We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was happy with my stay here, at first it was hard to find as it has 2 entrances amd there is construction work going on so don't let the first glance make your judgement. It was clean, comfortable and friendly. The guys behind the desk were very helpful. Great location next to the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Boom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Hangzhou International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

This YHA hostel has a great cafe nextdoor, which isn't cheap but serves very good food! The rooms are clean. The shared fascilities are new, working and very clean and surprisingly the rooms were pretty quiet. Which was new for us in China.

Value for money is ok, go for the "special room".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hostel, very cheap and very well located is pretty good if you don't expect too much.
I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with 5 friends. it was good that they accept to stay together.
The room was clean and big however, the sheets were not so clean. Also, I did not like the fact that the washroom was far from the room. A sink in the room would have been perfect !
There was no wifi in the dorm...
The staff was quite helpful and nice.
Overall, i still recommend this hostel if you are looking for something cheap & accessible.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is the first time I stayed in a youth Hostel in China but I met a friend in Guilin and she advised me the hostels in China are quite nice so I thought I would give this place a try. I used to live in Shanghai and travelled to Hangzhou on the weekends often so i knew my way around.

If you want to do a tour of West Lake then the hostel is right where the lake is. However, if you want to go to Long Jing Village and visit the tea farms then you are quite far away. The hostel itself is quite expensive (this is a hostel and not a hotel), I paid around 280 RMB for one night and only thing you get is a bathroom and bed with Nil amenities. I understand that this is a youth hostel. However, I can get a room with amenities and better facilities like (Jin Jiang or Motel 168) for a similar price and those places are probably a lot cleaner.

My room was quite clean but the bathroom stank and was full of mould. The front desk service was unfriendly and not what I would expect from a youth hostel. Anyway the rooms and lobby have free wifi internet and there is a cafe and bar downstairs which also provide free wifi. The coffee, food and service in the cafe next door is also very average so don't expect too much.

This hostel is in a good location and you are close to west lake and a few other tourist hot spots, Everything is a bus ride away and if you don't want to catch a bus you can always hire the bikes and ride around town. I personally do not think this hostel is worth its price as there are better options around Hangzhou at a similar price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hostel which is in a great position 3-5 mins walk from the famous West Lake.

Very good value for a twin room with own bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities.
Nice communal areas in this hostel with pool table area and lounge with comfy sofas. Free wifi everywhere but variable signal. However, this was our experience throughout China so I don't think it was the fault of the hostel.
Food at the hostel was good too, we ate there one evening when it was too late to find anywhere else and we weren't disappointed.
I would definitely return to this hostel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Front desk staff and manager totally irresponsible. Front desk staff refused to acknowledge promises made to our booking requests, and manager tried to force us to absorb loses from having to replace 2 bunker bed spaces with a standard twin room. Pity for a well built hostel to be ran by people who behave in such manner.

Room Tip: Get the 4 bed bunker, 6 is quite terrible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yong Qin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Boasting an unbeatable location on the edge of the famed Xihu Lake and situated in a neighborhood with great cafes and galleries, accommodation at the hostel comes at a steal. We stayed in a double room, a charming space with a sloped ceiling, skylight and cheery yellow-painted walls. We also had a private bathroom, which was well-appointed as far as Chinese toilets go. In our opinion, a private room at the hostel probably offers better value and quality than most rooms at mid-range hotels across the country. The room also came with breakfast vouchers at the hostel's cafe, a well-run coffee joint on the ground level. Service at the front desk though, was a tad slow and could've been better.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top level, which affords great views of the nearby temple and lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
604 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
935 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#34 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
200 reviews
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou International Youth Hostel

Address: No.101-3&101-11 Nanshan Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Hangzhou
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hangzhou International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing