We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, High Quality, Busy, and Deluxe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #6 of 2,653 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is said to be the best in Xi'an. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff is friendly and wants to serve well. Bath amenities fine. Thai restaurant a welcome change from Chinese. Lobby bar area seems popular with a business crowd after work. A very satisfactory place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Took my 9 year old son on a long weekend trip to see the Terracotta army in October 2012. We stayed for two nights.

The staff absolutely bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasurable and as stress-free as possible. From knowing our names, to arranging taxis, to advising on restaurants, to giving my son extra fruit & sweets and to meeting his demanding requirements e.g. hot chocolate to be drunk with a chinese meal in the evening.

On our first evening, we struggled to find a taxi back from Xian to the hotel -- we waited 40 mins until my son negotiated (in his best english/mandarin) with a local tuk-tuk driver to take us the 25+ mins journey back. We remarked on this to the concierge on our return (he asked us how our evening went). Next morning, another member of staff apologised for the delay we have getting back (it was not the hotel's fault at all!) and said that our predicament had been discussed at the staff meeting that morning.

Upside: great hotel, awesome staff, good breakfast buffet, lamb BBQ + food generally; wonderful pool.

Downside: as others have mentioned, it's a bit removed from the main city (good and bad implications) - can be a pain to get back to the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel has everything you want for a comfortable stay. The rooms are fantastic - very quiet and comfortable. There is a good choice of places to eat and drink too. We particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant which I'm told is one of the best in China. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_W68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Best hotel in Xi'an? Huge swimming pool, excellent food, attentive staff, and the excursions/guides offered, while not cheap, were absolutely top-notch, really very high quality, and well worth paying the extra for.

While this is not a cheap hotel, I think some of the wine was overpriced, and would query the provenance of a Chilean white served in the bar. Try the Royalty Garden restaurant two minutes' walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiameseDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a beautiful hotel.We were shown direct to our room which was spacious with a bath and separate shower area. I only wish the outside of the windows were cleaned but I dare say they can't do that very often as it was the 8th floor.
I had a swim in the large pool which didn't feel like it was indoor because of the large windows. I was the only one there and, yes I had to wear a swimcap!
The hotel is a bit far from the centre but the taxis were inexpensive. We did walk to the small Goose Pagoda but it was a very long walk, about an hour but at least you can walk unlike Beijing.
The breakfast buffet was extensive. We took the tour to the Terracotta Army organised by the Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Penny speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Having return from a multi-city tour of China, I will say the the Shangri-La Hotel chain should be considered by travelers. The room/bathrooms are spacious, service is impeccable (though some staff are much less fluent in English that other hotels, but still they are very helpful). The Siam Gardern and Yi Cafe are excellent "in-house" restaurants (though skip their version of scrambled eggs). I really appreciated the aspect of free, unlimited Wi-Fi in the room, lobby, bar, anywhere. (Seems to be a staple of the Shangri-La chain....kudos...many chains do not understand little things like this make visitors return!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I can not fault this hotel in any way as through out our, disappointingly, brief two night stay the staff did their utmost to ensure that your every need was catered for. Breakfast was excellent, with all tastes catered for. The Tian Xiang Ge restaurant was both reasonable and flavoursome however I would suggest that you eat by 8pm at the latest as it becomes rather deserted after that time. We stayed in a Deluxe city room which was quite large and granted excellent views of the city. Whilst the hotel is quite removed from the centre of the city, having experienced both the noise and the traffic in the city centre I would strongly recommend staying here rather than a city centre hotel. Xian's traffic has to be experienced to be believed!!

Room Tip: Request a City view as opposed to a garden view and on as high a floor as possible. If eating in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.9 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,653 in Xi'an
721 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,653 in Xi'an
1,247 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,653 in Xi'an
736 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,653 in Xi'an
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#50 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#52 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £97 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing