We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Upland International Youth Hostel
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Despite the large number of guests in a small space using few toilets and bathrooms, this is an extremely clean hostel. I was very impressed by how thoroughly they clean the place. You'll need your own supplies as they provide nothing but sheets and blankets. Staff aren't overly helpful, but they have everything available for you on boards by the front counter, from prices to travel time to maps and recommendations for sightseeing.
Recommended for anyone on a budget in Kunming!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Upland Youth Hostel. Our private double room was not of a youthhostel- but rather of a midrange hotel-style. But the large windows come at a price in winter: it was very very cold inside the room. The heating blankets helped when in bed but could not prevent our breath from condensating.
The common area is stylish and comfortable, the staff helpful and the location next to Greenlake Park beautiful. But they should really so something about the room temperature.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here and liked it. The room was small but nicely decorated and the en-suite bathroom was very stylish. The electric blanket kept us nice and toasty at night. The staff were friendly and the dining area was pretty cool with decent food. I would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 807TomH807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hot water isn't 24 hours and the dorms don't have any sort of heating. The dorm I stayed in was pretty much outdoors, to go to the bathroom or to go to the main hotel building required going outside. This might be nice during the summer but during the winter (when it was snowing!) it was not so nice. The dorm itself is cold (even colder than outside it seemed); they don't provide you with heated blankets as they do elsewhere in Yunnan.

The hot water wasn't 24 hours.

I ended up moving to the lost garden (whose dorms have heated floors!!!).

The 16 person dorm is not good value for they money. Other places in town (the hump) offer 8 person (or fewer) dorms for the same price (and are warmer).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snow S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

First off, this hostel is also known as the Upland International Youth Hostel. It is located on a quiet alley across the road from the back entrance of the Greenlake Hotel. The set up is a bit strange; you enter the lobby where you check in, and then have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs and go through the restaurant/bar area to reach the elevator for most of the rooms. We did not have a problem with this but some people may do. We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013 and had an en suite twin room on the fifth floor. Our room was small but clean, and the bathroom, also small, had a separate shower but the shower curtain was too short to stop water going everywhere when showering! As others have mentioned there is no AC which was fine in October but might be a problem at hotter times of the year. However, the windows do open! We only ate one meal here, a pasta dish which was OK, nothing special. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. They helped us arrange bus tickets to Dali for a small fee. There are grocery stores within walking distance, just continue up the alley for 5 minutes and it comes out on a main road which has lots of stores. Even though the hostel is a distance from downtown it is certainly walkable. Don't miss the Yuantong Temple and Yunnan University campus is also worth a visit. Near the university there are plenty of interesting restaurants including Salvadore's, a Mexican/Mediterranean restaurant. Further away towards downtown, Yunnan Provincial Museum is quite interesting (and free!).
In summary, unlike some other reviewers we actually liked the location of this hostel. It is in an interesting residential area of Kunming near the University and Green Lake but within walking distance of downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the top of the building for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

kinda in random location, there's not much immediately around it, and the closest decent convenience store is a five minute walk down a lonely stretch of road. the layout of the hostel is also random. there are many levels spread over a steep hillside, it seems.

ordered food with a big group and they messed up part of the order. one guy wanted to know what kind of burger meat he got -- beef, chicken or otherwise... he was told it was "upland." nice.

i stayed in the female dorm that accommodated six girls, one of which looked like she LIVED there based on the amount of stuff she had in the room and the monopoly she had on the storage space in the room.

common bathrooms were not that clean and the floors in and around the bathrooms were always wet and dirty-looking.

good decor though, and very nice indoor and outdoor common areas. they have two laundry machines available for use, which is good. staff is generally helpful although prices for private van hires and tours seemed exorbitant.

you need to take a cab or bus to get anywhere from the hostel except the green lake and the city center, and the bus directions posted in the lobby were not sufficient or detailed enough.

overall, an average place but with cool lounge space. i was here during golden week, so had to pay extra which is sorta lame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Was here for a night onroute to Lijiang. Nice clean hostel with English speaking reception but do note that there is no air-conditioning in the whole place and for those with heavy luggage, the elevator is only available after a few narrow flights of stairs. Our ensuite twin room on the third floor has a toilet on the balcony with a glass partition!. Free wifi only available at bar area. Quite near the Green Lake and its eateries and good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#4 of 1,241 in Kunming
590 reviews
2 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,241 in Kunming
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,241 in Kunming
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lost Garden Guesthouse
Lost Garden Guesthouse
#1 of 109 in Kunming
207 reviews
1 mi away
Kunming Cloudland Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upland International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upland International Youth Hostel

Address: No.92 Huashan West Road, Kunming 650031, China (Formerly Kunming Upland International Youth Hostel)
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Upland International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best facilities youth hostel in Kunming!Free WIFI and VPN for FACEBOOK/TWITTER/GMAIL/GOOGLE.Only a 2-minute stroll from the famous Cuihu Park.Upland International Youth Hostel offers simple yet comfortable accommodation. Guests can rent a bicycle to explore the city, or play billiards on site. The shopping centre in downtown Kunming is a 20-minute walk away. Upland Youth Hostel is a 10-minute walk from Yunnan University and a 7-minute drive from Kunming Zoo. It takes 30 minutes by car from the hostel to Dianchi Lake. The tour desk helps guests organise excursions to popular attractions. Guests can also simply relax on the sun terrace, or spend some quiet reading time in the bar, which offers books and magazines. Shoeshine and self-service laundry are available. Guests get to choose between staying in lively shared rooms, or in a quite private room. All rooms come with a writing desk and a wardrobe. The shared and private bathrooms include shower facilities. Fine Chinese and Western dishes can be enjoyed at the Upland Bar. Wuhua is a great choice for travellers interested in parks, lakes and scenery. We speak your language!Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Upland International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing