We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou
Ranked #259 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I checked into the hotel on Sept 7 with 4 family members. Most taxi drivers either didn't know where the hotel is or didn't want to go to the hotel during peak hours. We ended up taking bus with my 83 years old mother. The worst was a big glass panel in one of our rooms cracked the night before we checked out and there was small glass fragment all over the floor and the bed. Upon returning to the hotel after a day trip, we discovered and reported to the front desk immediately. We were given another room. However, we were asked to pay for the glass when we checked out on Sept 11. We ended up calling the police when the hotel insisted that we had to pay. We explained to the 2 policemen what had happened and that it was impossible for us to break the glass due to the thickness of the tampered glass. And that we were not even inside the room when the glass broke. Only upon the police assessment and warnings that the hotel let us go. We were utterly dismay of how the hotel handled the whole issue.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmama61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel three nights, and it was not a bad experience, except for some smoke smell in the room. The hotel position is convenient, since it is on the main North-South road of Kunming, not far from the Green Lake park (it is a bit "too much" in the North of Kunimng, but taxis are inexpensive, so...). The room was clean and spacious, the breakfast acceptable, and the staff was very kind and helpful, despite their limited command of English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in Kunming at the end of our trip to Yunnan, basically to rest up before our flight and to take a daytrip to the Stone Forest, so we didn't need a great room. We booked on Ctrip and for the price (<200 RMB), expected something barely tolerable. Imagine our surprise at finding a spectacular room, huge comfy bed, plasma TV, toiletries, etc. - all the comforts of a mid-range hotel that might run more like ~$75 USD in big Chinese cities.

The staff was fantastic. They brought up the construction and gave us a room at the far other end of the building (no noise). We got a discounted room, but when they saw how tall my husband is, offered us the normal room for <20 RMB ($3) more - they showed us both rooms so we could make an informed decision. They also did their best to give us restaurant recommendations (not many in the area). They also gave us information on the public bus to the Stone Forest - we had planned to take a train we'd read about on Tripadvisor - and wrote down the stop for our taxi driver. None of our cab drivers had any trouble finding the hotel, it's a pretty big chain, but it's important to know the name in Chinese (it sounds nothing like Fairyland) and also the specific location (Gulou), since there are something like a dozen in Kunming.

Breakfast wasn't great, but we left early most days anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. The hotel also provides rooms by the hour, which I hear is a trend worldwide, but couldn't help but feel strange about - if it's reassuring, we didn't see or hear anything sketchy, and we did see several Chinese families with kids in tow staying here. Again, it's not near any sights, but we didn't plan on coming to Kunming to see any city-based sites anyway, so we were quite pleasantly surprised by our lovely time here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandereverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived late night at kunming airport. And then we went to hotel from the airport by taxi. It's about 20 $. And this airport is construction right now. So many facilities are not in survice. And if u r 2people over, recommend family room. Because there is one bed only in business room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yo2taiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Noisy as there is construction going. Room was good and it was comfortably warm in it. Staff don`t really speak english but basic things you can manage. Room looked a bit worned out, but all that i could think was that i dont need to freeze when take shower. So in winter month good choice

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Fairyland Hotel for two nights in July. Unlike other reviewers we didn't have any trouble finding the hotel. We booked the hotel via Agoda and printed out the travel directions that were provided, which we gave to the taxi driver who dropped us in front of the hotel. The staff didn't speak or understood any English which made it challenging, but also fun to get a little information or assistance from them. They were however very willing to help. When the language barrier became too big of an obstacle and my offline translation app didn't work properly, the reception guy and I used the computer in the lobby to find a online translation tool that could do the job. That worked good enough.
The room was fine, although it smelled like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miepke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The room itself is ok, apart from cigarette smoke on sheets, pillows and the room in general. Requested non-smoking, but did not get one. Ashtrays in rooms are a dead giveaway. Service was poor. They spent more time laughing behind theirhands at us??? Took forever to check us in, even though we were the only ones waiting. Took us 2 seperate taxis to find the hotel. Tucked away behing massive roadworks in front of building. It appears to be a Metro type construction. Breakfast did not start until 7.30 so no use to early starters eg tours etc.

Room Tip: Have your driver ring hotel on the way and get directions. Very difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zzzman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,222 in Kunming
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,222 in Kunming
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
2.0 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#11 of 1,222 in Kunming
367 reviews
6.3 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,222 in Kunming
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Address: No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £19 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing