We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
UChoice Hotel Kumming
Ranked #78 of 1,217 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel in 2007 and came back because we liked the hotel, location and value. Our daughter also stayed here on a separate trip in 2007.
While the value is still quite good compared to a lot of other hotels in the area, I've noticed evidence of a severe lack of maintenance. For example, in the shower there is a very large patch of black mildew in the corner and the ceiling is starting to show some evidence of the same.
The free breakfast is ok if you get there earlier, but the hot food trays have had the lids removed since our last visit, so the head escapes and the food goes cold.
The front desk staff were helpful and most spoke passable English. The doorman was shocked when I said good morning to him in Mandarin and instantly launched into something beyond my 5 word vocabulary. When he realized I did not understand he quickly called for somebody who spoke English.
The most negative response we had was from a security guard. My wife (who is Chinese) asked him a question in English. He simply gave her a rude look and walked away. I found this to be totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2008

First of all, let me say, that I want value. Not the cheapest, not the best, but something clean and safe, the best for the money, and something that fits my needs. With that criteria, the UChoice is a great bargain. If you need a swimming pool, fancy restaurant, and glitz, this isn’t your place. If you want something nice, this is a great deal.

The Uchoice is fine. It has a huge lobby and most of the staff speak only a little English, but it’s better than my Mandarin. The only complaints would be that the air conditioning didn’t really keep us cool. There was a fan and we had our little fan, and after about 8 PM there seemed to be some cool air, but overall it was warmer than we’d prefer. Not hot hot, just not cool. The bed was quite hard but manageable. The room was nicely furnished with what seemed to be quite new furniture with no evidence of wear. On one night stand was a sort of universal remote control for the TV, radio, alarm clock, and all the room lights. The bathroom was well-lit with a modern toilet, and a sink and vanity. The water was hot in the bathtub/shower. The room was quiet, even when we opened the window to get more fresh air in.

Our laptop connected to the internet with a Ethernet cable which the hotel supplied. We were charged 10 Ұ per hour, prorated for the amount of time we actually used. There was also evidence that there was some kind of wireless connection, but it required a password, so we didn’t use that. On checkout we learned that there were instructions in the desk drawer on how to use the internet. Too late for us by then.

The Chinese breakfast provided with our room was fine. While it was a little odd for Americans who aren’t used to salads and cooked vegetables and fruit pizza for breakfast, there was enough of a selection so that anyone would be satisfied. We also went to the same restaurant for supper one night and found a large selection on the menu. We chose two soups which were well-prepared and tasty.

We didn’t use the exercise room or the meeting room.

The Uchoice is in the northern part of the city. Right across the street is a river with a park-like area on both sides, suitable for jogging, watching families with kids, or watching older people playing card or maj jong. This runs through what seems to be a nice residential area. Overall the hotel is very convenient. There are good shopping areas nearby, taxis are always at the door, and it is close to the zoo and the largest Buddhist temple in Kunming. There is also a travel agency in the hotel and the woman there helped us book a day trip to the Stone Forest by private car.

I would highly recommend the Uchoice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WorldTraveler061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

The Uchoice is located right next to the little river that runs through Kunming. It is close to the zoo and the temple. It is somewhat north of the center but everything is easily accessible by taxi or even by foot. Supermarkets and restaurants are nearby next to the little river. It is a bustling area at night.

The hotel itself is a typical big chinese with not much character of it's own but it was very clean. Staff was very nice and if you are not speaking chinese, the receptionists spoke enough english for most questions and the assistant manager spoke excellent english.

The hotel restaurant specializes in seafood and is good, but there are a lot more smaller restaurants around that give you the "China" feeling.

Fitness room looks decent, though I didn't use it.

Breakfast is OK, but not outstanding. Choices are a but limited.

Bookings through HRS and CTS were without problems.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vascodigama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctu781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIANMARCO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#11 of 1,217 in Kunming
367 reviews
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,217 in Kunming
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Spring Hotel
#50 of 1,217 in Kunming
156 reviews
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,217 in Kunming
220 reviews
Jinmabijifang
Green Land Hotel
Green Land Hotel
#405 of 1,217 in Kunming
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UChoice Hotel Kumming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UChoice Hotel Kumming

Address: No.1 Jiangbing West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
#37 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
Price Range: £36 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UChoice Hotel Kumming 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your UChoice Hotel Kumming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uchoice Hotel Kunming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing