We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and facilities - a real surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Century Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 2,391 Hotels in Hangzhou
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“excellent service and facilities - a real surprise”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a large and locally managed 5 star hotel in Xiaoshan, and it was a real surprise. Refined, warm hospitality throughout (except the pool, more on that later), nice rooms, and excellent facilities made for a very pleasant 10 day stay for our group.

The room was clean and featured a very comfortable bed and soft linens, nice see-through bathroom, and good work desk. The internet was sometimes slow and unreliable, but at least it was free. English TV channels were limited to CNN, HBO, Showtime, National Geographic, Discovery, and ESPN.

We tried the Japanese restaurant in the hotel, which had very good sushi although it was overpriced. The steakhouse was VERY overpriced and had virtually no customers every time we walked by it. There is a Pizza Hut around the corner, but other eating establishments outside the hotel required a 5-10 minute walk. The subway is currently being constructed outside the hotel which made getting around somewhat inconvenient. The breakfast buffet was good although not the best I've ever had. There is a decent selection of Western and Chinese choices, and the Chinese choices were generally much better. The breads and muffins were stale, indicating that they are not very popular and are recycled from the last few days.

Health facilities: the glass-walled gym could use a renovation but it has a decent selection of weightlifting equipment and cardio machines. The indoor pool is the only black spot in an otherwise excellent hotel. It is a 25 m Olympic-style pool in a spacious skylit room, which sounds good on paper but it is frequently crowded with lap swimmers and the changing facilities are dirty and moldy, with a harsh attendant barking orders at you about how to open and close the lockers and where to put your slippers.

If you're not a swimmer, the New Century Grand Hotel is a great choice for business stays in the Xiaoshan area. It is a large and bustling hotel but the well-trained staff took great care of you, smiling and greeting you and in the lobby, hallways, and restaurants. Note that there are two New Century hotels in this city; this one is called the New Century Grand hotel, the other one is merely the New Century hotel (4 star).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    370
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
6
2
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I understand that it is arrogant to expect staff to speak English to a greater level than to go through the checking in process, but what frustrates me about the the new century is they have a number of European students (i presume as they are in their early twenties) wandering around doing basic jobs like collecting plates in the dining area, and when you speak to them their English is perfect... So why in a hotel with a large amount of westerners in it, do they not think it wise to have one on the front desk as part of the team of 6-8 staff already present?
Admittedly my annoyance to this has only been found on my second stay in the hotel, when the outside temperature was much higher 38oC and seemed to make the rooms hotter with it. I like my room to be 20oC at night if possible and therefore used the AC control in the room to dial this in. I went down for dinner and returned to find the air flowing in had not changed in temperature and on measuring the temperature in the room with a thermometer I had with me for work, I measured a very hot 26oC! I turned the dial to the lowest setting of 10oC and attempted to go to sleep on the comfortable bed with a large fluffy duvet on it.
After a restless and sweaty couple of hours sleep, I gave up and hoped that changing my room in the morning would rectify my AC problems, so in the morning I inquired whether the AC was broken in my room or that it was set at one temperature across the whole hotel and that it could not be changed in the room. To this I had blank expressions from all the staff and the response was to change my room. This was a pain as it meant re-packing my suitcase and dragging my bags up to the next floor to an identical room with an indentical temperature and lack of controls!
After another poor nights sleep I again inquired at the front desk whether the temperature is preset and finally got the answer of yes it is and changing rooms again won't help. I then asked if getting a thinner quilt/duvet/blanket or sheet would be possible, but all these words did not seem to be in their vocabulary so I started acting out the process of getting into bed and pulling a sheet over me etc. this finally worked but I was told that this is not available. I was given a fan for my room which helped slightly but was a bit noisy.
Everything else about the hotel is fine, with the breakfast covering Chinese and western tastes, with my only slight complaint being the omelette station being hard to get service at and normally resulting in a ten minute wait due to him constantly making fried eggs and not having time to switch to anything else.
Overall I will not stay in the New Century again, as it is 35mins travel to the factory that we visit and really not worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnygid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on business and was impressed by this place as a hotel. I was NOT impressed by the restaurants, but this is a hotel review so I digress. The rooms were very clean and cozy, the bathroom nice, and a pretty stunning view of the green mountains and temples in the distance. My shower was sloped wrongly, so the water pooled and leaked on to the floor a little, which is my one main complaint. Health facilities were impressive for a hotel.

The thing that struck me as odd about this hotel were the No Smoking signs EVERYWHERE in the hotel, and Chinese men smoking EVERYWHERE in the hotel. I mean, elevators, lobby, restaurants, everywhere. So if you're allergic to smoke, be prepared for this and be sure to request a non-smoking floor which still has ash trays everywhere but seemed, at least to me, to be void of stink. It seems like this is the norm in this area of China, though, so I'm not sure you'll find a real non-smoking hotel around.

I would recommend eating elsewhere for all meals aside from breakfast though. That was decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINNasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Though I frequently travel in China (at least once a month), I've always stayed at foreign branded hotels - trusting in the quality of service etc...Had a conference here in Hangzhou which was organised in this hotel. Expecting less, when I arrived, the interior fittings were of or better than most 4 star internationally branded hotels. The rooms - definitely above or the same as those of international brands. However, although the in hotel restaurants were more catered for domestic tourists, it wasn't bad at all. Service, certainly wouldn't be of high end international hotel standards but still, I would say that they try. Give it another year or two, and I am sure it would be on par with the rest of them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

All in all this is a very nice property. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet. The restuarants are clean and the food tasty with enough items in the breakfast buffet to suit a Western palate.

The only complaint I would have would be regarding the gym facilities. The facilities are adequate and in good working order. However they are located with quite far away from any staff and not within sightlines of staff as well. I was in the gym alone and felt a bit vulnerable when a gentleman arrived wearing street clothes and walked around the facility for 15 minutes while I was there. Maybe I was just being a bit paranoid as a woman alone in a foreign country with little language skills can be...but I did not visit the gym my second day becasue of this.

Also, beverage are not complimentary in the gym including bottled (warm) water although complimentary water is available in your room. I purchased a bottle fro 20RMB, but had to walk to other side of the hotel to charge it to my room. Very strange.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Trust me: Do whatever you can for the high floor/upgrade. I was upgraded to the executive level floors. I had a marble staircase to my floor, which blew my mind. It was a more luxurious experience than my visits to the Pallazzo in Vegas. Free wifi, enormous bathroom.

The view at night and in the morning from the room was incredible - lush, green surroundings with a snaking jogging path below. Mountains in the distance. For dinner, head next door to the hot pot restaurant - my best meal while in China. Authentic and cheap.

PRO's:
-Good service
-Substantially Upgraded without even asking. Made me feel like I was a president or something.
-OUTSTANDING view.
-Comfortable bed.
-Free wifi (now, about Facebook and Twitter access...hmm)
-Great running route right outside (avoid the gym; just go outside)

CON's:
- Alright breakfast. Didn't make my heart flutter, but it was continental and provided all the options. Quality wasn't be best (stale bread, etc.)

Room Tip: Do whatever you can (specifically, ask at the front desk) to get the executive floor and the dazzlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

stayed her 1 night for business.

it is a nice hotel, big but good. I stayed in a deluxe room which was nice and offered good internet. The bed comfortable and the bathroom nice.

The service was good, al over the hotel.

Breakfast for me (european) was a little bit a disapointment. Not that much choice and the quality was not so good. We asked for a capuchino and a double espresso, which was not included. Ok, we accepted that but finally we got a bill of about 100 RMB for that. Rather expensive to me.

I expected a nice gym but that turned out to be wrong. There is a kind of boulevard inside with all different "shops" like the pool, gym, spa, massage etc. Gym was nothing special, in fact for this kind of hotel I think it should be better.

all in all I would come her again. Also as this hotel offers the best location for me when visiting this area for business and it has a good value-for-money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Landison Plaza Hotel
#23 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
224 reviews
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
#19 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
#27 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
60 reviews
Gongshu District
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#7 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
319 reviews
Cosy Park Hotel
#16 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel

Property: New Century Grand Hotel
Address: No.818 Shixin Middle Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311202, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#33 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short DescriptionThe five-star Hotel in a height of 218 meters is the tallest tower in Hangzhou. The hotel is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District The hotel has 700 rooms.Detail DescriptionNew Century Grand Hotel Hangzhou is located in Xiaoshan Central Business District only 23 Kilometers drive to Xiaoshan International Airport and a stone’s throw at the express way. The hotel is within 30-minute drive to the West Lake, 44 kilometers to the historic city Shaoxing, and 150-minute drive to the metropolitan Shanghai and the port city Ningbo.The hotel has 700 luxury guestrooms of various types. The toilets in all the guestrooms adopt French glass window. You can watch TV directly in the toilets. With Rain Forest sprinkler and Hansgrohe bathroom facilities, the updated guestroom articles will provide you a comfortable stay. Besides, an office area is specially set up in the guestroom with office desk, fax machine, broadband access and various office supplies for the convenience of your business activities.There are all kinds of restaurants and bars such as four seasons, Café Mediterranean, montarcino grills, I ma ri qi janpanese suchi, rose garden bar, lounge bar, cook fun restaurant and clubhouse in the hotel.The famous kitchen chefs always offer our guest variable gastronomies such as hang cuisine, canton cuisine, royal palace bird’s nest, shark fin and abalone and different country style western foods as well.Fitness Center which offers a superior array of outdoor and indoor sports and leisure activities with our exceptional service.It is equipped with the world top-grade LIFEFITNESS fitness facilities and provided with various fitness items like aerobics, strength exercise, free weight lifting, etc. Location: 3Fonderful Times Club boasts items deluxe KTV boxes, show bar, and reflexology room, perfect for your relaxation, therapy, and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Grand Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing