We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos looked good but reality was less than 1 star.”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,204 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed 30 June 2010

On check in not only did they require payment in advance but also a 200Y deposit, which I refused to pay.
The room was small and seedy with cans of food and condoms available for sale.
TV was all Chinese channels.
The shower had only cold water on the second day and the shower head would only point downwards.
Apparently there is a shortage of toilet paper in Kunming.
Breakfast was a choice of several rice or noodle dishes all congealed and stone cold. There were no staff in the restaurant. On complaining to reception I was told "Yes many people have been."
On check out the reception staff would not or could not call a taxi and I was forced to walk a kilometer to the airport with my baggage in the rain!
I travel a lot all round the world, this was the worst hotel I have been in for over 20 years since my flight was cancelled in India.
The only good part of the hotel was the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisinaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Royal Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 32 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 30 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 February 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 January 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.0 mi away
Kunming Hotel
Kunming Hotel
#395 of 1,204 in Kunming
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,204 in Kunming
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,204 in Kunming
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.0 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,204 in Kunming
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Upland International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: No.481 Rixin Village, Chunchang Road, Guandu Distirct, Kunming 650200, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,204 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing