We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wushanyi Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wushanyi Youth Hostel
Layer de la Haye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
527 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We'd taken the bus from Huangshan and ended up in the HangZhou East Bus Station in the pouring rain. Taking the 102 bus from there is really easy. Come out of the bus station turn right and head up the hill until you find (again on your right) the bus park that contains that 102. People will point you in the right direction. The bus costs 2 RMB each. There are no signposts on the bus in English, so you'll need to follow the instructions (get off at the bus stop just after the Aston Martin shop) or use the GPS on your phone to figure it out. We got off early and just ended up walking further.

The hostel is really well located. Quiet, but in a main area. Great for lots of places to eat, shop and very easy 15-20 minutes from the West Lake. Great common area, with sofa's and tables with plenty of power points. There's a bar and an area where you can buy food and drinks, plus a small kitchen.

There's a laundry service (10 RMB to wash, 15 to dry, but you can also hang your washing in the back yard). We chose wash and dry, and ended up waiting 6 hours for the washing to finish, which is a problem with no clean clothes, especially when they told us two hours! But clothes were clean and we even gained two extra odd socks from someone else.

Wifi in the common area was spotty to say the least. No wifi in the private attic rooms, although they did try to upsell us to a larger king room lower down. We stuck with our bargain on the top floor.

Attic rooms are small. Mattress on the floor, attic window with a blind that doesn't really keep out the dawn and sunrise, good aircon, and a wet room area with a shower curtain between the loo and the bed. You might want to use the loos along the hall. Mattress is comfy though. Clean and quiet.

Good hostel, great common area. Super location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASocialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    96
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
35
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Decent sized double room with storage room. The walls in the room did need a lick of paint. Bathroom was a good size with hot water throughout the day. Only hand towels though!

WiFi was horrendously slow and didn't work for most of the time we were there. Luckily, the PCs managed to load the webpage we required.

Front desk mainly helpful, some staff spoke better English than others. However, the answers to the most regularly asked questions were pinned up on the walls around the lobby area.

Location is good for the train station but it is a 30minute walk from the train station.

This is a good hostel for short stay. For food there is a street next to the Drum Tower, at night it comes alive with food stalls. A cheap place to eat, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The staff is helpful and speaking english. Style of hotel very good, very clean. I took private room with bathroom and everything was ok and clean. It's also walking distance from West Lake and from railway station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, right of the Main Street with places to eat, drink and explore. It's a short walk to the lake, but a pretty one, past the market street. The breakfast here was really good - very tasty scrambled eggs! The social area was cool and the staff are great too. They will answer any questions you have about the area and speak great English. The attic room was very very compact but with all the positives this place has... Who cares?!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Booked a big bed room and a family room of 3 beds. As it's winter time, the air con is working when we set high tempt to set the room warm. Suffice hot water for shower. Toilet are clean too. Staff are friendly. Hostel located at hefang street that's maybe explain the price of the hostel. Try to ask for a 2nd floor room as there's no lift. They do provide 1 breakfast voucher per room which is quite weird but you may pay it for ¥28 too. Night time there are BBQ and dumpling soup near the hostel .

Enjoyed the stay there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveller0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked two rooms and stayed 3 nights. This is the second time staying in this hostel and I still like it very much.

This time I was staying in a family room with attached bathroom. The room and bathroom were clean. Beds were comfortable and we had a good sleep. There's however no amenities in the rooms, which is a standard across most, if not all YHA China. We had a habit of bringing our own shampoos, toothpaste, etc, so no issue for us. They are selling these in the lobby though, so no worry if you forget to bring yours.

The location was good and had been mentioned by many reviewers. So I'll skip.

The service was very good. I requested a hair dryer and was given one in short moment. I requested additional two large towers and again these were delivered with no question asked. They even book show tickets at cheaper price for us. When we left our luggage with them on the day we checked out, they counted and tag our luggage, brought our luggage behind the counter.

There were seating areas in the lobby with very comfortable and clean sofas, which I enjoyed seating. There were freshly ground hot coffee for RMB15, which is slightly on the expensive side, but taste good.

Overall, I would definitely stay in this hostel again on my next visit to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Located in the great location of hangzhou pedestrian shopping area, close to almost all attraction Hangzhou has offered, this hostel provides compact but clean, affordable and comfortable accommodation. The staff are very friendly and helpful, i stayed at the private room with bathroom inside and it was great, they provided beverages and food in the lobby with reasonable price too. some basic facilities such as computer, books and pool table are available too. I recommend this Hostel !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#11 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#8 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#41 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
0.8 mi away
Wuyang Holiday Hotel
Wuyang Holiday Hotel
#136 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hofang Youth Hostel
Hofang Youth Hostel
#1 of 160 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wushanyi Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wushanyi Youth Hostel

Property: Wushanyi Youth Hostel
Address: No.22 Zhongshan Middle Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wushanyi Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wushanyi Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing