We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Lake View Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Positives:
Clean rooms (don't forget to ask for a non-smoking floor)
Inexpensive
Good, central location
Free wifi in lobby

Negatives:
Breakfast buffet
Smoking in lobby
Tired decor

For the price, I guess I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights and had no major complaints. Was disappointed with the old look of the room and mediocre service, but it's hard to find a better location in the heart of Kunming.
Note: taxis are very reluctant to drive out to the new airport from this area. There are shuttle buses around, or you can take a taxi to the East Bus Station and catch the new subway to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AroundSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Rooms were simple but clean. No western-option for Breakfast. People at Reception spoke very little English. Location was good. Walking distance from the Lake and small restaurants and bars. Overall, good value for money. We paid around 300 RMB per night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letiaranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The good news is the hotel is well located to the lake and the great restaurants and bars close by. Also its cheap - I think I paid 300 rmb for a clean but small room with a bed like concrete! The rest of the news is not great - breakfast is very local, very little English spoken at reception or anywhere etc. It was interesting to find condoms in the bathroom marked "uncomplimentary"! I guess if u r looking gfor a cheap hotel close to the action this is a good option - if like me you need a few more creature comforts suggest you have a look elsewhere although Kunming is not very well served by the international chains. Strange for a popular tourist town of +6m.

Room Tip: Go for the higher category room than basic. The beds are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is close to the Green Lake and many shops as well as small restaurants. We walked in the early morning to see those exercising to Chinese music and doing Thai Chi. The hotel had no one who spoke English.. The room was comfortable and the breakfast Chinese with a few Eastern breakfast items. Adequate for us. Staff were curious about us as there were very few non-Chinese guests. The Chinese wedding being hosted on the upper floor added interest to us and our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Green Lake View Hotel is a four-star hotel in the downtown of Kunming city. It's better to book on line in advance because it will be much cheaper than usual ways.

Room Tip: it's better to choose a room that is not close to the road because it is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed here many times because of the good service, English speaking staff and excellent rooms. The hotel is good value (330 RMB) for the standard of the room and amenities. The shower and bath is excellent as are the beds, TV and cable internet. The breakfast which comes included is a bit of a let down as far as continental food is concerned. I usual just head up to the nearby Uni area to the French or Prague cafe. Situated near many restaurants and within easy walking distance of Green Lake which is best to visit on weekends or late afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxspiritchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,222 in Kunming
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,222 in Kunming
587 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#11 of 1,222 in Kunming
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
UChoice Hotel Kumming
UChoice Hotel Kumming
#79 of 1,222 in Kunming
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xiyi Hotel Kunming
Xiyi Hotel Kunming
#105 of 1,222 in Kunming
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
JI Hotel Kunming Cuihu
JI Hotel Kunming Cuihu
#19 of 1,222 in Kunming
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lake View Hotel

Address: No.222 Renmin Middle Road, Kunming 650031, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Jinmabijifang , Green Lake , Wuhua District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £34 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Lake View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Green Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing