We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Buidings”

Jingxing Bird and Flower Market
Ranked #80 of 202 things to do in Kunming
Attraction details
Sattahip, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Buidings”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

All flower and bird markets are worth visit due to colours and sounds and this was no exception. What made this exceptional is that it is in Kunming old town with its lovely old buildings. It is just off the Jade market

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SATTAHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Jingxing Street Market - as it is now.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although the Bird and Flower Market as it was doesn’t exist, the street is still there with lots of vendors, craftsmen and a smattering of birds, insects, mice, cute rabbits, etc. and could be more or less called a “street market”. The street is being rebuilt and is closed off (sort of) to traffic – the ever present scooters and bicycles are still there, though. The street and one alley leading to Victory Park are full of stalls that are quite colorful and interesting to see. The alley leading to Victory Park is bounded on both sides with high wooden walls while they tear down most of the old buildings, build new buildings in the “old” style and restore some. One house with gardens that has been restored is open to the public for touring. The alley has stalls, all with the same “front” saying “Old Street Kunming”. At the end of the alley is a small park (the lower part of Victory Monument) and this is full of bird vendors all in beautiful handmade cages. On the way to the bird vendors, one encounters lots of rabbits, insects and mice for sale. The market is a small portion of what it once was, but a very nice place to stroll and see a lot of crafts. However, there is no longer a flower market here, although we found a really good flower market called the Chajie flower Market located at No. 1 Chajie Street (downtown, at No. 1 Chajie or Cha Jie) It’s a very large warehouse full of flower vendors both fresh, dried and fabricated. Best part of the flower market is the parking lot on Fridays where cars are being decorated for weddings. It is a stunning site! In any case - we enjoyed very much strolling through the street market on Jingxing Street and definitely loved the flower market!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jingxing Bird and Flower Market is no more around”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was in Kunming last week and heard some much of the Bird and Flower Market. I asked the Hotel and even the tour guides but nobody seems to be able to point me to one. They all said that the big one is about 30 min from the City. On one of the tours, we asked the tour guide to bring us to the Flower market, she reluctantly bough us there and to our disappointment, it was a plastic flower market. Not sure where is the location thought.

I passed by Doungfeng West Road when in the area shopping and sight seeing the Golden Horse and Rooster Arches but did not see any signs to the flower market.

Thanks to ZhongguoKM for his info now I am sure I did not missed anything.

Vince

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“It has been demolished”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just wanted to update this entry for the sake of first-time visitors. I went today (took the Number 5 city bus) only to find that most of it has recently been torn down. It's only a pile of rubble now. No more orchids, cactus, goldfish and baby rabbits.

I realize there are several Bird and Flower Markets 花鸟市场 in Kunming, so for the sake of clarity let me say that this is the old one that was in the area roughly from the corner of Dongfeng Middle Road 东风中路 and Wu Yi Road 五一路 running back to the large Bank of China Building near the underpass.

Some other portions, less easy to reach from the major nearby streets, are still in operation. I would think twice about making it a special destination now that its size has been drastically reduced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.S.W. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We really enjoyed wandering through this market area, not only were the birds, fish and puppies for sale the most exquisite silk flowers, as well as jade and jewellery of all kinds. The one thing I noticed no Tee shirts with Kunming for sale which makes a change from normal tourist markets.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Killcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jingxing Bird and Flower Market also viewed

 

Been to Jingxing Bird and Flower Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing