We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pretty poor everything else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flower Inn Hangzhou West Lake
Ranked #1,333 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is located right near one of the nicest parts of the lake, or so my local friend tells me (believe it or not we found so many things to do in Hangzhou that we never even got around to fully checking out the lake). So if it's location you're after and you are on a tight budget then this place is doable. For us though, it had one major problem: really smelly bathrooms. When we were first shown to our room the stench hit us immediately, so we asked for a different room. The next room we were shown to was obviously an upgrade as it slept 3, not 2. It smelt a bit better so we accepted it and went on in. The stench was still there, but since this room was slightly larger the bathroom wasn't right on top of the sleeping area so when the door was closed it was bearable and we crashed out from a big day of hiking.

The next morning we woke to the sound of what sounded like a playground right in our room. Turns out there is a restaurant right outside and the al fresco dining was literally centimeters away from our window. This may not be the case with all rooms, but we were in the back building, so watch for this one. The rooms are not decorated at all so look pretty awful.

The hair dryer that was listed as being supplied was a rather long and wet walk to reception away (unless you speak Chinese, in which case you could try your luck asking for one). The toilet area (a real stinker!) felt unclean. And the curtain separating the toilet from the restaurant outside not close perfectly, leaving you feeling pretty exposed. Shower took ages to warm up or adjust heat control, and natural light in the bedroom area meant opening the curtain to all the passers by. Oh yes, the area is not very good for transport. When we asked for a taxi to go get some food the reply was 'no'. A bit of pushing resulted in a cab arriving within 5 mins though - not sure if this was luck or not...

That said, the bed was a bed and if you can't afford better then it may be ok. We got in really late at night so weren't in a position energy-wise to be room shopping. You might have better luck, but do be warned that there are potential issues here. We stayed at another hotel near the lake and within walking distance to the Longjin tea fields and museum which was at a similar price point but had nicer decor, but unfortunately had the same stench. Might be a cheap Chinese hotel thing.

Room Tip: Definately check for random smells before you put your bags down. Keep away from the back building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

A slice of real China in a convenient location for the tourist spots to the West and South of the city, Check in and out were typically laborious. Rooms just about acceptable to most westerners living in China [as we do]. But the feel of the village atmosphere and the price were unbeatable. We ate in and around the city mostly, seeing little of our hotel. Beds weren't too bad. Cockerel outside the ground floor window was. Still no English spoken but that's OK if you have some ability.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich-Dad-of-JiaHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved this hotel. Nice, clean rooms with a personal touch. The rooms were located in separate buildings so it all had the feeling of a resort rather than an impersonal hotel. In the central building there's a lovely decorated restaurant with good food. Location is superb; just two minutes walking to the lake. The staff, however, does not speak English so it's very difficult communicating (often the case in China!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veganaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

You want to spend some days outside the megacities , you want to be closed to silent areas of lake and tea plants, you want to taste very special and delicious local food ? Go to Hangzhou and spend your time in Flowers Inn. Very nice hotel with closed contact to local people and restaurants. Rooms/Appartements within to local`s. Wake up with chickens and dogs not with traffic. Have breakfast in the little "Khaled`s" It also serves you delicious local food in the evening. Sit down in the sun in your directly neighbourhood and have a Jasmintea or Tsingtao...Enjoy the park area directly near your hotel (cross the silent road) Staff is very friendly and experioused ! For your environment is better to speak some words mandarin! Way upstairs to the silent teaplants nearby! I had the cheapest room with one bed and bathroom, no cupboard and very small but clean! If you want to spend more time in your room and not in the nice area you should book/upgrade to the better one`s. This is not the flowersInn directly on the lake in Hangzhou City!!

Room Tip: only 100rmb more for upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manfred_kreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Huachen International Hotel
#29 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
336 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
979 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
661 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#18 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Inn Hangzhou West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Inn Hangzhou West Lake

Address: No.20 Santaishan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,333 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Inn Hangzhou West Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flower Inn Hangzhou West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Inn West Lake Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing