We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Budget Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh House Inn (West Lake)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fresh House Inn (West Lake)
Ranked #226 of 2,333 Hotels in Hangzhou
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Great Budget Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Clean beds, clean bathrooms, friendly (but non-English speaking) staff. The location is wonderful--a 10 minute walk to West Lake and around the corner from the lively Wushan lively night market. Very inexpensive--would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    87
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good enough if you will come for 1 to maximum 2 nights. My room was 522, any rooms on that side of the building you will get a complementary wake up call at 5.30am by the trumpets of the fire brigade fellows next door as well as they are very noisy all day from 9am. I was here on a business visit so I literally only came here to shower and sleep, and for the USD 22.00 I paid per night it is really worth it due to its great location near west lake, metro station, etc. Room has all basics, bathroom with hot shower, TV, an ok bed and free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerME123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Small, clean rooms and pleasant, English-speaking front desk staff make this a practical choice for single travelers or backpackers. It's only a few blocks to the subway and lake front, very convenient for tourist sites.

There is a fire station next door and its alarm went off twice at 6:00 AM on Sunday morning. Otherwise a good choice.

Room Tip: Away from the side facing the fire station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nybiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Only 5 minutes walk to the West Lake and very close to the Friendship Hotel which is a good landmark. This is a good option in Hangzhou for the price if you can't get into any of the Youth Hostels.
You do get shower gel which can double up as soap plus they also provide slippers. So you don't get a toothbrush or shampoo but there are vending machines where you can purchase these for just 1 RMB if you need them.
Be aware the hotel is next to a Fire Station so you might be woken by shouts. There were only 2 the first night I stayed and they were before 11pm.
Reception staff speak some English and are very friendly.
Hotel information mentions wifi in public areas but I managed to get on the 7th floor as well.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I arrived on a cold rainy day and the lobby was freezing. Staff were decently polite but not knowledgeable - or I assumed so because they couldn't answer me about my ticketing questions with regards to the most famous show in HZ.

I booked the room because of the price and also the fresh and chirpy bedsheets in the pictures, and I wanted to try out chinese boutique inns (which all scored 3 stars during this trip). I guess it has been a while since those pictures were taken, because the bedsheets look quite faded in reality and the pillows were quite flat.

On the bright side, the room was warm and it came with a computer for surfing. The bathroom/shower was also one of those with sandblasted glass doors.

It was a decent stay and I have no objections if someone is to stay here, but do manage your expectations and note that extra stuff like toothbrushes, combs etc are not provided at this kind of price range. If you want those extra things, just pay $10 more and go to Ibis.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#41 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Shangcheng District
Bokai Business Hotel
Bokai Business Hotel
#369 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Hangzhou Overseas Chinese Hotel
#219 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanting Express Hangzhou Xihu
#216 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh House Inn (West Lake)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh House Inn (West Lake)

Property: Fresh House Inn (West Lake)
Address: No.238 Huansha Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310003, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 2,333 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fresh House Inn (West Lake) 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Fresh House Inn (West Lake) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing