We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
7 Sages International Youth Hostel
Ranked #5 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Ten Stars!!!!I have just stayed at this most hospitable hostel with my wife and family. The staff was so friendly to us and the boys loved playing ping pong. Get the family room if available. Two luxurious king beds in a two story room. We stayed for four nights and had a great time and made many friends. I need to learn Chinese so I can talk with more people there!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank DrockAlvarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hostel is located 10 mins walk away from the messy Xian Railway Station and 10 mins walk away from the old city wall. So nothing would be better in terms of location.
It has several courtyard and the first one at the entrance is an outdoor cafe, which sells beer, BBQ, and some food at a reasonable price. I was there during World Cup Season and everyone enjoyed the matches every night.
I was living in a 8-person dorm and the room is generally clean and the beddings are okay. Restroom and shower rooms are outside the room, and they are only so-so clean. As many other hostels in China, they don't provide toilet paper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugoishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As a YHA hostel, 7 Sages is well run, clean and very reasonably priced (RMB50/night in 6-bed dorm). Restaurant there was good. There is a nice courtyard to chill. Location isn't the most ideal consider it's not close to any attractions and is a 15-20min walk to closest subway station and a 10min walk to closest bus station. At night, it'd be inconvenient for a solo female traveller to walk in rather dim small streets, two of us girls decided to take one of the mini-taxi for RMB10 from Drum Tower instead. Service was just OK. This is the first hostel I find staffs having zero interests in your travel. They were reluctant to answer any travel related questions. A 22-year-old Chinese girl in my room lost her wallet and IDs and staffs didn't seem to offer much help or guidance. It is not a bad hostel, though a bit too big for me. Just do not expect a cozy or extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hostel is close to the North Train station but pretty far from attractions (a 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower, or a five minute public bus ride). That being said, if your trip involves getting out of Xian this is a great location to catch the tour and public buses to the TC warriors, Jingdi, etc. Rooms were fine. The bathrooms on the other hand...the squatting toilets smelled by mid-day and the shower room was very dark (not great for evening showers after a dusty, sweaty day of exploring). While the historical courtyard layout of the hostel was beautiful and different, I wondered what it would be like to stay here in the winter or rainy season and have to go from your room to the toilets or reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveliz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Ideally located if you come via train or want to visit the Terracotta Warriors as you are near the train and bus station.

The hostel, as many others have said, is set inside a traditional Chinese Courtyard. It is clean throughout with nicely appointed rooms. It has the best bed we have slept in our seven months of travelling, large and comfortable. The shower has hot water at all times. There is a shower curtain that you can pull across the glass wall. Another plus is the fact the shower is separate to the rest of the bathroom, a real plus.

The hostel has lots of tours but they seemed extremely expensive. The tour for the Terracotta Warriors was 350RMB, we paid 14RMB for the bus and 150RMB entrance fee. A significant saving! It is really easy to do it yourself, take bus 306 from the bus stand behind Dicos to the right of the train station. See the Wikitravel article on Xi'an for more information.

The staff at times seem to try to help you but generally prefer to help Chinese speaking people first. We came from a fantastic hostel in Chengdu with first class staff and felt this place was let down by the staff a little. There are so many of them and yet at times you are kept waiting. The staff seem to jump between customers on reception creating confusion at times. I felt the hostel was missing something but can't say what.

In summary, more expensive than norm at 200RMB for a double room. If you eat in the hostel the menu is extensive. Location is good if you want to go outside Xi'an but not so good for the sites of Xi'an. Not really close to the main restaurants. There are a few nearby but nothing spectacular. It's a fair walk to the Bell Tower and Drum Tower. We hired bikes to tour the city, priced at 30RMB that's reasonable. But the 100RMB deposit seemed a little steep for a bike that was clearly on its last legs. If you want breakfast then you are also limited as Xi'an does not have the same cafe or bakery culture as some other Chinese cities. Nonetheless, clean and you get to stay in an old Chinese Courtyard.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Soft beds are a rarity in China, so I would return here just for that. We booked a double room online for 200RMB, so it's not as cheap as some places but it more than makes up for it in setting.

Location:
Just inside the city wallls, NE corner, so you can pick up a map from a hawker at the train station and just walk it. From there you can walk back to the station to get the 6RMB bus to the Terracotta warriors. It's a 6 or 7 minute pedicab ride to the snack streets for dinner, but there's good places to eat within walking distance too. There's a LanZhou noodle place one junction east of it that does rather good Yang Rou Pao Mo, lamb and bread soup. One junction West of the hostel, you can catch a half hour bus South that takes you to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and it's lovely gardens, and all bits in between.

Setting:
10 courts of traditional Chinese housing stretch off into the distance. High brick walls shut out the outside. This is a big hostel with plenty of room to have a courtyard to yourself on occasion and play a game of Chinese chess on one of the engraved tables.

Facitilies:
Plentiful. Washing wasn't expensive, but the restaurant was a little. a nice pool table and the mandatory uncared for Spanish guitar sit next to a decent mix desk and keyboard stand that I'm assuming is for live music nights. The restaurant offers Chinese food but we didn't eat there. They also offer street style BBQ after about 8 o clock. Beers start at 20RMB for a small Qingdao but there's a corner shop outside where you can buy it for 4RMB and take it back to you room. Toilets were clean and both Western and Eastern style were available. Double rooms were en suite, separated by clear glass, so get comfy with your SO. The dorms used the communal bathrooms outside.

Staff:
Very friendly and polite. Whilst they didn't bend over backward to be helpful, or rush to a request, they provided useful information and went about their jobs with a smile. Very satisfactory. I lost my laptop in a cab just outside and one member of staff helped us with phoning the cab company.

Overall:
Pros - Good atmosphere, lovely location and setting, soft beds, good price.
Cons - Clear glass bathroom wall, no wifi in the rooms,only in the bar area.

I'm going back in Summer and won't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: The further East, the further from the bar you'll be. Noise wasn't an issue for us but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishRayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked this hostel the night before over the Internet and there was no issue. We walked into the hostel and thought the whole place was beautifully decorated and the location was very good too. Some of the staff were helpful and that is as far as the good comments go.

While we were there it seemed to most of the staff members that if we asked for anything it was hard work for them. There is a sign saying please do not get drinks yourself yet when you are sat at a table and ask for a drink, they roll their eyes.

The food was ok but, a bit overpriced to be honest and the drinks were expensive as well. One thing that has not been mentioned is that they stop serving food at 9:30pm and the bar closes at 11:00pm. There are no signs stating this so if you do plan to spend the day sightseeing and get back at 9:45pm do not expect to get food apart from expensive bar snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJWHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.4 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
1.6 mi away
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
#8 of 332 in Xi'an
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Sages International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Sages International Youth Hostel

Address: North Yard, No.2 Qixianzhuang, Beixin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range: £13 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 7 Sages International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your 7 Sages International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Sages International Youth Hotel Xi`An
7 Sages International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing