We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel
Chongqing, China
2 reviews
“Relaxing weekend in the sun”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wake up and take a perch in the sunshine on the roof terrace. Fill up on a generous, breakfast of sausages, egg, dumplings etc, and a cup of coffee. Read your book for a while and chat with the staff. Have a game of pool. Stroll through the countryside for lunch at a local restaurant. Hire a bike if you feel like venturing further afield. Check out a few villages that almost never see foreign tourists.

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable weekend at the H2H hostel in March. Although we planned to take advantage of the many activities available, we ended up spending most of our time chilling in the hostel, and we enjoyed it very much. The setting is beautiful, the staff are great. The food and rooms are excellent for the price and it's very clean. My favourite Kunming bolt-hole by far.

One thing to note: It is pretty hard to find - make sure that either you or your taxi driver know exactly where you're going before you set out!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I must thank Tuanjie Town and Heart2Heart for showing me the other side of Kunming which I'm deeply fond of. The location of the hostel isn't great, it takes some walking after getting off from bus C81 and there could be more signs to indicate direction to the hostel. But all in all it's fine. I guess it is precisely because of such remoteness from city that it has so much to offer. I especially love the sunflower field on both sides of the road which I pass every time I bike from the hostel to the town. Given how I love what nature offers us, I'm glad to know that the hostel has made an effort to be eco-friendly (using renewable energy, recycling used items, etc) and is promoting green practices in the community as well. The hostel is clean and wifi is easily accessible - that's my top two concern when I travel. Staff is nice and helpful, when they are not working, they are involved in organising learning activities for local kids of Bai ethnicity (a predominant group in Tuanjie Town) who I got the chance to interact with during my stay. Some travellers may not like the idea of having kids around but it's fine with me - in fact I love interacting with them as I was born and raised in Hong Kong where 95% of the population is Han Chinese and there are few chances to mix and mingle with people from other ethnic groups. The one-week stay in Tuanjie Town is fruitful, certainly not in the traditional touristy sense, it is more than that - from the beautiful Woyun mountain, the blossoming sunflowers, to the smiling faces of local kids. I just hope by the time I return the expressway connecting the town and the airport will be open for public use... that would make the trip perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A friend and I recently took at weekend trip to Tuan Jie Zhen – a township that is about 30 kilometres outside Kunming and easily accessed via bus. We stayed at the Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel which is run by Heart to Heart Community Care. As “MattInChina” says in his review, because there are very few social welfare benefits or resources for migrants, this organization works with these men, women, and families, in Kunming and the surrounding area. It helps them find housing and acquire skills for jobs, provides education to the children, and arranges health care for them. In addition to working with migrants, H2HCC sponsors cultural and educational activities and classes for the local community, with all profits from the hostel going to this organization. The H2HYH is located in Da He Village, on the outskirts Tuan Jie Zhen – a village-come-town that is sometimes referred to as an “urban village” and is mostly surrounded by farmland and forested hills. It is a good feeling to know that not only is the hostel located in a lovely area that is so close to the city but that the proceeds go to such good causes!!

We arrived at the hostel close to suppertime that first afternoon so we took it easy and simply unwound from hectic Kunming. We ate bbq meat, fish, and vegetables and drank beer with the staff and one other hosteller at the H2HYH, itself. Eating communally with visitors (for a fee of 20RMB) is something that is done from time to time, there. I even got to enjoy the stars for the first time in a while because the sky in Kunming is too polluted for them to be seen.

There are many opportunities for cycling and hiking in the area. There are roads and pathways amongst the farms where you can walk or cycle for miles and there is hiking in the forest. The hostel offers food but there are also restaurants in the area – as close as a 3-minute walk or in the town - which is a 10-15 minute walk from the hostel. If you enjoy outdoor activity and are visiting Kunming, Tuan Jie Zhen is a good place to visit for a short (or long) jaunt away from the city and Heart 2 Heart is an excellent choice for your accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a nice surprise ! After reading an online article into the local English website, I decided myself to try this place and take a break from the city for 1 day. Great option for a week-end by the way. The hostel is a nice large and old renovated building, it was opened on October 21 2012. The rooms are large and modern for an hostel considering you are at the countryside. The commun living room + the lobby are welcoming and friendly. The staff was just ok in my opinion. Don’t forget to bring your passport/Chinese visa to show them. My room was a «grand view private» for non-members of YHA is 180 rmb per night, for members is 150 rmb. They don’t provide soap+shampoo, so bring yours or you can still buy it from them. They can prepare food, breakfast + little snack, check the menu on the wall. Free wifi, working very well everywhere. On the second floor, you got a nice view on the countryside and fields around the hostel. You can rent bicycles with them but be careful because out of 16, only 2 were in ‘’good conditions’’, it was the only bad point of my stay. They should think about repairing them. So you can bike or walk around the area, not so much things to visit expect the beauty of the countryside. There is 3 small pagodas about 10 min walk, we intended to visit but we found out that it was on a private land and we couldn’t get it, how sad, the only cultural interesting landmark to visit here is private instead of being open to the public. To reach that hostel in about 45min/1h, you will have to take bus C61 (6 rmb) from Kunming or just a taxi. Once you arrived at the terminus of the bus line in the small village of Tuanjeizhen, you have to walk a good 10/15min along the main road to finally see a «hostel» 250m, follow the sign. If you wanna eat out or buy food, you have to walk back to the small village, you have some supermarkets, restaurants and a bakery as well. I really recommend this place for a countryside stay in Yunnan near Kunming, I might even return to relax for another one day or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I didn't know about Heart 2 Heart beforehand. It's located in a rural area of Tuanjie Township, about 30 km west of downtown Kunming. My friend and I were out for a bike ride when we saw the sign for this hostel and thought we'd check it out.

It's a very impressive place. Run by Heart to Heart Community Care, an NGO that works with migrant laborers, women, and children in Kunming, all profits go to that organization.

They've taken an old brick home and restored it, preserving the original character while making the facilities more comfortable and modern.

Don't make a mistake. This is not an urban hostel. It's not a good choice if you're looking to explore Kunming city. But it's a wonderful place to spend a few days outside of the city. The surrounding area is beautiful. You can go hiking or rent one of the hostel's bikes (or bring your own...you can bike here from Kunming in about two hours). There are farms you can explore. You can pick fruit. Haobao organic farm is on top of nearby Woyun Mountain, about a 45 minute bike ride away.

Ting Ting, the manager, is extremely friendly and knowledgeable and will share a wealth of information about the hostel, the NGO behind it, and the village.

Activities are organized, and educational events are often held. Guests are welcome to pitch tents in the field in back. Musical instruments lend themselves to evening jam sessions.

Wifi. Inexpensive coffee and other snacks available. You can also go outside to any number of the farmhouse restaurants in town for meals.

A very nice concept. Wish them luck. They're relying on word of mouth. Get the word out. Check them out. Great place to relax for a couple days and get a feel for rural life. A world away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Public transportation is also available. Take bus C62 from the New West Bus Station, or C61 from the old West Bus Station Station (closer to the center of Kunming).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
11.3 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,185 in Kunming
202 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,185 in Kunming
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,185 in Kunming
564 reviews
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
10.7 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,185 in Kunming
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel

Property: Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel
Address: No.96 Dahe Village, Tuanjie Town, Xishan District, Kunming, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kunming
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Heart 2 Heart Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing