We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Intercontinental Kunming
Ranked #2 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Large luxury hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

IC Kunming provides the unexpected in this rather unattractive city. A very nice, grand facility in a park like setting overlooking the lake. Large rooms and bathrooms, very nice service levels by mostly English speaking staff, Excellent breakfast offerings in " The Market".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    53
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
27
15
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed there for a total of four nights having travelled to Tibet in between. Overall, I am impressed with state of art decor, tasteful design of costumes and welled trained staff.

Dining is exellent
The cafe definitely deserves a thumb up. Supervisors were eager to please and went out of their way to help even with directions to the lake. The breakfast buffet table incorporated local delicacies and had a variety that surpassed all other five stars. Chains have the shortcoming of being too standardized and tend to serve the same things in buffet. As a tourist, I'd love to try local food, within the comfort and clean environment even if price is five times of that available outside the hotel walls.

Perfection marred by a bit of dishonesty
That brings us to taxi business. It costs RMB110 to travel to the airport by meter. The front desk told me all taxis going to airport do not go by meter and would charge RMB150-180 and that the price is negotiated with the driver with the hotel having nothing to do with this. This is blatant misrepresentation. All taxis are eager to have long haul business and the hotel did have a degree of control over their associated taxis through contract.

When I found the telephone number online and called for a taxi myself around midnight, within 20 minutes a confirmation of reservation is received. Some may think I am making a big fuss over a small amount. I don't mind tipping and people staying at such a hotel don't mind paying for good service and value as long as the pricing is transparent. I do mind being conned. If you tell me you will charge for reservation, it is perfectly fine but I hate being treated as a fool.

Overall, excellent hotel and I would stay there again. Having to arrange my own transportation is a bit off though. Wifi is also close to nonexistent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winnie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilHoughton, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear winnie s,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your kind review.


I would like to clarify the taxi situation in Kunming. Firstly we do not have any control over them and we have no arrangement with them whatsoever.
The fact is that despite the run to the airport being a good distance they do not always have a paid return journey.
Therefore they mostly refuse to put the meter on and make a charge of somewhere up to 200RMB, as the team member advised you.
Whilst this is not how they are supposed to operate as mandated by the government, this is common practice in Kunming. We have reported drivers for this appraoch and nothing happens. So our approach is to make our guests aware of the situation, and try to ensure a cap of 200RMB is not exceeded.


The practice adopted by taxi drivers in Kumning is adpoted elsewhere across China and indeed the world, whilst it is not right it is not a massive rip off in the big scheme of things with about a 50RMB / $8USD suppliment on a 35/40 minute journey.


I hope this helps set out the situation with regard to taxis and the fact that we have no control and no relationship with them. We do offer hotel cars to/ from the airport, but these are much more expensive as the cars are new and luxury brands. 700RMB is the charge when we collect you from the arrivals hall.


I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and you would return, despite this taxi situation.


Thank you

Kind regards,
Neil Houghton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location a bit out of the way, but close to lake and some attractions
Great facilities, generally helpful staff
Excellent breakfast offering
Concierge Denny was extremely helpful, but difficult to get information and arrange trips as no travel agency services at hotel or nearby, mainly catering to local clientele
Taxi transport tricky at peak times, need to use local app to bid 'tips' up to 20 rmb to secure one (shuttle bus would be really helpful)
Cycled to Dianchi lakeshore, also took cable car across to Xishan forest park, quite enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My host chose a hotel for me in downtown but relying on reviews on tripadvisor, I opted for this very beautiful hotel located in the quieter parts of town but within easy reach. I wasn't disappointed in any way. Hghly recommended though the size may be disorienting.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the reception unless you don't mind a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This Intercontinental Hotel is the most impressive I have stayed. Because is very close to Lake , no tall buildings are permitted then the hotel is spread out a in large area. You have to walk quite bit if your room is far away from the lobby. On the other hand is a good exercise go and back to the nice restaurants. The entire building is very impressive: big, large, wide. You feel like in the an imperial castle. And the service and food is outstanding. Although a little far from downtown, is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you don't walk so much, ask for a room in the closer section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldoMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is a bit far out ..... but if you need to relax, it is worth it. Arrived with a head cold after a multi-stop travel in China. Was worried as we drove and drove from the airport...then relaxed as we arrived in the beautiful site. The size is a bit overwhelming (including the lobby area), but it's beautiful. The room was superb, and between the great bath, bed and dinner and then lovely cafe breakfast (though hard to find the cafe!)....I left feeling a new person and read for the next step of the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is a new hotel. Service very good. The bf fantastic. Big room. Clean. We stay there for 2 days. We took a taxi to Stone Forrest. The taxi cost us ¥ 600. The entry cost is ¥200.each. It is nice place. But not fantastic. From airport to the hotel need 1 hr with traffic jam. Cost¥100.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,198 in Kunming
210 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,198 in Kunming
580 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,198 in Kunming
573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercontinental Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercontinental Kunming

Property: Intercontinental Kunming
Address: No.5 Yijing Road, Dianchi National Tourism, Kunming 650228, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Intercontinental Kunming 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Intercontinental Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing