We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, in-room safe didn't work.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Era Hotel Kunming
Ranked #12 of 1,237 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here, occupied 2 rooms during a 3 week stay in China. The location served our purposes- near snack shops, restaurants, and a mall we could walk to- also the fabulous "Dynamic Yunnan' ethnic dance show. Our only complaint is the in- room safe in one of our rooms stopped working a few hours after we entered a code in, causing us to call the hotel service serveral times, literally every time we came back and tried to access the safe. We had cameras, cash, passports, etc. locked in the safe. I didn't see why the hotel didn't just switch out the safe for a new one after we had called them several times to access the safe. The people who came to service/unlock our safe were very nice, but 2 of them later asked us to recommend them on paper for giving us good service. The safe should have worked in the first place- so unlocking it and telling me to reset the code several times with different length passcodes, " because it's more secure" is not exceptional service. Finally, I took the things out of the safe the night before departure to avoid getting stuck with calling hotel service an hour before departure. The night before we left, someone in the hotel delivered a flower arrangement to our room- not sure why, when we could only enjoy it for a few hours. I couldn't take it with me. Otherwise, the hotel met expectations. If charge cards were more ubiquitous here- certainly can't use charge cards everywhere - then we wouldn't have to carry loads of cash and wouldn't have to put some of it in the safe to avoid carrying it all around with us while out for the day. A working in-room safe, I think, is important.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family and need adjacent rooms (I was told they don't have that in Chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LZhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on our 35 day trip around China and found it very comfortable. The location was good and on the first night we walked to a restaurant called 'Old House Restaurant' which was great. We found the staff friendly and very helpful in giving directions to places such as a supermarket etc. There was always someone at reception that could speak English and help us.
Everything in the room was good with a comfy bed, hot shower and free wi-fi.
We really enjoyed the breakfast. It was a huge buffet on a high level(can't remember the floor no.) with a great view overlooking the city. The breakfast was Chinese/Western with someone cooking a variety of egg dishes. There was a great range of pastries too.
The New Era suited all our needs for our short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The New Era Hotel is located in the heart of the city. We stayed five nights in this hotel, in a room on the executive floor. The room is very comfortable, the bed was of good quality. The breakfast is not very interesting and the temperature of the airco is too high during the night. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The executive floors are very quiete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hansgeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the New Era Hotel in April 2014. It is conveniently located, with many surrounding shops and restaurants, and suited our needs perfectly.
The reception staff are well trained and friendly, and have a good command of English. I was particularly appreciative of the Concierge, whose name I unfortunately can't remember, who accompanied me to a nearby convenience store to purchase a local SIM card, and then helped me set it up. Quite important as all the instructions were in Chinese.
The breakfast buffet was extensive, with a good choice of Asian and western food, and the staff were attentive and friendly.
Overall a great place to stay, We were there for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryTNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of very busy shopping area and eateries. Convenient if you have a short stay and want all kinds of shops - from kitcshy souvenir kioks, street markets to international brands (eg, Zara) at malls. Lots of local and western styled restaurants and fast food outlets. It is within 5 minutes walk from the famous flower and bird markets. If you hate loud din and too much buzz, then this hotel is not for you, because the minute you step out of it, you will be bombarded with noise.

There is a mouldy and unpleasant smell on the floors and especially in the bathroom. Overall the room is clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was dated, unclean and in need of an overall. The stained and smelly shower curtain certainly needs a change.

Although the hotel is surrounded by supermarkets (Parkson, Carrefour) shops and restaurants I am impressed it still offfers 24 hr in-room dining. In fact, they treat the entire guest room as an opportunity to sell you anything, and I felt it was too much - 'soak-in-water' towels, herbal bath salts, sex toys, even a book. The hotel tried to provide an interesting history to Kunming - from the murals hung inside and outside the room, to the reading materials nicely printed in a book in the room.

The wifi in the room is very unstable - best if you have data roaming. What the hotel lacks in terms of hygiene, it makes up with generosity. Besides frutis, they provided milk and nougat for night turn-down! The buffet spread at breakfast it huge too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Strategically housed within the business heartland of Kunming City. Branded Chinese & foreign outlets are mere walking distance; plus countless tiny spots of local stalls (incl mobile one) ensure a rewarding experience after sunset.
Security is good, food too!

Hotel itself seems ok. Most things are quite used, but still workable. Staff are courteous and responsive. Higher floors favored.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ljsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed in the new era hotel for one night. It is located right in the city center, so if you are interested in a typical chinese pedestrian zone with the same type of shops every chinese city has to offer, this hotel is right for you. Otherwise better choose a hotel at the lake, where there are also some bars etc.
The hotel is quite old and it shows in the wear of the furniture and bathroom. The hotel staff is friendly but not very competent - asking for a typical Yunnan style restaurant (Kunming is the capital of Yunnan) in the vicinity did not result in any usable answer (I speak Chinese, by the way, so it was not a communication issue), and when asking for a bar I was directed to the pedestrian zone - which has shops and restaurants galore, but no bars (it would have been the first Chinese pedestrian zone with such).
The hotel is decorated in this typical non-design style, in which using a liter shade of brown is considered a bold statement. A gym does not exist.
So three stars it would be and as such ok. Unfortunately the price is 4 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,237 in Kunming
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#10 of 1,237 in Kunming
374 reviews
Guandu District
Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#4 of 1,237 in Kunming
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,237 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing