We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit far from center but nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Eyes Backpackers International Youth Hostel
Ranked #58 of 182 Speciality Lodging in Hangzhou
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The location is not excellent (we had to take a bus to reach the hostel), but we received a warm welcome and the staff was very nice.

The atmosphere is very friendly with a lot of places to chill out and very nice customers. The hostel was not crowded when we were there but we can guess that the ambiance must be very festive with more people around.

The rooms have a lot of space and we spent a nice night (mattress a little bit hard though).

Room Tip: If you need the wi-fi in your room, make sure that you room is close to the "common area".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Before we arrived at the hostel we were under the impression there was a restaurant, but were told on arrival that that wasn't functioning the week we stayed there.

We were so cold in the four bed Wendy house that we had to sleep in we thought we might die. The next day we managed to obtain more duvets, which made the stay slightly more bearable, but still unpleasant.

The staff spoke very little English. The common toilets were dingy, and not particularly clean (it was probably a good thing they were so dark).

Our shared bathroom was a cold, dark, long, outdoor walk from our room. At night time this was very unpleasant, and should not be attempted without a torch because it would be very dangerous, as there were stairs and other obstacles on the way.

I think during the summer it could be a nice hostel to stay in, in terms of the building and it's surrounds. I imagine there might be some atmosphere then, but during our stay there was none.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty_Pickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Positive:
The 4 Eyes is located in a nice position, close to the zoo, 10 min. by bicycle from the lake, close to bus stops. The double standard room was nice, toilet inside, clean bed, but the floor was dusty. Nice people at the reception.

Negative:
Bar/restaurant: Not very friendly staff and bad service. We chose some meal from the menu, but they said there was only BBQ. The BBQ was poor and the fridge was full of flies. Breakfast was included, they gave us a voucher called "coffee" but at the end there wasn't coffee, tee or any juice included. There was bread with jam OR butter (not both) with a kind of bacon or a hard, dry sausage and a egg. Maybe is because they don't speak a good english, but they seems very rude.
Pay attention!!! We hired 2 bicycles and we misunderstood the price (was only in chinese, we thought was per day whereas was per hour!) and we spent for 6 hours 240 RMB!!!!!!! Prices are 10 (old) or 20 (new) RMB per hour, and is not a price thought for young people! Go by bus, it costs only 1 RMB and than walk around the lake (most of the time you cannot enter the paths along the lake with the bike).

It's a place that could be very nice... but is not well managed

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Four Eyes Backpackers International Youth Hostel

Just from it's name, because it is located in the Hostel Village called 4 Eyes Wells or Siyanjing Cun in Chinese pinyin, It may hard for the backpackers to find the hostel as there are more than 20 hostels located in the same area.

If you could find the kiosk near the Hupao Road and climb up the small path upwards, you will see their sign around.

The main character of this hostel is the design of their common area, which designed by the owner Wang Tianpeng or Lvzhang, he is the master of fiber arts, the show room is in the sun room provide customer great place to enjoy the sunshine, but don't go that room in summer, it will be super hot.

I prefer to stay their double room in bulding b or c since the small balcony provide great view of the mountain area, the air is so fresh which could ease away the tireness on your travel.

The western style food is normal, just like what you get from the other place in China. I like the teriyaki chicken, it is so delicious.

Staff need to improve further as they may not helpful during the peak season. More than 200 beds is not that easy to be managed.

In general, it is a nice place to hang out if you don't want to be pushed by the crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Ok so you really do get what you pay for, for a little over £2 a night you can't expect much but after all the glowing reviews I was quite excited to come here. The whole place is practically outside so in summer I'm sure it's pretty awesome, January however, it's freezing!! There's no heaters in the bar which is ridiculously overpriced for a backpackers hostel and I'm sitting here right now whilst they saw and hammer away at wood inside, with the door wide open!
The dorms are ok, the showers are lovely and hot but for about 10 minutes if your lucky...certainly don't try and shower after someone. We got talking to a Chinese guy who wanted to practise his English and he summed it up well...this place is ''cheerless''.
As you have to walk a good 20 minutes to get to west lake we thought we'd hire their bikes as there was about 10 Sat outside our dorm...nope they were all broken!! The only good thing about staying here is it's extremely cheap and they gave us a free breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiciex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great place with excellent hostelling groove.

Pros:
- great hostelling ambiance
- nice family rooms
- good breakfast included (although quite Chinese style)
- helpful english speaking staff
- bike rent for rides around the West Lake
- close to West Lake

Cons:
- worst internet ever (prostate style)
- no laundry service offered (self wash only without dryer)
- location not central - especially on weekends in middle of traffic jams

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Mischmisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nice hostel but we stayed there just for 1 night and so we didn´t have enough time to explore all the cozy living areas. That´s why i give 3 *** cause I evaluate mainly the room. We stayed in 10-bed room which was clean and basic. I would definitelly recommend this hostel to other modest travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellow_moonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
974 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
333 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Eyes Backpackers International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Eyes Backpackers International Youth Hostel

Address: No.66 Four Eyes Wells Village, Hupao Road, Hangzhou 310013, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 182 Speciality Lodging in Hangzhou
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Four Eyes Backpackers International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing