We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Shangri-La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #4 of 2,581 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Manama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Typical Shangri-La”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was similar to others in the Shangri-La chain. The room was almost identical to the one I had in Guilin. The room wasn't so clean upon closer inspection, but I came to expect that in China. The hotel was within walking distance of two "malls." They were actually department stores selling overpriced local merchandise. The one major gripe I had here was housekeeping taking one of my room keys. I left one in the electricity slot when I left the room. When I came back, it was gone. I tried to charge my cell phone when I left the room again, but when I came back the phone was not charged because the electricity was not on. That really annoyed me because, had they not taken the key (without permission or even a note), I would have been able to charge my phone while I was out. Another comment I have, which is more of an observation than anything else, is that service was not consistent. For example, my parents were given a fruit basket in their room but I didn't get one. I got a small embroidered pouch filled with Shangri-la and L'Occitane brand toiletries, which they didn't get. I just thought it was odd, and completely inconsistent, to have these sort of deviations in service amongst rooms of the same category. Moving on, the Yi Cafe breakfast spread was ok. The dinner buffet was ma ma hoo hoo ("so so" in Chinese). But, this Shangri-La, in addition to having the usual Chinese restaurant, Shang Palace, also has a Thai restaurant. We didn't end up going though. There are other 5 star hotels in Xi'an; but, overall, I'm glad our tour company (Tauck) chose the Shangri-La for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziesPiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    501
    79
    10
    10
See reviews for
156
214
53
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

They have the dedicated Korean speaker in both sales and reception.
They will help Korean folks a lot.
They treak Korea specially from arrival to departure.
I really appreciate their service and recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Very large room and very clean. Also inside interior is like western style. So able to have the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sungchul_yoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel have good amenities, nice staff also great building decoration at main entrance. Also for the currency exchange have very good value at the receptions so make everything so convenience. Very recommended hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This might be the "Jewel in the Crown" of this chain.
The staff are the most courteous of any hotel I have stayed in and the range of food available at breakfast the most extensive.
I have never seen a bed wider than it is deep. I had no trouble sleeping .
I would return to this hotel any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Se Qld
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently spent several nights at the hotel to visit the terra cotta warriors, and found the luxury and comfort of the hotel, wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of busy streets.
The Horizon Club lounge was an enjoyable place for quiet meals and drinks at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at Horizon club level, convenient check in facilities and comfortable lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here in order to see the terra cotta warriors and the city of Xian. The hotel was the stock standard, typical Shangri-La. Car pick-up and drop off from the airport all went well. We organised a tour of the warriors through the tour desk and it all went smoothly with us being the only people on the tour that day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived late after a very long day. Beautiful room. Spacious bedroom and bathroom with a separate bath. Luxury. What a shame we had to leave early the next day for the terracotta warriors and other wonders.

A beautiful breakfast too. A real bonus. Maybe we can stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Enjoy the comfort in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,581 in Xi'an
588 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,581 in Xi'an
426 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,581 in Xi'an
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,581 in Xi'an
1,150 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing