We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night back in mid July 2013 in the mixed dorm. The rooms and beds were very clean, good sized lockers and the bathrooms were in pretty good condition. The atmosphere in the bar area can be really good when there is a decent bunch of people in there, you almost feel like you're not in China?!

The ladies that run the admin downstairs speak pretty good English, some better than others, and can help organise bus tickets etc. for a commission. But you're probably better off just going to the bus station on the day, unless it is a popular route.

Paid 45 Yuan a night for the dorm

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleycrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I did not like it! The staff seems to be doing a great favor to you every time you request something. It is too big and impersonal. There are many rooms around a courtyard with a fence where people hang their laundry. It gives a bad impression. The toilet was not so clean as people say in the other reviews.The bar looks nice and the tuna sandwich with chips is delicious . But people can smoke inside and it is very annoying. Unless you are totally backpacker and don’t mind any of this, you will be ok there.

Room Tip: The female dorm was very good. It is large and beds are comfortable, for my great surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigipaulino_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in Kunming twice- the first time at the Hump YHA and the second time at the Cloudland YHA.

Both are close to bus stations but the Hump is in a much nicer area for walking and sightseeing.

Both have poor and unreliable Internet. The cost of the rooms is comparable.

Why I recommend the Hump is because their food and beer prices are much better- also the Hump has great seating areas- including a rooftop terrace.

If your looking for a hostel or YHA- you'll be much happier with the service, food, location, rooftop views and the bar at the Hump.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good sized rooms for the money. There are rooms with en suite bathroom/toilet available as well. Bathroom could've been cleaner -- but I suppose good for hostel-level quality. The cafe/bar and patio were really the best part of my stay. I met some cool people by the pool table. The bar also has reasonably priced drinks and snacks -- good beer selection.

The hostel was very busy when I was there, so it's got a good vibe. Staff was friendly for the few days I was there -- definitely on-par if not better service and attitude than the "5-star" Green Lake Hotel right down the street. It's in a great location -- right down the street from this awesome lake and in a bustling area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Before booking, I read reviews saying that the hostel is understaffed, but never realized it would be that bad. the staff just can't keep up with guests requests and needs. We waited about 30 minutes for check-in, if not more. When we wanted to book flight tickets I had to nag the staff maybe 4-5 times until finally someone helped us. Due to this delay we didn't get the flight we opted for. It should be noted that the service itself was good, staff is nice, the problem is in its availability. Restaurant's designs nice and cozy but most of the food is bad. Visited a friend in the Hump, seems nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I found bathrooms very clean and stayed here about 10 days in total. The architecture is very nice with a roof deck perfect for reading in the Kunming sun, lots of sofas along the balconies and a pool table in the open courtyard. Easy to make friends with this set up but at midnight they close all the areas so it's not a late night party place (go to the hump for that :). Very close to the kundu nightmarket and expat bars though if you do want to head out (10mins).

Made a lot of friends here! Lots of longterm residents and locals/ex-longterm residents who just come to hang out and obviously know all the best spots.

Dorms are spacious with good sized lockers. Comfy, clean sturdy beds. Curtains would be a good touch though. Lots of natural light.

Better food in lots of local neighbourhood places than the hostel. Its in a nice calm neighbourhood so there are no touts but transport links are good with advice from the hostel. Hostel provides good maps!

The staff try very hard, but the place is so busy and they have a lot to do. I always saw them working and dealing with people. Not excessively friendly, but they were courteous and helpful whenever asked. Charged me twice, but once i found my old receipt it was refunded straight away. Doormen were nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent 4 nights in this Youth Hostel and can definitely say it is not a top choice as mentioned in the Lonely Planet.

The staff is OK but not as friendly as we read in our guide book, maybe because it is all the time very busy and obviously under pressure. The room was clean and big but not very well maintained, as well as the whole building which is getting old and would need some renovation, however the bathroom was great.

Because of the central courtyard and the "rooftop" located not on the roof but somehow on the 3rd floor, means surrounded by the rooms, the place is extremely noisy at night, at least until 1 AM. It is a shame because the area is pretty quiet.

Therefore we would recommend this hostel to people who like "soft" parties and do not want to sleep before midnight without strong earplugs!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio-Nath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,241 in Kunming
588 reviews
1 mi away
Upland International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lost Garden Guesthouse
Lost Garden Guesthouse
#1 of 109 in Kunming
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hump Hostel
The Hump Hostel
#4 of 109 in Kunming
284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bestay Express Hotel Kunming International Convention and Exhibition Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel

Address: No.23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming 650032, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range: £7 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top choice in Kunming! Free WIFI and VPN for FACEBOOK/TWITTER/GMAIL/GOOGLE.A 5-minute walk from the bar street and shopping centre in downtown Kunming.Cloudland International Youth Hostel offers simple yet comfortable accommodation.Guests can use the internet at the lobby for free, spend some quiet reading time in the library, or rent a bicycle to explore the lively city. Cloudland Youth Hostel is a 20-minute walk from Daguan Park and a 15-minute drive from Cuihu Park. The famous Dianchi Lake and Yunnan Nationalities Museum are a 20-minute drive away. Kunming Changshui Airport is 25 km away. The charming hostel offers billiards and table tennis facilities, as well as a tour desk which can help guests organise sightseeing trips. It also has a sun terrace and a 24-hour front desk offering luggage storage for guests' convenience. All clean and cosy rooms are fitted with wooden flooring and a writing desk. Guests get to choose between staying in lively shared rooms, or in a quite private room. Shower facilities are included in the shared bathrooms, or in the private bathrooms. Kunming Cloudland Bar serves delicious Chinese and Western dishes. Meals can also be served in the comfort of guests' rooms. Wuhua is a great choice for travellers interested in parks, lakes and scenery. We speak your language!Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hotel Kunming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing