We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, hot, hot!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel
Ranked #177 of 2,490 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms are nicely decorated and have a glass window in the bathroom. All very clean. But what is wrong with the airco system?! I had all day my system on at full speed and the roomtemperature never dropped below 25 Celsius. It was too hot to sleep and it was only the month of May, imagine how it will feel during the hot summer months...
I asked for assistance from the front desk. They sent me housekeeping staff with a portable airco system, which worked with ice cubes.......That was not sufficient and very noisy.
It is too bad, because it is a nice hotel, but sleep quality is very poor because of the room temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper airco system
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Marjon02,

Thank you for staying with us and providing a review of our hotel. We regret to see the issue with the air conditioning system but were pleased to see a portable unit was brought up. We do apologize if the room was still not at a comfortable level. We do appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and the high score for Cleanliness. We take these reviews seriously as they help us to improve our services where needed.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Crowne Plaza grand canal hotel is one of the Crowne Plazas chain Hotels in nice city of Hangzhou. The rooms are clean and comfortable and their design is acceptable. The bathroom has big glass window to the room. The upper floor rooms are better and of course have better view.
The buffet breakfast is in the 4th floor and has lots of options that can satisfy every taste.
The swimming pool and fitness center is nice as well.
In the lobby there is a lobby bar where some nights you can enjoy live music. There is another bar at the other corner of the lobby where you can enjoy its cocktails!
The lobby itself is not bad and the staff in front desk are very polite and helpful with nice smile, although their English is a bit poor!!
The WiFi in the lobby is free but in rooms you need to pay for cable Internet.
In rooms there are 2bottles of water for free which are in the bathroom. Tea and coffee are complimentary as well, but the other stuff are chargeable. There are also safe boxes in all rooms.
For money changing you can refer to the front desk but the amount of money you can change daily, is limited per room.
Around the hotel by 8-10min walk you can find some fast food and there is a street around the hotel where you can find lots of Chinese restaurants.
Just the location of the hotel is not very near to city center and there is no worries because you can find taxis easily and the fare is not too much.
Just stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CP H, Public Relations Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear AmirLeader,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments here. We’re very extremely delighted to learn that you enjoy your stay and it’s a pleasure for us to be able to provide you with such a good and memorable experience. Hereby I would like to encourage you to enroll our IHG PCR Program to earn the points during your stay and redeem them for free nights or air miles. Also you will enjoy in-room free internet access service when you upgrade to PCR Gold & Platinum members. At the meanwhile we will continuously improve staff English speaking and listening training for a better service to all guests. Once again, thank you very much and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Katherine Ren
Hotel Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Like every Crowne Plaza I have stayed at, an ok hotel fraying around the edges. It also seems to be in the middle of nowhere, far from the center of town. None of my taxi drivers knew where it was. I only stayed there because my son was studying at university across the street. Attentive staff with passable english skills. Lacks in room wi-fi, take an ethernet wi-fi access point if you need wi-fi in your room. Wi-fi in lobby is good. Decent but pricey breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collins_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CP H, Public Relations Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear distinguished guest,
Many appreciate for your staying with us and sharing your comments here. The hotel is adjacent to the Shengli River Delicacy Court and you may find various styles of delicious cuisines for experience. Refer to the in room WIFI, we are sorry that it is unavailable to provide but we can offer a router if you need. Hereby we would like to encourage all guests to enroll our IHG PCR Program to earn the points during your stay and redeem them for free nights or air miles. Also we offer the complimentary internet access service to all PCR Gold & Platinum members. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Okay it is a crowne plaza with everything you can expect from this chain: rooms are spacious, comfortable, nice beds, great bathrooms, wonderful gym. You do get what you expect. So overhaul GREAT.
Now the location....in the middle of nowhere! I took a taxi from the aiarport and even the driver had to ask twice where it was.
hangzhou is one of those chinese cities that is growing fast and attracting more and more Western tourists, but they are not really ready for it.
Again the main issue here is the lack of communication, I had -indeed- some problems with the reception and restaurant.
Their Indian chef was on vacation so no Indian food could be served, which is okay - there are alternatives right? Well I cannot answer this question as there was NO ONE of the staff to help and inform me...Concierge had also no clue to give me the exact information I needed!
There is area nearby with loads and loads of local restaurants - I really enjoy doing that but I passed on this time as - again- I had no clue. I know from previous travels that the cuisine of Hangzhou can be ' very' different from the one up north..... (unless you like fried chicken feet or steamed chicken stuffed with green tea leaves)

Yes I do recommend this hotel BUT arrive prepared or at least ask your local guide

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CP H, Public Relations Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear distinguished guest,
It is regretful to learn that we failed to meet some of your expectations. The hotel operation management team investigated seriously about the points you addressed. We will strengthen staff training to improve our service quality. As for the hotel location, we have noted some drivers may feel a bit difficult to find right course to arrive and based on this, we plan to develop more social awareness aimed at taxi drivers. Above all, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and our team will keep working hard to continuously improve our service sense and skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have travelled to more that 40 countries around the world and stayed in motels in Ghana to 3 star hotels in Indonesia but must say this hotel takes the prize for being the Pitts . Claiming to be 5 star I have only met two staff members that can speak English . It is in the middle of nowhere next to a major highway intersection . Trying to order anything is a total disaster , lunch ordered chicken kebabs and was told 20 minutes later they don't have it , then ordered chicken and another 20 minutes later got told they don't have that as well got told to have a sandwich which tasted like !£>^>><. Ordered ice yesterday and told the hotel ran out of ice ?..... Stay away from this overpriced , badly located and totally overrated hotel. Got woken up on my day off four times by room service delivering laundry that was not even mine . Can write another ten pages of bad experiences in three days here . Please do not stay here if visiting this city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CP H, Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear distinguished guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us. On behalf of the hotel management team, please accept our most cordial and humblest apologies for the unhappy experience that you encountered, especially at our dining outlets and housekeeping services.
It is regretful to learn that we failed to meet your expectations. The hotel management team investigated and confirmed with each operation department very seriously about the points you addressed. Also we have launched a series of regulating solutions to prevent it from happening again. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and provide you with a truly great customer experience.
Your satisfaction is the best compliment for us. Our team will keep working hard to continuously improve our service awareness and skills. Once again, we look forward to your coming back soon also you can be assured we are committed to make Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Grand Canal “Great Hotels Guest Love” as usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great place, nice staff etc, the only disadvantage is the location, it's a bit out of the way and there is not much to in the hotel area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry Y, Assistant Revenue Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your stay with us/. In fact, our hotel is not the centre of downtown, it is easier for you to rent a car during rush hour here than those hotels in the centre. We understand some of the business guests certainly need to have quick transport service, please kindly let hotel concierge know what time you need a car and they will be readily happy to arrange the transport for you! We are looking forward to your stay with us on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel was very clean and had large rooms. For me, the best part of the hotel was the gym, pool, and sauna facilities. After a long, hot day, using those facilities was a breath of fresh air. All there facilities were extremely clean and great to use. The sauna was made of wood and had a rock furnace to poor water on. It was certainly the best sauna I found in China.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry Y, Manager at HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip! We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to your stay with us on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
974 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
333 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,490 in Hangzhou
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel

Address: No.333 Shangtang Road, Hangzhou 310014, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Grand Canal)
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#101 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: £67 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Grand Canal is an upscale international brand business hotel conveniently located close to CBD and downtown Hangzhou. The hotel takes its name from the nearby Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal, the longest canal in the world, flowing from the capital city some 1,794 km (1,115 miles) south to Hangzhou. Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Grand Canal is less than10 minutes drive from Wulin Square, 15 minutes from the charming scenery of the Westlake and some 45 minutes from Xiaoshan International Airport. Through overhead highway linking hotel to Westlake, city center and Hi-Tech development area, hotel offers convenient access to Xiasha Economic Industrial Zone, Shanghai, Ningbo, and Nanjing through Desheng express highway as well. Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Grand Canal rooms are designed in contemporary style with a corporate traveler or meeting organizer in mind. From our superior room to Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites, each selection is sure to meet your accommodation needs. Three restaurants, bar and lobby lounge, as well as the hotel s seven meeting rooms, business centre, Club Lounge, swimming pool and gym truly make Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Grand Canal The Place To Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HaiWaiHai Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Canal Hotel Hangzhou
Crowne Plaza Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing