We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good service, really decent hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hump Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Hump Hostel
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, really decent hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I can't fault this place! It's the cheapest i've found in china and provides excellent value for money. The staff are wonderful, rose and lu in particular really looked after me. The food is great, nice armosphere and importantly it's clean. Plus you get a free beer and coffee voucher on arrival! It's reputedly the best place to stay in kunming and i wouldn't stay anywhere else - hostels in china could learn a lot from this place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    121
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
14
50
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Puchong
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hostel is situated near the pedestrian shopping walk. Booked a single room with shared toilet. Room is clean. Has internet wifi free for guest use. Has a roof top café. Has many cheap eateries around the hostel like the rice noodle and road side stalls. Convenient for taking the public buses as most pass this hostel. Have to walk 3 stories up and no lifts. Overall this is a good place to stay for its location and its rom rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The bunk beds were unique in this hostel because to reach the top bunk they had stairs in place instead of having to climb up a steel ladder like all of the other hostels i had been to. This hostel is located in a business plaza so getting out and finding places to eat was really easy. There is an international crowd here. It seems that most of the people i ran into stayed here and then planned their visit to vietnam. If there was a downside to this place they didn't want me drinking my store bought chinese beer in the communal area, I later found out that a lot of locals came here to drink at the bar as a status symbol and they didn't want me with my cheap local beer in the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed one night in a triple room. The room was clean and quiet. The rooftop bar is great with good food and drink choices. The free beer and coffee vouchers upon arrival were also very welcome. Be warned that the bathroom did not have a door, just curtains. It was spacious and nicely decorated. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Rooftop area has a great view and a great place to chill for a few hours, but the rooms werent great. we booked a twin share with a private bathroom and our room was mouldy in the corner... not ideal...

The room itself was clean, as were the sheets and there were basic bathroom products in the bathroom, but next time, I would rather book the twin share rooms without the private bathroom, as they appeared to be mould free. plus they seemed closer to reception, and therefore would have WIFI.

We arrived at 6am on the overnight train, so when we arrived their doors were padlocked, luckily a cleaner happened to come around at 7am and let us in (even though reception wasnt open) but it meant that we could snooze and rest indoors on chairs for a while, until reception opened at 8am.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hostel is central but a little difficult to find as it;s inside a walking area.The rooftop restaurant is vey nice as many have found,the room,single was ok but nothing special.As I had an early start wennt to sleep early but was woken at 11 by load music from across the sqare in front of the hotel,after an hour got the helpful staff to change the room trouble was four security guards were having a party outside the room at 1pm I asked them to keep it down a bit so they then made twice as much noise plus clapping abd laughing.If you get nicely tight in the restaurant then fall into a deep sleep this hostel may be ok but the music is all night .you only hear the bass.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hostel is in a fantastic location and has a really great roof top bar/common area. It is clean and there are plenty of places to sit. We had a private room however and for the 165RMB we paid, we could have got a lot better in a hotel for about the same, if not less.

We also stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the total of 110RMB for two people was also pricey. The e suite light didn't work rendering it useless at night and the thin foam mattresses were so worn we were sleeping on the wood of the bad.

The food was good and reasonably priced and the freebies on arrival were a nice touch. Not a bad place but not great value for money.

Room Tip: Fine for solo travellers. Couples and groups will do better in hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#7 of 1,159 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,159 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,159 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.4 mi away
New Era Hotel Kunming
New Era Hotel Kunming
#9 of 1,159 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hump Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hump Hostel

Property: The Hump Hostel
Address: 3F Qiaoxiang Garden, Jinbi Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hump Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, The Hump is the most popular destination for backpackers in Kunming. A traditional Bird & Flower market, banks, shopping malls, super markets and pubs are all within walking distance. A convenient city bus system supports your sightseeing in this beautiful city. Start your day in our spacious common room. In this common room, we have a bar, restaurant, satellite TV and a DVD player, so you can order drinks and food, or just enjoy music or a movie while taking a break. We also have the coolest roof garden in Kunming for travelers, including a pool table, table tennis, table soccer, a reading area with bean bags, and plenty of room to just chill out and soak up the sun. In the weekend, often wild parties drive people crazy and some travelers will share their musical talent with others. Once you step into The Hump, hustle and bustle is left behind because of the open, casual, and rich cultural atmosphere. Overlooking from The Hump's roof garden, you will see ancient twin towers and gates around Jinmabiji Square. The area is very busy. In the morning, local residents practice Tai Chi; in the afternoon, you can join in a music show and win a prize. If you stay longer, you can look around the weekend outdoor market and have some fun! Kunming International Airport is about 25km from The Hump, and the train station is about 3km. There are many buses going these terminals regularly. Ticket reservation and information about travelling in Yunnan province is available at our reception. Our friendly staff is eager to help you whenever you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Hump Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing