We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but small room and sleeping in toilet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing
Ranked #485 of 1,183 Hotels in Kunming
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice location but small room and sleeping in toilet.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel on three occasions for two nights each time and found the location amazing. The location is great right in the middle of the old town. It is located right in the market which is great. There are many restaurants, shops and cafes in the area. The rooms are small and have a toilet and shower with a glass sliding door. It was like sleeping in the toilet with my face against the glass of the shower. It felt very cramped and claustrophobic. The staff at the reception did not speak English. At certain times of the day there was no hot water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for about three nights. The room is reasonably clean but small. The shower room is very small. After each shower, I noticed the water takes a while to drain off. There were also times where there was no hot water. There is a small tap beside the sink in the room where you can get safe drinking water.

Most staff can't speak English, those who can speak little. Some are friendly and helpful. The staff at the restaurant are friendly. Breakfast was ok, mainly Asian fare. I am glad there is a good spread of stir fried vegetables. This would be good for the vegetarians who don't mind Chinese food. If you prefer western food, go eat outside. There are restaurants nearby.

About ten to fifteen minutes walk, you will see Cuihu, a lovely lake. Also within walking distance, you can find the Golden Horse and Jade Rooster Archway.

We tried to book a tour through CITS. Our Mandarin was not great and they became impatient with us, to the point of being rude. We did not use the service of this company.

If you plan to visit Western Hills, you can take bus no 73 near the Golden Horse and Jade Rooster Archway. It costs 2 Yuan for air conditioned bus and 1 yuan for non air conditioned bus. This is about an hour ride. Alight at the last station which is Haigeng Park. At the park you need to pay 70 yuan for a buggy ride to the cable car station. The fee also includes a gondola ride to mid station. The driver will tell you that the fee also includes the ride out from the cable station to a bus stop. That is not true, you don't see any buggies that will take you out to the bus stop. We took a cab out to a bus stop. It costs 15 yuan.

You need to pay another 40 yuan for admission to Longmen and 35 yuan for a chair lift to take you to Longmen. On the way to Longmen, you will see awesome Dianchi. A very beautiful lake. Western Hills is definitely worth a visit.

The night near the hotel comes alive with many street hawkers selling all kinds of stuff. I must forewarn you to be careful. During one of our nights out, some one threw a huge stone at the crowd. One lady was hurt. No one knew who the attacker was since there were so many people around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We book 2 room for two nights "Business Twin Bed" specifying late arrival. Arrived late and guess was? The room was not available. One room upgraded and one room gone to the unwanted room list(smells like the sewerage - and we did not crap). Complain and next day changed room. Whoever that design the rooms (with toilet that do not close) should spend the rest of their life sleeping in the toilet.

Great location but unless you like sleeping in the toilet, avoid!!

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, ask for higher floors( chance of smelling other people's crap l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kunming hotels

Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Mediocre 3-star hotel, with small rooms equipped with a dual shower/toilet combination. Twice, we had problems with flushing the toilet, but the staff tackled these problems swiftly. Some people at the reception spoke a little bit of English, but some didn't at all. Breakfast was ok, but when we had it, the remainders of food that guests before us had, were not removed. Wifi was not optimal at the 5th and 6th floor.
Location is very convenient, right in the middle of the Old Street district.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0r1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,183 in Kunming
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.5 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,183 in Kunming
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
1.2 mi away
Home Inn (Kunming Baita Road)
Home Inn (Kunming Baita Road)
#300 of 1,183 in Kunming
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,183 in Kunming
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing

Property: Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing
Address: No.15-16 Shifu East Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #485 of 1,183 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Jingxing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing