We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel and nice view”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Walking distance to Xihu. The room well decorated and make you feel like home. The staff services was excellent. Good stay..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    165
    45
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
27
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

rather old and spartan but clean enough. limited self-catering. free internet. good location in attractive part of town. staff very helpful. free breakfast at sister YHA nearby

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

First, please note, this is the hostel that appears in the Lonely Planet under the name Mingtown Youth Hostel (not Hangzhou International or, watch out, Mingtown Garden Youth Hostel).

The location of the hostel, quite close to the lake, is fairly good, but there's not much else within easy walking distance, only the odd bar or restaurant. The construction of the whole place feels shoddy, like half of it is still a building site. The room I had was tiny, with nowhere to put luggage or hang things, and it looked over a yard which was busy and noisy almost 24 hours a day with staff taking breaks from adjacent premises and deliveries coming and going. Worse still, the bins from all these places get put out each morning there for collection and even with the window shut the stink was revolting. The only way to get internet access is to stand up and use their two free computers (always people waiting) or to bring your own device to reception to use the wi-fi (crowded and nowhere to sit). There is no lounge or common space to hang out in. The cafe which is linked to the hostel is cool, but obviously you have to order something to sit in there and it is horrendously over-priced, for beers, breakfasts and main meals - plus there's almost nothing you can eat if you're vegetarian. The service at the front desk was really hit and miss: some of the people manning it spoke good English, some didn't, some were eager to help, some didn't care at all, the printed information they show you at the desk to pre-empt common questions really doesn't cover everything you need to know, and then there's always a queue to get to speak to someone. The one time I really needed the front desk's help, with directions to get to an out-of-the-way mountain village I wanted to visit, they gave me incorrect directions and I got horribly lost out in the middle of nowhere - not a nice experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived at Hangzhou from Xian where we stayed in a great hostel and had high hopes for this one... I'm afraid they were not realised. We had that slight heart-drop moment where you just go into the room and feel a bit depressed that you've actually got to spend time there... nothing obviously awful, just all a bit shoddy, MDF'ed up to the hilt, bad furniture, uncomfortable bed, rickety-looking aircon, a dirty looking bit of fabric tied at the window for a curtain, one corner of the room painted a different colour as if someone had just tried a few paints out but then not bothered decorating...
On the upside, the location is good, near the lake etc. I'm sure you can do better though. Maybe also as we were in a different building from the reception, we might have been in some overspill area with worse rooms, as I know many reviews here are pretty positive about this place. The reception area with the cafe / bar is actually really nice, we had a meal here and the atmosphere is great, good food, nice staff etc.
The staff on reception were not very helpful though with what we thought were quite basic requests (i.e. pre-ordering a taxi to get to airport on time, and where we could dry our clothes as they were still wet after 2 days given the humidity!) They couldn't help with either of these, and weren't particularly apologetic or bothered really about this fact.

Our room wasn't ensuite as those were all booked by the time we booked. The shared toilet facilities were good and clean, though pretty tiny, and the showers had good pressure, hot water etc. They were a bit depressing though, separated by corrugated iron sheeting etc...In general this felt like a sort of 'pile them high' style of hostel, with accommodation hastily put up to pretty poor standards, with none of the charming touches that make these sort of basic places feel a bit nicer...also it was really noisy, I guess not helped by the MDF walls... I'd stay here again if I really couldn't find anywhere else, but I'd rather pay a bit more and get a better place.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking to see a few rooms if they will let you - other reviewers seem to have had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpack29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Verry good and clean hostel, also good price and verry good location.
Only vew meters from the lake and when you walk out the hostel to the mainroad you will see lots of hole in the wall drinking shops, verry cheap. The beer in the hostel bar is much to expensive. Breakfast is cheap and verry good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hostel was in perfect location for Hangzhou, right on the lake. Really nice. My room was clean and comfortable. A bit pricey for it but not bad. Not personal at all. No one ever took time to see how things were. Every time I went to talk with someone, it was someone different and they didnt know what I had already asked or done. Never got to see a face of the place. But other then that, I thought it was a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in a double room on the hotel side of the building and thought it was perfectly adequate. Our main complaint, really, was the price; we payed about 250 RMB a night, which isn't terrible, but it's what you'd expect to pay at a regular Chinese hotel, and if you were paying for a regular hotel, you'd expect a slightly nicer room than the kind you find tucked in a corner of a youth hostel. But the room was not bad, and the location pretty much made the whole place worth it.

The room was small but cutely furnished—all the dark woods and carvings you expect to find in an Asian hotel—and the bathroom was clean with modern fixtures, although we did find the hole drilled through the shower wall to the outside a little unusual. The AC was very good, which we appreciated, as we were there in June. Our room looked out over the parking lot, which meant it got noisy sometimes, especially in the evenings, but it never really kept us from sleeping.

Other amenities are a bit sparse. There's a laundry room that we considered using, but it was something like 8 RMB per load so we opted to wash in our sink. There is wifi, but it's a bit slow and only available in the reception area. The reception area also has a computer available that we only occasionally had to wait in line for. There was almost always a line at the reception desk, but the employees were helpful and spoke good English. We also took advantage of their luggage storage on our last day in town. There's not really an indoor lounge area, which was unfortunate because on our last day it rained like mad and we didn't really want to go outside much. The cafe next door is a nice place to hang out and eat American dishes, but some of their food is mediocre. I do recommend the pizza, though.

Despite all the drawbacks, though, we liked the hostel well enough, and we loved the fact that you walk out the front door, turn right, and walk a few hundred feet and you're at West Lake. And the hostel is only a few blocks from a bus stop and a supermarket and is near a road where it's not hard to get taxis. As a place to hang out, it's a bit meh. But as a base from which to explore Hangzhou, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justahappyvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#15 of 2,365 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,365 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,365 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#35 of 2,365 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#34 of 2,365 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou International Youth Hostel

Property: Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
Address: No.101-3&101-11 Nanshan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hangzhou International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing