We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but not Centre City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #7 of 2,692 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Brilliant value hotel - paid somthing like €140 per night for superbly appointed luxrious room, impeccable service and top rate breakfast - except for very moderate coffee which seems to be the norm in China. Internet is free in Busines Centre. Booked tours from ouside agency, about 30% cheaper than hotel. Still a local beer in Shangri La is about €4 compred to €8 in Westin in Shanghai. The hotel is quite farfrom the centre of Xi'an and taking the bus from te airport is not a good idea. Three restaurants in the hotel of which I tried one - Siam Thai - and it was so good I went back the second night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTZinzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2009

Date of Stay: February 22-24,2009

Room Type: Horizon Club Room
Upgrade:
Amount Paid Per Night: RMB1790 (Xian Indulgence Package) which includes:
Round trip airport transfer
Daily buffet breakfast for two persons
Half-day guided tour for two persons to the Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum including transportation and admission fees and packed lunch box
One hour SPA treatment at our Shangri-La SPA for two persons
Free broadband internet access
Reservation Method: Shangri-la Website
Loyalty Card:

Airport/Hotel Transfer: Was surprised that they have sent a car to pick us up from the airport. Normally I would have expected a coaster or van for the complementary airport transfer but instead they sent an Audi A6L for the 45 minute drive to the city. When we got to the car, the driver provided us with hot towels and warm water for the trip. But what was more impressive was introductory tour by the driver. In all my trips to China, most hotel drivers in China couldn’t speak English well so we were pleasantly surprised to have a driver with a good command of the language and who even gave an introductory tour of the city and it’s rich history.

Location: Is on the hi-tech industrial zone, unlike most hotels which are within the old Ming City walls of Xi’an, the Shangri-la Hotel is located outside, which also makes it a bit inaccessible. 



Check-in: We were greeted at the hotel entrance by the staff who escorted us immediately to our room on the 18th floor. When we got there they had me sign the registration form and borrowed my passport then left the room. After 5 minutes they came back to return the passport and confirm our spa treatment later that evening

Room: I have to say the room is pretty standard. I was thankful the placed me on a corner room although I doubt it provided more space.

Bathroom: The bathroom was very spacious with a big shower stall and a standard bathtub. The toiletries of course were L’occitane which means I don’t have to take out mine from my bag.

Bed: Bed was comfortable...pretty standard.

Breakfast: Breakfast at the Horizon lounge was very limited (as was the evening cocktails.). But the attentive staff makes up for it.

Check-out: Check out was fast and without a hitch. 



Other Stuff: Tour was great, I had the hotel change mine to a private tour of the Terracotta warrior museum and the city. Our guide was very good, but fails in comparison with our very young and energetic guide in Beijing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I've been to plenty of hotels in Asia, from five star all the way down to some hostels. The Shangrila had a good name in Xi'an, so I decided I would stay there (for two nights). Xi'an was a greatly interesting city and we enjoyed some of the sights thoroughly.

My wife and I were satisfied with the Shangrila at the beginning but as time wore on, a series of less than polite interactions with hotel staff created frustration. We both independently got the sense that some of the staff looked down on foreigners and was not interested in our stay (or our money). We have not had this problem before in China and hopefully never will again. Anyway it was only some of the staff, several other members of the staff were friendly, however management should see to it that every member of their staff staff respects foreigners, and all guests for that matter. Didn't stay at another hotel, so I'm not sure about other recommendations.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank oz_travel_2009_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Check in went smoothly, and we were upgraded to a room on the "Horizon Club" floor(s): includes breakfast daily, happy hour and free use of the computers on the Horizon Club floor. Nicely appointed rooms (very new) which included fridge, kettle complimentary water daily (unlimited), and a large bathroom which included separate bathtub and glass shower stall with "rain" shower head and hand held. Bathroom included all amenities including: razors, sewing kit, emery boards, cotton pads, nail clipper, l'occitane bath products, toothpaste, etc... Complimentary breakfast could be eaten on the Horizons Club floor (19) which was nice & quiet although limited breakfast selection(cereal, choice of eggs, dimsum, congee, fruit etc) or in the Y Cafe on the main floor which had a huge choice (freshly squeezed veg juices), your choice of freshly cooked soup noodles with self chosen toppings and standard Western fair. Happy hour began at 5pm and included complimentary foods(hot and cold) & liquor (beers, wine, spirits) and non-alcoholic drinks. English spoken in this hotel was good to very good and the staff were excellent, especially Sean at the front desk, and one of the woman in the Horizons Club. Although China as a whole is definitely a "smoking" country, the non-smoking floor was equipped with an air filter and I never smelled any smoke. TV had many channels, and we arranged a private car to take us to the Terracotta soldiers, and the sites we wanted to see. Although the locals consider this a very expensive hotel... it was well worth the price (especially for our 3 night stay). Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. 2 shopping malls close by, but prices (for North Americans) were very pricey. Concierge was quite helpful in suggesting restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Excellent hotel. We stayed in this hotel as part of a two week trip to China and this hotel was by far the best hotel of our trip in my opinion. Large comfortable rooms with a comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The food in the hotel cafe was also excellent (breakfast each morning was excellent). The hotel also have a lovely pool (however, this could have done with being a degree or two warmer) and good changing facilities with cap, flip-flops etc provided. This hotel was more expensive than other hotels in Xian but was well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hol2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Slightly disappointed at check-in as there were no king-size non-smoking rooms available but the twin rooms have two queen size beds so not such a big deal! Service in the restaurants and lobby areas was excellent. The food was good. We booked a car and driver through the hotel for a visit to the terracotta warriors which although expensive was worth it. Both were polite and didn’t rush us at any time during the trip. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hong Kong Rats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

very busy when we checked in& they could not locate our resvn(3 rms) they noted we had a voucher & quickly began looking into the matter whilst apologising for inconvenience. Suggested we have lunch during this time. Gave us the rms which were VERY comfortable, spotless clean, great bathrm-nothing fancy but just exactly what U need from a good room. Good lighting, easy to find everything . Sensible, GOOD gym and indoor pool. Good breakfast, restaurant food. NEGATIVE point is that so many people are smoking - but this is a country that promotes smoking - so most htls are like . So ask for NO smking floor when U book. Hat off to the VERY professional Japanese Guest Relations Manager.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,692 in Xi'an
767 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,692 in Xi'an
793 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,692 in Xi'an
532 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#47 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £97 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing