We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget choice”

Mingtong Yingxiang Youth Hotel (Kunming Beijing Road)
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingtong Yingxiang Youth Hotel (Kunming Beijing Road)
Ranked #20 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom (98 yuan) and it was great - the room was big, clean and airy and nicely decorated and there was a kettle and mugs in the room, as well as drinks and snacks which you can buy. The girl on reception was very helpful and it was cheap to do our laundry (10 yuan to do a whole load) - there were a few problems with the machine but it all worked out ok ! The hostel is in a good location, walking distance to sights and plenty of bus stops nearby.

Only negatives were that the wifi only worked in reception, the shared shower was a little erratic temperature wise and the light in the bedroom was quite dim - they could do with some more lighting (though it was very bright during the day due to the huge windows). Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrswonderstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed Jan 2013. The room was large and clean with nice large bed. Although, it was a little cold at night, there is no heaters. The room stays nice and dark if you want to sleep late. i had few long nights out in Kunming, so that a plus. The hostel is in a great location to walk downtown or catch bus, or a taxi on of the main streets. Although Kunming taxis are strange they do not always take every fare, the drivers will see where you are headed first beforehand. I live in Sichuan and never have i ran into Taxi Drivers who refused fares so often. FYI to and from the airport taxis expect you to pay ¥10 toll. The neighborhood is nice and there a western cafe and grill near the Thai consulate. WIFi in lobby, but none in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooney637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A cheap hotel in Kunming. Not near the center but you have a bus stop at 10 minutes. This hotel has a charm and is really quiet. A good stop if you want to good in 1 day in stone forest in Shilin. We don't spend enough time to know if it's really a good hotel but the reception keep our bag for free during 1 day ... that's nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuukkiii1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for six days. I want to like this place, but it's a mixed bag.

The location is good - down a small street with plenty of character and local colour and Chinese restaurants. They have made an effort on the decor. The bathroom is clean and everything works how it should. The location is reasonably quiet.

There is no laundry service and the washing machine is incomprehensible so we ended up washing our clothes by hand. Hanging the clothes on some string on the roof sort of worked but there were no pegs so things got blown onto the ground where they got dirty.

We don't mind hard beds, but these beds were hard and lumpy, which is a bad combination. Eventually we got tired of bad sleeps and went somewhere else that costs the same for the remainder of our time in Kunming.

The staff were as helpful as they could be, although only one of them spoke a couple of words of English so communication was difficult. We used Google Translate a bit and they often called an interpreter and we spoke through him over the phone. Despite these difficulties there were two instances where they went a bit beyond the call of duty to help us organise non-hotel-related things, which we really appreciated.

There is still no wifi (another review from 2009 said the same thing), although on the last day of my stay I discovered a network cable in my room, which if I had a laptop instead of a tablet and smartphone would have been good. The single computer in the lobby is unbearably slow, although on the last day of my stay someone had installed Firefox which was much better. We really need internet access to organise tickets and access travel information (the hotel doesn't provide any in English) so we ended up making daily pilgrimages across town to get wifi, which was a tiny bit tedious after a while.

When we tried to check out on the last day they stuffed around so much that we ended up leaving without getting our 100 yuan key deposit back. While we waited two other people arrived and got their deposits back, which was pretty poor form. Oh, and every two days or so the electronic key would stop working and we would need to go to the lobby and get them to reset it.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Rimua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights. Had a big, clean room with 3 beds and nice furniture. Rooms without bathroom come for a good price. Toilets are nice and clean, the only drawback is that there is only one shower but we never had to queue. City centre with all the shopping centres are only a 5 minute walk away. There is no WiFi and the one free internet computer was most of the time busy with people, especially in the evenings. The staff didn't speak much english but tried to be as helpful as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 28 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,237 in Kunming
587 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,237 in Kunming
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#10 of 1,237 in Kunming
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
6.0 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,237 in Kunming
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtong Yingxiang Youth Hotel (Kunming Beijing Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtong Yingxiang Youth Hotel (Kunming Beijing Road)

Address: No.94 Mingtong Lane, Beijing Road, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing