We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Era Hotel Kunming
Ranked #11 of 1,204 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 13 July 2012

It is located in the downtown area. We were coming to rest for 6 hours during a break in our trip. However, the old airport had closed down and the new airport is far away from this place (we didnot know this when we booked our trip 10 months ago). The traffic was horrendous and it took 1.5 hours to get to the hotel. The room was pretty small. However, the Chinese restaurant upstairs was excellent and we really enjoyed our dinner while watching the city down below. The staff did not speak too much English but were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for New Era Hotel Kunming
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

In terms of location, it is very central, and would enable you to visit everything by foot in Kunming. Not much to detail about the room itself, very standard Chinese 4 stars, with a somewhat awkward minibar offering though...

One area for improvement: door men and taxi. If you are unfortunate to look for a cab at the time of drivers' shift, it can take the door men more than 20 minutes to find you a car... A bit stressful when you have to catch a plane in the early morning!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A short ¥20 cab ride from the airport, it's in an area where you'll have no trouble with shopping, entertainment or food. Other than a multitude of local food offering, you can also get Starbucks, MacDonalds, Kentucky Fried Chicken & even Breadtalk from Singapore. Brands like Zara & Uniqlo are also just a couple of minutes' walk away. Bird & Flower Market is a few streets away. Hotel has wifi in lobby and room (have to switch on router). There is a free copy of local map in Chinese in-room but you will have to pay ¥10 for an English version at the Business Centre. Staff at reception was friendly, helpful and spoke enough English to check me in. I took a non-smoking room on the 'green' floor but enforcement appeared weak. For those who, like me, are especially concerned about cleanliness in the bathroom, it's not great but ok; could do with a new shower curtain. Water pressure was good but watch out for sudden change in water temperature. Bonus at New Era? Health centre which offered massage service stayed open till 3am. Cost a little more (abt ¥120 for a 60-min foot/shoulder massage) than the shops outside the hotel but was a lot more convenient. You can charge it to the room if they've taken a big enough deposit off your credit card when you check in. so yes, I managed to squeeze a massage in despite my short stay. All in, it worked well for me.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is a relatively short taxi ride from the airport and has a modest reception area. We booked a suite, which was reasonably spacious and quite comfortable. The decor was quite classic, but I liked it. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. What sets this hotel apart from the competition at this star rating is the breakfast. Wow, fantastic selection of different noodles, herbs/spices and sauces to mix and match, producing delicious results. Big selection of fruit, dim-sum and other cooked food, all of a very good standard. The service was great, which is saying something in this part of the World. The hotel has a good downtown location and is therefore very convenient for shopping and sightseeing. I would visit here again and recommend it for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Washand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Was supposed to stay in another hotel but changed to New Era Hotel, just before the trip.

It took about 15 - 20 mins by taxi from airport to the hotel on a smooth traffic day. Check in was swift and I was given room 1823. As the air conditioning was not working properly, I managed to change to another room -1806. The room was pleasantly cosy. Air conditioning was working fine. The housekeeping would come in the evening to put packet of milk, newpapers, some candy into the room and even change any used towels. The room comes with free wired Internet but we managed to get the hotel to activate wifi in the room for us (wifi is only at lobby and restaurant). The room package came with breakfast and for the 3 nights stay, I was looking forward to it. The spread was fantastic! It's like having a buffet lunch! So much to eat! Do not miss it!

The location of the hotel is great! Right in the centre of town! Many departmental stores around the hotel. Restaurants are easily available. There's even 24hour KFC and MacDonalds just around the corner. Great place for dining and shopping! One thing to note - many eateries do not have air conditioning.

The facade of the hotel looks ordinary, but the room was comfortable and location is great! My next trip to Kunming, I would stay there again!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank sawbear1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We chose this Hotel because of its excellent location. It is located in the heart of downtown Kunming surrounded by several major department stores, close proximity to busy shopping pedestrian streets with restaurants and shops and a short walk to “Jinma Bigi” historic site.

Another big plus was that the Hotel provided complimentary airport pick up and drop off with a comfortable 7-seater van. A staff member and a driver were there to escort us to the hotel. Kunming’s traffic was terrible and it took 40 minutes to get to the hotel on the 9 km drive in the early afternoon on a weekday. The hotel staff managed to complete our check-in procedure and book our car to the Stone Forest on the way to the hotel. Speaking about efficiency, it saved us a lot of time.

Our suite was comfortable and spacious, however, with a hint of smoking odor even it was on the “Green Floor”. Fortunately we could opened the windows and let the fresh air in. We requested an extra bed for our daughter and it was very small /hard and quite expensive at an extra cost of RMB260. Bathroom was spacious with adequate supplies and bottled water. Smoking is allowed in the lobby, most of the times the lobby smells pretty bad.

An extensive spread for breakfast buffet on the 28th floor was quite good. Staff greeted you when the elevator door opened and pushed the elevator button when you were leaving the restaurant.

Service at this hotel was outstanding and helpful. English was not spoken by most staff and non-smoking policy was not enforced in public area. However, the staff was asking guests to fill out comment cards so they could further improve their service.

As there is not currently any international chain hotels in Kunming, this hotel is as good as you can get. Despite the smoking ordor, its location and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed 1 night only in April 2012. The hotel is very nice, comfortable, clean rooms and really lovely staff. As I was reasonably late arriving I ate in the 28th floor restaurant and had the set menu. The food was really good (steak and the trimmings) and the restaurant staff, who have very little English, were an absolute delight to deal with. The breakfast the following morning had everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bheh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,204 in Kunming
574 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,204 in Kunming
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,204 in Kunming
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#4 of 1,204 in Kunming
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,204 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing