We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lost Garden Guesthouse
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

In a nice neighborhood just walking distance to the Green Lake, the Bird and Flower Market and many restaurants is Lost Garden, a charming guesthouse with friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Our train to Dali was not leaving until 10 in the evening and we needed a room to freshen up before the trip. We were offered the 6-bed dorm (the only room available) for half the price if we check out at 6pm.
Although the entire place is quite compact, it was filled with plants and flowers, had big windows and the skylight contributed to the bright and cozy atmosphere of the reception/bar. In another room is a small restaurant popular for their pizza (I gathered from some of the reviews I’ve read), I say they were nothing to rave about but it was not bad. Breakfast was a much better fare with a lot on the menu to choose from. Order their toast, it was the best we had in Yunnan.
Our room was also on the small side but likewise cozy and nicely decorated with a window looking out the courtyard. The bathroom (of Rm. 201) does have a damp odor (as many reviewers advised) but if you put down the cover of the WC, you’ll be fine. No AC but a fan was provided. The King size bed was nice and firm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    74
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
53
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We only stopped here for a rest as catching the train to Dali the night itself. But here's my review of the short stay here.
Lost Garden is located very near to Cuihu. Good place to stay if you are looking for somewhere to stay near the lake. The dorms are very nice and cosy, nicely decorated too. Spacious, soft and huge beds. Bathroom is also big (although there is only 1 on each floor) and clean.

Staffs are friendly, the girls even helped us with carrying our luggage up to the rooms.

The only thing I found to be a problem was getting to the hotel, especially if you have huge luggages with you. We took the airport bus line #1 to Xiyi Hotel, the taxi drivers there are not willing to send us to hostel. We had to drag our luggages a few blocks. It's actually not so bad if you have minimal things with you.

Then comes the stretch before the hostel. The hostel is located in a small lane off another lane beside the lake. There is one part whereby the roads were cobbled roads and hence made it very hard for you to walk with luggages.

Other than that, no other problems. If there is a chance, would like to stay here again, without luggages though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had one of the rooms upstairs by the terrace which was really nice. The shower was good. A kettle and hair dryer were provided, and free mineral water. In April it was a bit stuffy at night and we were given a fan, but I imagine in the summer it would be very hot without aircon. Located in a quiet lane minutes from green lake and easy walking distance from Dynamic Yunnan show. This is a must do and the staff can get you discounted tickets. The restaurant is also good with a wood fired oven ensuring the pizzas are great. Breakfast doesn't start until 8am and we had to leave earlier on our last day. The night before they gave us two bowls of dry muesli and three pots of yogurt to take to our room. A relaxed vibe is very nice here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in the twin budget room, which turned to be a very cosy little room. Yes it is a small room, but it was well furnished, clean, with everything you need, including a great bathroom. Best shower we had in China where we frequently had problems with the hot water.
Best value for money we found in china (Kunming being a bit more expensive than elsewhere we went).
And most of all very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks to them we managed to wander around using the public transport system and could buy our long-distance train and bus tickets ourselves without any problems at the booking office they pointed us to.
Also the location is great, near the very nice green lake .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed here in March and was very happy with my stay. Only a few minutes walking to the lovely Green Park and near shopping areas/restaurants, Lost Garden's location is very convenient. The staffs are extremely helpful and are good English speakers. The room was a nice size and clean as was the bathroom. The food was very good and plentiful for the price. I had dinner on the rooftop at night and breakfast the following morning inside. The staff bought additional train tickets that I needed with a small service charge that was well worth it. Green Park is a beautiful place in the evenings where everybody comes out for a stroll or jog and music playing all over. Highly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: I took the airport bus to the last stop and walked to the guest house which only took about 15 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had three nights at the Lost Garden Guest House and really enjoyed our stay. It was very centrally located being close to Green Lake which was lovely to walk around and see all the local people playing their old musical instruments and doing exercise every where. The room was just big enough for two after moving some furniture to get our back packs off the floor, the floor and other parts of the room could have been a bit cleaner and there was a bad smell coming from the drain in the bathroom, when I mentioned this a staff member said that "Yes that is a terrible room!!" I asked to be moved and was told that it was not possible, and an hour after that I over heard her on the phone saying there indeed was a double room available to a potential guest? A different staff member was very helpful in booking our onward train tickets (Abagail) and she was very plesant in helping us with any requests. The breakfast was very nice and they have a pizza oven that does some great pizzas too! I would still recomend this hostel if the smelly drain problem was fixed....All in all we had a nice time during our stay in Kunming. The only other thing I will mention that there are a few too many long term guests here that I prefer not to be around when travelling and staying in guest houses/ hostels, they can become far too comfortable and tend to have a run of the place, kind of like they live there!! Oh...They do! But thanks again Abagail!

Room Tip: Get an up stairs room , as a staff member said":the lower rooms have a terrible smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max274967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, Ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were very fortunate to come to the Lost Garden when we first arrived in China. The staff speaks excellent English and were very helpful to us with orientation and onward travel plans. Pleasant and convenient location near Green Lake Park, temple, rail/bus ticket booking office etc. Our double room (201/301) was small, but attractive and comfortable, with a large window. Good western food in the attached restaurant.

A tip: there is a fast, comfortable airport shuttle for 25 RMB that will take you quite near the Lost Garden: 15 minutes walk or a very inexpensive cab ride. It's a large gold-colored bus, ideparts every 20 minutes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Garden Guesthouse

Property: Lost Garden Guesthouse
Address: No.7 Yiqiutian, Huanggong East Street, Cuihu South Road, Kunming, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Garden Guesthouse is a comfortable and quiet little guesthouse hidden near the heart of Kunming, less than a minute's walk from the Green Lake Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lost Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing