We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for about $20 usd what can you expect? not much!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring City Inn(Jixie)
Ranked #73 of 1,163 Hotels in Kunming
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“for about $20 usd what can you expect? not much!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2009

On the way from the airport, the taxi driver told us of the road construction and took some short cuts on the way. This mean driving against traffic on the highway!!! Welcome to Kunming!!! haha When we arrived on Baiti street, our driver missed the hotel as there is no front to see. There is a restaurant there instead. Our driver looked out the window and said "oh this is not that good of a hotel" As it was late at night and I was a bit scared that the driver was going to take us to one of his "friends hotel" we decided to check it out.

Prior to checking in, the receptionist asked us to check out the room. At the time I did not understand but the room my wife looked at smelled like smoke in the "non-smoking room. The second was another "non-smoking room" but was not as bad as the first so we checked in as of course this took a while, even with my wife speaking Mandarin.

Upon entering the room, the first thing to hit you is the idea that this is China and Non Smoking means nothing so it smelled like cigarettes. The room with its pink walls was good size with a queen sized bed. Now this is the "standard super firm bed" as found all over China which means that its softer than the floor.

The was an LCD tv and a hook up for the inter-net bu no Wi-Fi. The bath area, Note that I did not state Bath "room" was quite different. There is a shower stall with glass enclosure as well as the toilet area enclosed in glass. Now I enjoy having a little more privacy while doing my business but this is China. The brochure states "hot water in 24 hours" but of course they mean they have hot water 24 hours a day.

Located on the property is a business center. They offer travel services and upon talking to the girl there, it is obvious that she knows her business. Given the fact that the bus ticket cost 10 rmb more than if I went to the station myself, it was well worth the money not having to spend the time getting there, as it is 20 mins away. I would had spent double that in taxi fees. In addition, she arranged a ride for us to the bus station and this was most convenient since she came with us.

The breakfast is the best thing going for this Motel. To begin, they serve decent coffee which is difficult to find in China let alone Kunming. The beef noodle soup is fair, a bit oily but still you would hard pressed to find a better bowl in the area. I found the noodles here to be better than the "under the bridge" noodle joint on the corner.

As for the location, I find that I was near the center of town but would had preferred to be a bit closer to Green Lake.

Now would i stay here again? No, given the fact that I now know that I could find much better accommodations for a little bit more. Would I recommend my friends or fmaily to stay here? NO. However, for about $20 USD what should I expect...not much and this is what is offered. It has been said that a picture is worth a thousand words but please do not be fooled by the photos as they are staged and miss all the details.

If you are on a strict budget, a backpacker in the true meaning then this would be fine for you or even a step up....make that small step up. For everyone else...look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    53
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Very good value for this hotel! I am very worried at first because I am more used to 5 stars hotel....but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
The location is great! Just opposite to the Kunming Hotel in the centre of the city – well, not so easy to find because on a small dead end road.
It is not situated on the main road so it is very quiet.
The rooms are clear, well equipped with bathroom, TV, water dispenser…the bed was fine.
Even the breakfast was better than expected – usually I do not take breakfast in Local Chinese hotel but I managed to get fried/boiled eggs, fried rice, congee, fruits, breads.
The staff can speak enough English to assist you – they have been very polite and helpful during our 3 days stay.
One negative thing could be the so called ‘Business centre’ – the lady does not speak English so we had to communicate through Google translator…we asked to book a car for one day visit to the Stone forest. She confirmed us 800RMB for one full day and after 30min. fixing all the details she finally told us that no driver/car was available!
Finally we stopped a taxi on the street and we managed to go to the Stone forest (80km from the city) from 9.30am to 8.30pm – making various stop and go to different location around – for 600RMB. The day after we asked the same driver to visit the mountain/temples just outside the city for 500RMB.
Maybe it is expensive but for 4 people sharing the same car and full day visit, this was a very good option for us – also because it was a very flexible option.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed here for 2 weeks before moving into an apartment in Kunming. Now I recommend this place to anyone coming to visit. The following is my experience from two different rooms...

The rooms are super clean, new, and cosy. There are LCD TVs and water tankers in each room. The bathrooms were also really clean and tastefully furnished, coming with many amenities. I would compare the rooms to small serviced apartments, and would recommend staying in one of these for both short and longer term (i.e up to a month).

The location is good, on Beijing Road and about 15 minutes walk to the Green Lake. Actaully a nice side of town to stay on if you want to avoid other tourists/foreigners, but not too far from the western cafes on Wenlin street. Only an 8rmb cab or 25 min walk.

Not all the staff speak English, and at times things were lost in translation, but this was hardly a problem. The staff were all very friendly and did their best to meet or needs. They were great!

Head up to the roof for great views!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radiohead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We only paid 130 yuan for a double room with breakast (for 2 people) in this lovely hotel.

The check in actually takes ages because they really take a lot of information (ie date of entry in china etc) but i guess its the usual chinese bureaucracy. That was all ok since we have the nicest room I've seen since in a long time, including western hotels. The layout of the room is greatly done, with modern shower and toilet with glass doors, Its sparkly clean, bed really comfy, and theres even a water tank. As it was raining all day when we were in Kunming we were really happy we could chill in such a nice and cute room.
The breakfast has western and chinese food. As i only had chinese breakfast (good), i cannot judge the quality of wetern food.

Only downside: there's no lift, we were on the 4th floor...


When you go by taxi, you'll be surprised that the adress is a small restaurant on the street side...but don't go away! the hotel is actually behind the houses. It will be easier for the taxi driver when you can show him the business card of the hotel with a map at the reception .

Overall I would say that Spring City has the faciliies of a 3-star hotel...but for a bargain price, don't miss it.

  • Liked — lovely rooms, good location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aldc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We booked this hotel online. It is off Mid Bai Ta Road, about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping district in Kunming. The rooms are clean. Singles and Doubles rooms are fully renovated. For Twin rooms the bathrooms are old (not renovated) Singles cost RMB118 (USD15) while Twin and Doubles cost RMB138 (USD18). Breakfast (both local and continental) included.

They have a Business Centre that opens from 10am to 10pm. It offers services such as Fax-in/fax-out, secretarial services and internet facilities for a fee. You can also book air tickets (domestic & international destinations), bus / train tickets (popular Chinese tourist destinations) and day trips. The ticket booking service is efficient and prices competitive.

We like the hotel very much because its clean, quiet and value for money. We liked it so much that we checked in and out of it 3 times during our Yunnan trip between 13 Sep & 11 Oct 06.

The only area that requires improvement is the reception. For the 3 times (2 of which were during morning peak time) that we checked out, there was only 1 person mending the reception counter with a string of clients queuing to check out.

  • Liked — It is quite, convenient and value for money
  • Disliked — The hotel reception should have at least 2 staff during peak check out times.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidays_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knolledörp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2006

Staff speaks absolutely no englisch - as usual in china. Credit Card Payment Visa possible. Some rooms have modern stylish bathrooms. You can rent a staff-taxi for 200Yuan a day that takes you to the stone forest - with safe and careful driving. Breakfast included, in a nearby workers cantine.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jkhlökjweb.de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,163 in Kunming
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,163 in Kunming
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#7 of 1,163 in Kunming
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home Inn (Kunming Baita Road)
Home Inn (Kunming Baita Road)
#296 of 1,163 in Kunming
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Inn(Jixie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Inn(Jixie)

Property: Spring City Inn(Jixie)
Address: No.241 Baita Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,163 Hotels in Kunming
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring City Inn(Jixie) 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring City Inn(Jixie) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Hotel
Spring City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing