We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place you can live!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairyland Hotel (Tuodong Kunming)
Ranked #277 of 1,240 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel situated at downtown area of Kunming city,you can walk to Nanping Mall.The location is very good for business and leisure travelers.Last month I stayed there just one night,the service personnel in this hotel is just ok but its a pity that they can say little english.The room condition and sanitary condition is good,sheets and toilet articles are fairly clean.
So like this,you can have good sleep but remember close you window because Its a little noisiness at nighe!

Room Tip: Just Straight Talk what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZK Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed here for two nights. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main center area in Kunming, which is interesting to explore. I didn't mind the hotel, however, the walls for the rooms are super thin, therefore, if your neighbour wants to blast their television and talk until the late hours, you will hear it! Something to consider if you are a light sleeper and you need to get up early. One staff member could speak some english, but otherwise you'll have to know some language or have your language book. Kunming is an ok city to explore for a day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucky1ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it for a business traveler or anyone looking for good value.

Its entrance looks small but inside is a meandering series of rooms. The staff is polite, if not too friendly. One disadvantage is that the rooms are small, with bathrooms with see-thru doors, which may be awkward if you're traveling with friends. Location is good - around 15-20 mins walk from the main city centre (or a short cab ride).

We stayed here en route on a layover, and it is only a 15-min cab ride to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Kunming is a nice city, and this was the perfect hotel to explore it. Staff speaks zero English which made life fun, but they were always forthcoming and even hailed cabs for us.

good-size room to street, not 100% up-to-date but very passable building maintenance,
when we had a internet connection problem, staff would mobilize people from our of nowhere to try to solve the mysteries, and they did.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and we were very happy about it. Yes, the staff doesn't speak english but they are doing everything they can to help you and understand you if you need it! They helped us organize our little trip to the stone forest in Kunming, by writing in advance in chinese on a paper some indications for the taxi and the bus, which was very nice from them. The room are spotless, the bed very confortable, and they have free internet with a fast connection (no wifi). The hotel is not really in the city center, so if you want to go around, be ready to catch a bus or a taxi (very cheap, but write down in chinese where you want to go).
Very good value also, double rooms are even cheaper than in some backpackers!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah1981Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed a couple of nights in the Fairlyland Tuodong on separate occasions. It is a business type hotel with several locations in Kunming and Yunnan. For the first night I booked through elong and got quite a good rate (189Rmb). What you get is a small but comfortable and clean room. The bathroom has glass walls - something to consider - but all fittings worked well. There is also a separate tap with drinking water - good for brushing teeth. No hair dryer. There is free internet - cable. The air con controls are all in Chinese and can be a little hard to work out - you can have heating or cooling.

The second time we made no booking. The hotel was full with only a suite available (289 Rmb). You get a discount from rack rate. The suite is big - living room and bedroom with big bathroom. Probably better value than many hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The hotel is well located in the city. walking distance to the Government Square and Jinmabiji Square. Rooms are quiet, modern and clean. Staff at the reception is very helpful. The lady called information to help us find the local bus to go to the Golden Temple. Domestic long-distance telephone call is free and there is free internet access. The reception staff also call our Dali hotel to arrange pick up from the train station since we would be arriving Dali very early on the overnight sleeper train from Kunming. All in all, excellent accommodation and service for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echo168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.9 mi away
Kunming Hotel
Kunming Hotel
#406 of 1,240 in Kunming
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,240 in Kunming
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,240 in Kunming
588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,240 in Kunming
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel (Tuodong Kunming)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel (Tuodong Kunming)

Address: No.53 Tuodong Road,Guandu District, Kunming 650031, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 1,240 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £18 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairyland Hotel (Tuodong Kunming) 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairyland Hotel (Tuodong Kunming) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing