We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, courteous staff”
Review of Green Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Lake Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,169 Hotels in Kunming
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury, courteous staff”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A very beautiful hotel - spacious, well designed, and a quiet, comfortable, nicely serviced room. A peaceful hotel in a fantastic location. A great selection of food at breakfast. We enjoyed our visit there very much. The only things we were not so happy about was that tea and coffee were not complimentary, and the complimentary bottles of water were in the bathroom - the non complimentary bottle of water by the kettle... The hot food at breakfast could have been hotter too. Use of the business centre - ie a computer - was also stated as being 1Yuan per min.

But the staff were wonderful - the woman in charge of the business centre did let us use the business centre for a short while for free. We also talked to the manager of the hotel who was genuinely interested in our thoughts - so there is a good sense that all is being done to make the hotel ever better.

Room Tip: A room at the front on 11th floor would give a lovely view over Green Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dot w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    304
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
74
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed at the Green Lake Hotel in Kunming for two nights (June 14-15, 2013) and tremendously enjoyed my first experience there. All services were excellent and my 11th floor room overlooked the beautiful lake. Fruits were served along with local sweets in early and late afternoon. The Internet was fast. The night before our departure, a Thai colleague and I walked around the lake, which were filled with dancers, musicians and couples enjoying the night stroll. There were nice shops selling clothes and souvenirs on the side streets around the lake. To our surprise, we found a shop selling Thai Buddha amulets.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songpol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very well maintained, hotel is a bit older so rooms are not that large and the bathrooms are small, but the hotel is really well kept.
Service was very good - English levels at the front desk war excellent, staff in the breakfast restaurant was very attentive and the location is great for a visit to Kunming.
Don't miss the Yunnan Dancing Show whilst there - highly recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location - walk around to the lake and you'll find some very good restaurants. The rooms are spacious and staff very helpful. The beds were the best I'd experienced on my last trip and as usual in China free wifi although some message seemed to take a while to get through???

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the lake. The ones at the back face a car park and it gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Beautiful hotel and good location. However, it was listed as a five star business hotel, but it was very difficult to find anyone who spoke English. The "butler" service was useless as we tried to use it, but they could not understand us. If you speak Mandarin, this would be a great hotel

Room Tip: Get a luxury suite. Very large with one and a half baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night, and was pleasantly surprised. Look, touch and feel are very much an old Grand Hotel in Europe. A very welcome relief from the Chinese habit of having all new hotel looking basically the same with splendit lobbies and pseudo modern design.

So the Green Lake welcomes guest with a stately driveway, butler service (didn't see one but they advertise this service...), a small strong quartett in the lobby (love must go on ohoh), decor and interior do remind me on city hotels in Rome, Paris or London, not Chinese at all beside some pictures. . . .

modern electronic in the room, e.g. an door viewer via camera and screen, TV integrated in the bathroom, good internet and TV channel selection. comfortable bed, clean bathroom and well maintained (not always a given in China) !! downside to the room . . .size as in london or paris too small compared with the new breed of international hotels in China, also sound proving was not good, you can hear every car, thanks god i do have a solid sleep.

Dining was ok-la, I was sitting by myself in the Western Restaurant, killed by an overpowering AC and returned my Ceasar Salad after the first bit as dressing had the texture of water and oil, taste was horrible. Service did not comment, appologize, etc . . . Grilled Tuna Steak was OK, but not sure why served with French Fries (yuk) and coated densley in black & white sesame . . . .mhhh needs clear improvement.

Had a quick look as well in the Chinese Restaurant, service uniform for girls need to be looked at, . . never seen such ultra short skirts on service staff in any normal hotel or restaurant, not sure if I want to see the hem of their undies when servicing a table, a nice Qipao would do the trick much better.

You can clearly see that employees are proud to work in this hotel, and they should be as product is well worth mentioning. (proud without being snobish)

Don't miss to have a walk around the Green Lake right outside the hotel, it is tranquile and beautiful; and you can get your shoes polished for RMB 10 - a service the hotel does not offer??

Only real mishap - I booked a taxi for an early morning deparure and felt ripped off by FO staff as they organzied a "black" non offical taxi for me, now I could not get a recipt . . . .

Room Tip: higher floor - lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifelongExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I think my Review Title sums up Kunming generally as well as the hotel. I was booked in here by a friend, read the reviews and was a little concerned by comments about (1) the lake being blocked by construction work (2) lack of English speaking staff. I am pleased to report that neither of these was a problem. The lake is open, accessible and beautiful. Not every staff member is fluent in English but those in the service areas are and I had no problems. For a Chinese-run hotel the standard is very high and the bath towels were the best quality I've had anywhere. The bed was rather hard but it didn't stop me having a good night's rest The Japanese restaurant is extremely expensive but the Chinese & Western ones are fine, and there are many reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Don't try and get Diet Coke or Coke Zero here, it's really hard unless you can find a supermarket (there isn't one near the hotel) but I generally have this problem in China, except in southern China. Fast, free internet but it was down for a whole morning. I grew quite fond of the lake and would go for a walk every day, there are many activities around the lake.. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: One with a lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank See-Tai-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
2.1 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#8 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lake Hotel

Property: Green Lake Hotel
Address: No.6 Cuihu South Road, Kunming 650031, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kunming
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#13 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Green Lake Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Green Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lake Kunming
Green Lake Hotel Kunming
Hotel Green Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing