We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below par for Oakwood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Residence Hangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
Ranked #14 of 2,333 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
372 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Below par for Oakwood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I used to stay in Oakwood a lot, so this time I trusted their brand and decided to book at Oakwood in hangzhou. I believe the property is below par. The rooms are OK just as well as the lobby. The food at the breakfast was either cold and the breads and pastries very dry. The staff at the check-in did not once say please or thank you. The staff at check out had a big problem printing out the correct bill,.... and twice gave me a bill of somebody else,.... so the check out experience was also not good and took way too long. The pool has a good temperature if you want to swim a distance, but if your kids just wants to play around a bit it is simply too cold. Also the cleanliness of the changing rooms were just OK. The location of the hotel is OK I guess. The bed comfortable. The internet speed was very good and for free.

So all together not an experience as I am used to from Oakwood and therefore I will also not come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchguy_in_Allgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence on your recent visit to Hangzhou. Please let me apologise for not meeting your expectaions on this visit and thank you for detailing the areas where we must improve. In fact, in our health club we will be upgrading the change room facilities and amenities this month. Our breakfast generally recieves good reviews, however, I will be speaking to our Chef about the improvements required, and as for our welcoming and departure service I shall personally see that we provide more attentive and personalised service. I do hope that you will consider staying with Oakwood Residence Hangzhou on your future visits to Hangzhou. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    82
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
20
17
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to Hangzhou recently and was looking for an apartment hotel. Found out Oakwood Residence and want to share that it was an awesome experience. the apartments are very well equipped. washing machine, diswasher, oven, heat plates, refrigerator, all utensils and crockery including wine glasses and finest cutlery has made its way in the room. drawing area is so well done. the bedrooms are spacious and very cozy. the staff is very supportive. the breakfast absolutely splendid. also got free parking for 4 days. very conveniently located with starbucks a minute away. you can find many restaurants around and some convenience stores also around. four days just flew off. i have a decided place in Hangzhou now. that is Oakwood Residence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou on your recent visit to Hangzhou and thank you for your wonderful comments about our apartments, services and breakfast. I, along with our team members, are delighted by the recognition you have shown and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hangzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Rooms are clean and comfy, and come fully loaded with full kitchen, washing machine and large bathroom. It's a great option if you are there for a few days and want to cook your own food.

On the map, it seems quite far away from West Lake (the reason we visited), but actually it is not so far. It takes about 20 minutes to walk down the street to the top end of West Lake, and there is a Walmart, Pizza Hut, McDonalds and some local bars along the way. You can also easily take a taxi.

My only complaint is that the neighbors above us were quite loud during one of the nights, but the floor above us didn't seem to be part of the hotel so I'm not sure there was anything they could do.

It is for sure a great option if you don't need to be directly on the lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence on your recent visit to Hangzhou and thank you for your great review. As you rightly mentioned we are not directly at West Lake, but a short taxi ride away. We are focused on trying to provide accommodation which is like a home away from home, which I believe you felt here judging by your comments. I would also like to apologise for the noise from the above floor. During the Chinese New Year period, celebrations sometimes are louder than normal. I do hope that should you return to Hangzhou you would once agian consider being a guest of Oakwood Residence Hangzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was awesome to have such a nice room. There is everything you need with a kitchenette and a separate room for the kids. They were particularly impressed by so many TV's with movies available on demand on each one. The internet worked really well with all devices accessing it easily. We were even able to have our pet stay with us. The pool was wonderful for the kids to play in and there is a well resourced gym for exercise which I used. I spent an evening in the bar for a few drinks and was welcomed with a nice Belgium beer. As well as this there are lots of food options available with my favorite being the local Ramen noodles. The hotel is not on the lake front but a little back into the city, this made the busy tourists not seem to be there. We felt more relaxed not seeing all the tourists and it is not far to

Room Tip: I have no suggestion here a our room was excellent with no other idea how another room could be diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence on your recent visit to Hangzhou. Your wonderful review is very much appreciated, will be shared with all our associates, and we all certainly hope to welcome you, your family, and the pet back to Hangzhou in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had an absolute wonderful stay at the Oakwood, Hangzhou. Not only was the hotel located right in the middle of the city making it very convenient to get around, but the staff and hotel environment were well above par. The rooms in particular were very spacious, and felt like a high level apartment rather than a stuffy hotel. That and the food which must have been made by a master chef with great wine offerings to boot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreHangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guri, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Oakwood Residence is such a wonderful place to stay, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable offering a relaxing place to come home to. If you ever need help the staff is very friendly and knows the area well so is always able to offer help. Also the Oakwood Bar and the Oakwood dinner buffet are amazing, always offering wonderful food. Outside the Oakwood you have access to several different restaurants and bars near by as well as West Lake, making it's location also very nice. I highly recommend the Oakwood when coming to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Whether visiting Hangzhou or living here as we are....the Oakwood Residence has been very comfortable and supportive. The staff always treat us as valued quests. The housekeeping team are always friendly and do a great job. The concierge and business office willingly assist in arranging tickets, sightseeing, or just support with the local language. The location is convenient for restaurants and shopping for either local or international items. Staff can assist with the locations and most convenient method of transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#6 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#11 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#3 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landison Plaza Hotel
#15 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#34 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Residence Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Residence Hangzhou

Property: Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
Address: No.28 Jiaogong Road, Hangzhou 310012, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakwood Residence Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonded to the architecturally unique Europe America Centre complex, flanked by first class office space and retail mall and situated at the prime Yellow Dragon commercial circle location; this 321 residences featuring studios, 1,2 and 3 bedroom options and houses a kaleidoscope of facilities and services. Minutes away from West lake, its surroundings and landmark scenic spots as well as dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Oakwood Residence Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Oakwood Residence Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing