small red dots on my legs. The next morning I found the cause: some small insects in the bathroom that looked like flees with wings. It took me 2 weeks until I managed to get rid of the itches.
The towels looked like rugs - not all of them, but most of them.
The staff was ok.
Don't give them the card for deposit, give them cash! They unblocked my money after one month even tough they gave the receipt upon leaving as the money were unblocked.
Go and take the taxi from the street, don't order it at the reception.
The breakfast was one of the best we had in China: a large variety, American/European breakfast, fresh products, helpful waitress. We also had one dinner: very expensive, and disappointing not because of the food (the food was ok) but because they actually took what we ordered (duck breast) from the containers that were on the designated tables for the persons that had the dinner included in the hotel rate. And they sell it to us at a triple price!

Room Tip: If they have, ask for a room that will not front the street in case you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hteo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest International Hotel
Quest International Hotel
#1,112 of 2,611 in Xi'an
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#24 of 2,611 in Xi'an
626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,611 in Xi'an
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,611 in Xi'an
1,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#13 of 2,611 in Xi'an
486 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,611 in Xi'an
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#119 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing