We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome people, very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Touran Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Touran Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #29 of 561 Hangzhou B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome people, very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in January 2014. It was around $30 for a room for myself and I was impressed with the quality of the rooms and service. I was able to rent a bike after putting down a deposit which was returned in full. The staff also helped me book a train ticket back to Shanghai and showed me where I needed to catch the bus. Highly recommend this for budget travelers/backpackers. If you are going there by taxi, make sure you write the address in Chinese as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Yes it was secluded from downtown but peaceful corner. The staff was so nice! I had checked out, left my luggage with them so i could bike to the downtown market with their rented bike. Came back super sweaty and had to get to the airport very fast. They trew me a towel and said: go wash! They taught me some chinese symbols logic. The living area had bookshelves of awesome writers, travel books etc. It smelled like cat pee and the breakfast wasnt too exciting but overall super happy to be there. Met a croatian traveler with whom i shared a beer or two. I would recommend to anyone go there. They are lovely!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've stayed at 6 hostels in China and this is my favorite. The location is very close to West Lake and the staff is extremely friendly. They helped plan my day trips and assisted me in buying tickets to Impression West Lake. You can also walk to the show from here. Its an hour walk but the scenery along the way is awesome. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Hangzhou!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

staff was very friendly and good spoke good english, atmosphere in the hotel is very good, i had met few american girls with who i am stll in touch, just sleep was very bad, because one chinese guy was snoring so hard. but it is not the fault of the hostel. :) and breakfast was very delicious

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominusCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel almost a week after planning to stay only a night or two. The rooms and facilities are certainly decent, just avoid the rooms downstairs if you can as they aren't quite as good (but still fine).

What really sets this hostel apart is the excellent staff. They are so friendly and willing to help with everything. When I couldn't get my train and all the rooms were booked up due to the Chinese holiday they invited me to stay on the sofas and helped me to get there the next day. Owen took us on a few great nights out in the city, and it was fun to meet and hang out with Lucy, Michael and Candy.

They also have the best dog I've ever seen and a kitten running around.

The only real downside was the location, which is a little out of the city but you can get a bus, taxi or bicycle easily to the city and lake.

Overall I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location is perfect if you want to be within walking distance of the more scenic attractions in the area - the mountains! Transport links into the city are good too, just a short bus ride into the centre.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room I had (private double) was a little small but very clean and included an en-suite. The common area is furnished with comfy couches and I found the other guests very friendly - I met one guest who was a long time resident and he invited a few of us to a nearby club which turned into a really great night!

The food on offer at the hostel is also pretty good, and they serve until pretty late which is handy. All in all it's a great hostel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myholidayopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for one night during our roadtrip through a couple southern cities over the Chinese New Year and were happy to find the hostel with what appears to be a full team of staffers. Our private room was a little small, and had some sad and dreary looking furniture. Mostly clean, but we didn't bother to look too close (which is the case for the bathroom as well). Fortunately, we don't spend more time than needed in the rooms or the lobby. The location is alright, but you'd think it was the perfect spot, since every hostel is located on the same hill side with them. You can take a bike out and reach the lake and tea fields easily.

The staff was pretty great all around, except for when we mentioned several times about how we were driving in and not one person on the phone thought it would be wise to mention the altered traffic pattern on their street, causing us to take a 45 min detour through gridlocked traffic. On the other hand, they did hold that parking spot for us (worth mentioning the free parking?) and they did treat us to a round of coffee in the morning.

Overall, a very average place staffed with hard working people in an alright location. If I return to Hangzhou soon, I will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#33 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
#45 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hofang Youth Hostel
#1 of 160 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
The Alley Inn
#21 of 561 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touran Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touran Backpacker Hostel

Property: Touran Backpacker Hostel
Address: No.3 Siyanjing, Hupao Road, West Lake District, Hangzhou 3100013, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Touran Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Touran Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing