We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #254 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The King Dynasty is well located just outside the city walls, and you can walk to the Drum and Bell Towers in about 30-40 minutes, if so inclined, and don't get hopelessly lost! There is also the benefit of being able to walk through the Muslim Quarter.

The hotel itself is good. Breakfast is plentiful, the hotel is clean throughout, and we were lucky enough to get a corner room overlooking the city wall and inside the city wall. Beds were big and typically hard for China, but nothing to complain about.

Recommended for location and facilities.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room on a high floor, facing into the city walled area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheCoastAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our 26 day Grand Tour of China with Wendy Wu Tours. The trip was a wonderful experience and impeccably planned, run and organised by our national tour guide. We were thoroughly pampered and looked after throughout the trip. This hotel was one of several we stayed in as we travelled the length and breadth of the country by train, plane, bus and boat and all the hotels we stayed at were of similar quality. Excellent value and I recommend this tour to anyone curious about China.

Room Tip: Good wifi in the lobby. Some say the beds are hard in China. I didn't find that at all. Thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennywalls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived here early evening after transfer via air from shanghai.Hotel is on a very busy roundabout overlooking the city walls but not from the rooms we had which overlooked apartment blocks.W hen we got our rooms there were three faults which were all rectified quickly.The hotel catered for Western and Chinese customers but everyone seemed to happy.As mentioned in other reviews the beds were firm but as we were shattered from a days sightseeing abed of nails would have been comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinfarmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only had 1 night here on our Wendy Wu tour,The room was o.k the bed was Rock hard but after 3 nights in Beijing was used to the rock hard beds.One Massive tip for any loved up couples Do not try and Jump on the Bed from the Wardrobes as you will end up in Hospital and the Bed Will not give an inch ha ha.The Shower Wasn`t draining properly so overflowed and spilled onto the bathroom floor,So I lifted the shower drainage and it was o.k thenThe room was fine and a nice view could see the city wall tried to walk to it from outside the hotel but after waiting trying to cross at side of the roundabout,Valued our lifes so decided not to risc it.as to be seen to believed no one has the right of way in China including pedestrians.The Breakfast was o.k plenty of choice for us we didn`t go hungry.Can`t comment too much on the limited stay but was fine for a 1 nighter..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chrisfrumtarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a spacious room with a large bed. The mattress was hard but housekeeping provided a spare duvet to put on the mattress. The room was a little tired but clean. We had a corner room with good views through the picture windows. The lifts are a little slow, so allow plenty of time. Breakfast was adequate with some western style items. There is complimentary water in the room.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better, corner rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mama45s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location of this hotel is good as it is within the old City Walls but our room overlooked a roundabout which could only be described as mayhem on wheels. How on earth no-one got killed is beyond me as bicycles and scooters often took shortcuts going the wrong way round the fast paced roundabout. However the noise from the roundabout was quite considerable and the window seal was falling apart so did nothing to keep the noise out. The bed was rock hard so it was difficult to get a good night's sleep and the cleaning service was poor. On arrival the shampoo and shower gel bottles were half empty and rarely replaced during our stay. The bathroom itself did not appear to be cleaned properly with a dirty soapdish on arrival, with a soap still in the packet embedded into the existing soap. The lighting was poor and some of the bulbs did not work. I would not choose to stay here again. Breakfast was average - reasonable selection of food items but few available tables and no-one helping guests to find seats/tables.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were here as part of a Wendy Wu tour. We were given an up-grade which mean we had a large corner room. The room had a good view of the city walls. We needed to close the windows as the hotel was on a very busy roundabout. However watching the traffic on the roundabout was amusing.
The furniture in the room was a bit tired and the carpet was very worn. Strange control box near the bed controlled lights and TV. Unfortunately this did not work properly and the only way to turn the bedside light of was to unscrew the bulk.
Breakfast was OK with a reasonable variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,066 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,246 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,652 in Xi'an
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,652 in Xi'an
712 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#137 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing