We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of The Hump Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hump Hostel
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed one night in a triple room. The room was clean and quiet. The rooftop bar is great with good food and drink choices. The free beer and coffee vouchers upon arrival were also very welcome. Be warned that the bathroom did not have a door, just curtains. It was spacious and nicely decorated. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Rooftop area has a great view and a great place to chill for a few hours, but the rooms werent great. we booked a twin share with a private bathroom and our room was mouldy in the corner... not ideal...

The room itself was clean, as were the sheets and there were basic bathroom products in the bathroom, but next time, I would rather book the twin share rooms without the private bathroom, as they appeared to be mould free. plus they seemed closer to reception, and therefore would have WIFI.

We arrived at 6am on the overnight train, so when we arrived their doors were padlocked, luckily a cleaner happened to come around at 7am and let us in (even though reception wasnt open) but it meant that we could snooze and rest indoors on chairs for a while, until reception opened at 8am.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hostel is central but a little difficult to find as it;s inside a walking area.The rooftop restaurant is vey nice as many have found,the room,single was ok but nothing special.As I had an early start wennt to sleep early but was woken at 11 by load music from across the sqare in front of the hotel,after an hour got the helpful staff to change the room trouble was four security guards were having a party outside the room at 1pm I asked them to keep it down a bit so they then made twice as much noise plus clapping abd laughing.If you get nicely tight in the restaurant then fall into a deep sleep this hostel may be ok but the music is all night .you only hear the bass.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hostel is in a fantastic location and has a really great roof top bar/common area. It is clean and there are plenty of places to sit. We had a private room however and for the 165RMB we paid, we could have got a lot better in a hotel for about the same, if not less.

We also stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the total of 110RMB for two people was also pricey. The e suite light didn't work rendering it useless at night and the thin foam mattresses were so worn we were sleeping on the wood of the bad.

The food was good and reasonably priced and the freebies on arrival were a nice touch. Not a bad place but not great value for money.

Room Tip: Fine for solo travellers. Couples and groups will do better in hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hump Hostel. I heard great things but thought I'd check it out for myself. The rooftop bar, pool table, tv & general lounging area is superb. As anywhere else I've been in China, the cigarette smoke was a little much but at least there are plenty of places to go to escape it. Very friendly staff, super helpful and would recommend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Try to pick a dorm room closer to reception so that you can get wifi reception. The further you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights, firstly in the dorms then we moved to a private room. The rooms were very clean and we had nothing to complain about. Showers were always hot and the toilets are kept very clean, there is free hot water and drinking water.
The dorms are the best value and would recommend them over the privates for value for money. If we were to rate on the rooms the hostel would get at least a four and a half star rating.

What brings the hostel down in our opinion is the lack of customer service, I know across china and Asia as a whole customer service is practically non existent but when you're paying for a service you expect to be treated a little nicer.

Although the staff are friendly , a few of them lacked basic common sense, when dealing with a customer put down the mobile phone and talk to the person face to face...not point to a poster on a wall and say the info on how to get to the airport is written up there read it.....we also appreciate that they may be asked this question at least 10times a day but in fairness it is to be expected. ( by the way the info on the wall was wrong and we just made the bus, it said get off after five stops but on this occasion the bus skipped a stop and we ended up having to dash back down the road to catch the bus...you're best to get the staff to write down the name of the stop in Chinese to give to the driver....if they can spare valuable mobile phone time that is.)

The food especially the tea is over priced, but that said it was always very tasty and presented very well.

The hump has the monopoly on the western tourists and for the backpacker it is a little expensive if you were to eat and drink there. They ask you not to bring in your own food but at the prices in the restaurant it's hard not to.

It's not a bad hostel and we would stay there again, as we said the only complaints we had were the lack of interaction with some of the staff

Room Tip: The dorms are the best value and if you have a international hostel card you get discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonaKonaTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location and cool rooftop bar/restaurant . Those staffs at the bar/restaurant are friendly and helpful. Even give tips about our traveling plan as well as place to eat . The rooftop bar is a great place to hangout .meet other travelers and meet new friends. I stayed in the not so noisy rooms so I can say I had a good sleep. Down stair there is a club/disco so I believe they might be some noise for those staying near it. I would say I would come back and stay if if I ever come back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wojia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,241 in Kunming
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kunming Hotel
Kunming Hotel
#407 of 1,241 in Kunming
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,241 in Kunming
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Upland International Youth Hostel
1 mi away
Lost Garden Guesthouse
Lost Garden Guesthouse
#1 of 109 in Kunming
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hump Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hump Hostel

Address: 3F Qiaoxiang Garden, Jinbi Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650000, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range: £10 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hump Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, The Hump is the most popular destination for backpackers in Kunming. A traditional Bird & Flower market, banks, shopping malls, super markets and pubs are all within walking distance. A convenient city bus system supports your sightseeing in this beautiful city. Start your day in our spacious common room. In this common room, we have a bar, restaurant, satellite TV and a DVD player, so you can order drinks and food, or just enjoy music or a movie while taking a break. We also have the coolest roof garden in Kunming for travelers, including a pool table, table tennis, table soccer, a reading area with bean bags, and plenty of room to just chill out and soak up the sun. In the weekend, often wild parties drive people crazy and some travelers will share their musical talent with others. Once you step into The Hump, hustle and bustle is left behind because of the open, casual, and rich cultural atmosphere. Overlooking from The Hump's roof garden, you will see ancient twin towers and gates around Jinmabiji Square. The area is very busy. In the morning, local residents practice Tai Chi; in the afternoon, you can join in a music show and win a prize. If you stay longer, you can look around the weekend outdoor market and have some fun! Kunming International Airport is about 25km from The Hump, and the train station is about 3km. There are many buses going these terminals regularly. Ticket reservation and information about travelling in Yunnan province is available at our reception. Our friendly staff is eager to help you whenever you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hump Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing