We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and clean hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming
Ranked #8 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Staff is helfull and friendly during our 2 times trip. January 25 and February 1. They even give us some welcoming cakes and even free drinks. For our second stay, the kids even got some free toys for the horse year.. For sure we will come back if we go to kunming

Room Tip: The rooms is spacious and water in bath is comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked through Agoda because the rooms were full on the hotel's website. Later I emailed to ask for the rate for an additional bed plus breakfast but it apparently took so long for communication between the two parties (Wyndham and Agoda) before Agoda replied. Nearer to my arrival, my sixth sense tells me that I should contact the hotel directly to make sure there is no hiccup on the day of check in and that was when my fears were proven true.

First, the internet customer service of Wyndham Group said I have to contact Wynham Kunming directly (without providing the email address). This coming from an international five star hotel? What is the point of the internet customer service if they can't help? You need to navigate through Wyndham Kunming's websites before finding the email address hidden somewhere.

Finally, when the hotel replied to my request, I was informed that the twin room cannot accommodate an additional bed so I had to change to another type of room configuration. But Agoda didn't mention that earlier.

We also arranged for the hotel transport from the airport. The 5 pax seater was luxurious! The seats were so comfortable and hot towels and mineral water was handed to us when we got into the car. It costs a whooping $1,800 RMB though.

Our rooms were on the high floor with good view of the city and fireworks. Rooms were nice, comfortable and with full amenities in the spacious bathroom. Huge bathtub and powerful shower and sufficient lighting. Only grouse is that the lights in the bathroom kept turning off by itself. It is some kind of energy saving device I think, but it is quite erratic, turning off even though you are standing in the line of the detection.

Room was also stuffy at times as the aircon is programmed at 24 deg cel so no matter how you adjust the control, it doesn't work.

Mini bar is complimentary and besides soft drinks, they also stock tsingtao beer and replenish daily which is a plus point as some hotels do not do that.

Caution though before using the hot water kettle. The ones in our rooms had residual floating in the water so I had to clean the insides and it was fine thereafter.

The breakfast is not impressive at all for a 5 star hotel. Only good thing is the fresh orange and water melon juice and the bread section. Praise to the bakery chef.

We had buffet on the eve of Chinese New Year and it was really bad for the exorbitant price they charged. What we had for dinner that night also served as part of the buffet breakfast the next morning. Yes, really.

So for readers of this review, conclusion is to stay here for the comfort and free wifi ;-) but dine somewhere else. There are Chinese restaurants opposite as well as the adjacent shopping mall (the seafood restaurant is good) which serves various types of cuisines. Or you can take a 5 miute cab ride for some street food. Behind the shopping mall, there are also street food and pubs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PALMS4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed on business for 3 nights and I was very impressed. I am a frequent visitor to Kunming and I have stayed in various hotel over the years and this "wins the prize" on all levels.

Rooms are very comfortable and everything works (unique in China). The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, in addition the English spoken is very good.

When I checked in the Hotel GM was walking his hotel and talking to guest to get feedback

Good business hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gman558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the Wyndham in Kunming during a business trip (5 days), and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. Hotel staff were nice -- spoke English well -- and while the hotel still isn't very well-known among locals, its location is still pretty good, as it is in very close walking distance to a big, new shopping mall (that has a Carrefour and plenty of decent dining places). The hotel itself is remarkably opulent. The room I stayed in was spacious and grandly decorated. The service was also impeccable -- complimentary sweets brought to the room every night, and full complimentary access to the mini bar. Internet access (also complimentary) was good too. The only shortcoming I found was the buffet breakfast -- good variety but the taste of the food wasn't particularly to my liking. Looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shushiii2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here as a group on a business trip. The decor of the hotel was the best I have seen in my travels. A lot of creative details and thought went into it. The staff were extremely warm and friendly especially to the group from Kenya. We found this very welcoming and made us feel at home. The conference facilities were really state of the art with pop-up screens in the Boardroom for each participant. We stayed on the Executive Floor and hand access to the Executive Lounge. That was our favourite place to unwind and have meals. The swimming pool is just something else with water being pumped up from an underground hot spring. Truly amazing. The location of the hotel is also great being next to a shopping mall as well as popular stores such as H&M and food outlets like MacDonalds, KFC, Starbucks. I would recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: The Executive Floor Rooms allow you access to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wyndham is the best hotel in Kunming. Very true to its 5* standard. Service is very good. Rooms are very comfortable with all amenities. Free WiFi. Most of the staff speaks English. Located in the big mall and many fast food centers around the hotel. Worth a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumar56775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This property is good, with all modern amenities, but has a few glaring shortcomings. One, most of the staff cannot speak or understand even elementary English and it is a torture to make them understand you need a glass of water or a fork. Even gestures don't suffice most of the time.There are some exceptions, of course, like the general manager who speaks good English. Also, there's inadequate seating in the lobby. While the food is good, the options for vegetarians and vegans are severely limited. The rooms are, however, very well appointed. And the hotel is located centrally with shopping malls and other conveniences within walking distance. But television channel options ate limited and the hotel doesn't have any English movie DVDs and DVD players in the rooms or on rent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaideep1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,222 in Kunming
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,222 in Kunming
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,222 in Kunming
574 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,222 in Kunming
587 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming

Address: No.569 Dianchi Road, Kunming 650238, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £90 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Worldwide well know luxury brand *Downtown center,adjacent to Dianchi Lake and Yunnan Provincial Government Building *Located in the first complex building of business and leisure life-style in Kunming *Commercia Environment(Carrefour,Starbuck Coffee,Cinema,Restaurants,SPA,KTV,Banks and Office Building) *Highest Club Lounge in Town *Express access to Changshui International Aioport *The latest and second largest ball room in Kunming City,with state-of-art AV system ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing