We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
1,077
527
90
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
527
90
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantyi cafehorizon clubsiam gardentour managertea ceremonyart museumguest relationslobby loungethe terra cotta warriorsbusiness tripthe general managerbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetwonderful stayterracotta armyfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Stayed here on a two night stay to see the Terrcotta Warrior sites. The hotel is to a good standard for Chinese hotels, but you are a bit isolated with its location. The Buffett restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and evening meals.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Global123Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLXN-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Global123Travel,

Greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Xi'an! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read our buffet restaurant having impressed you for both breakfast and evening meals.
And the hotel is located in high tech zone area, and it is nearby the subway station which is very convenient when you go outside.

My team and I are here looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Markus Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed two nights in the 15th floor. Throughout the short stay, the staff impressed me with not only with seamlessly friendly service, but also with a sincere interest to make our stay great. When my girlfriend forgot her wallet in the restaurant after dinner, the staff remembered our room number and when we came back to the room, the phone was already ringing to notify us.
The room was in great condition with a beautiful view over Xi'Ans Skyline. Cleanliness was spot on and didn't leave any questions open.
Devin from the Concierge department not only consulted us on how to get the best out of the mandatory Terracotta warrior visit, he also helped to arrange transportation and negotiated with the driver to ensure a fair price.
The lobby lounge made us relax in its cozy atmosphere and listen to a live performance of a pianist.

Lastly it's worth mentioning that all of the staff we talked to had a great command of English, which is definitely a helpful asset considering experiences of other hotels we've been with.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 14 are close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZFlorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLXN-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear ZFlorian,

Thank you for choosing the Shangri-La Hotel,Xi'an for your recent weekend trip to Xi'an city. Your generous compliments to our restaurants, staffs and rooms are highly appreciated and all these will motivate us to continuously give our best to our customers. We're sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Markus Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This hotel was luxurious, wonderful location and very comfortable. What we will remember most however is the breakfast buffet, which was the best we had in China. It had a wide variety of delicious foods and I miss it now that we're home!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLXN-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Xi'an. I am delighted to learn that you had an excellent dining experience at Cafe for breakfast buffet and that you had also enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Markus Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Stayed 4 nights mainly to visit the terra-cotta warriors museum and the old city.
The 3 tours were organised by the hotel's own tour organization and they were the best of our 5 week journey in China.
Our guide, Penny, spoke perfect English and assisted us during the 3 days. I found out that she is also the tour's manager of the hotel. She not only made the tours very interesting and enjoyable, she also took us to typical chinese lunch places where foreigners don't come, found new glasses for my wife after her's were lost at the terra-cotta museum and much more.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our suite was very comfortable although some of the furniture looks somewhat oldfashioned and could we replaced.
Very spacious lobby serves fine drinks and finger food. The Thai restaurant is certainly worth a vusit, we dined there twice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLXN-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Karel V,

Greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Xi’an! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor community.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with the excellent service from Penny.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Have a pleasant day.

Yours sincerely,
Markus Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We spent a couple of nights here while sight-seeing in the area. The hotel is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year and one of the first things you see upon entering is a miniature display of the terra cotta warriors. It's quite eye-catching and a nice touch. The lobby itself - and all the common areas - were just lovely. High ceilings, lots of space, very well appointed. The front desk is located to the right when entering the hotel. To the left is the restaurant which features an excellent breakfast buffet and straight ahead are several different areas for relaxing as well as the bar.

On the main floor near the elevators are several shops and further back are a couple more restaurants.

Upon exiting the elevator lobby, our twin room was about halfway down the right side of the hallway. It was reasonably large and had a couple of easy chairs waiting for us. The large window gave a city view. Each night stand had a single outlet. The next time the room is refreshed I hope that could be expanded to at least two outlets.

Across from the beds were the desk and TV stand. Beside that was a multi-purpose cushioned area that could be used as a seat or as a luggage stand. A cabinet with complimentary bottled water was beside that and it held the mini-bar.

Just inside the door on the right was the wardrobe which had one section devoted to shelves, drawers and the safe while the other section was for hanging items and shoes. We were glad we didn't need to use the provided umbrella. Bathrobes, an iron and board were also included.

The bathroom had just one sink but ample counter space on each side. Each side also had its own drawer, though the hair dryer was built into the drawer, so that took up some space for that person's items. There was also a glass shelf over the sink which was convenient.

On the left side of the bathroom was a soaking tub, complete with its own small TV set and remote.

The toilet and shower were on the right. The shower stall had both a hand-held unit whose height could be adjusted and a rainfall showerhead. There were also two shelves that were plenty big for all the L'Occitane toiletries as well as those we'd brought with us.

My biggest complaint about the room was we couldn't get it cool, even when adjusting the thermostat to its lowest level. (To be fair, this was a problem we encountered at several different hotels throughout the country.) Several others traveling with us had the same issue. We had an issue with our safe (the battery needed to be replaced) and while the crew was working on that, I mentioned the temperature in the room was quite warm. The hotel rep said he'd check on the a/c and it did seem cooler that night. We had left the a/c running while we were out during the day but when the housekeeping team cleaned the room, they left the curtains wide open. Since we faced west that kept the room far warmer than we'd have liked. I'd suggest keeping the curtains closed for west-facing rooms.

All the staff members we encountered were terrific, both at the desk, servicing our safe or in the restaurant.

I did wander around the meeting areas a bit and enjoyed seeing the life-sized terra cotta warrior statue replicas near the meeting rooms.

The hotel does have a rather large gym, a spa and a pool though I didn't get to use any of these during our short stay. I found the business center a little perplexing as I expected to see work cubicles but instead found a main room with just a large table, almost like a dining table. Off to the side were two smaller rooms. The larger of the two had a number of easy chairs covered in lace doilies while the smaller room had three easy chairs draped in black cloth.

Our stay in Xi'an was short but the Shangri-La was a terrific place to spend time in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLXN-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Cards-Preds-Fan,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and we are glad to learn that you had the most enjoyable stay experience on your recent trip to Xi'an. I am delighted to be able to share your compliments and valued comments with the team and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Markus Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews