We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Ranked #5 of 2,349 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
350 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Perfection on the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is one of the most amazing Four Seasons properties in the world. The fit and finish, the design, the rooms and the amazing spa all make this property worth a visit. Though I beleive they are still working some kinks out of the serivice systems, it did not impact our stay and overall everything was perfect. The staff were amazing, helpful, and in the Four Seasons manner always wanting to make sure your stay is perfect.

A speical note on the spa, it is amazing. The private treatment rooms, the facilities and the treatments are second to none. The bar, though no one was there, is a nice place to relax and the restuarants are both excellent. West Lake is a very charming place and one of our favorites of China. This Four Seasons is a must.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    51
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
94
143
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
385 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Four Seasons Hangzhou

Was picked up in a nice clean Audi at the Hangzhou train station, a mere 45 min from Shanghai.  Traffic seems to be getting worse everytime I visit Hangzhou. 

Got upgraded to a room with a little private classic Chinese garden, bathtub overlooking the Hangzhou style garden, comfy room with a few gadgets, room overall not as well designed vs Banyan Tree Hangzhou but much better workmenship vs BTH, but the outdoor areas ie the gardens were a pleasing surprise, you can say this is a Disney version of a Hangzhou style garden but it was perfect, I walked around one afternoon and only shared the path with a cat!   combine that with four seasons' almost flawless service ( concierge Robert Huang was very helpful ), well thought out architecture plus excellent food /wine/weather.   This was a pretty perfect way to end my weekend.   

I still love Amanfayun more (though I know not everyone "gets it" re Aman.)  If I recommend a Hangzhou hotel to friends and colleagues it would be four seasons, if for my own family it would be Amanfayun

Only gripes...
-Wine is very expensive here. They charge rmb285 plus 15% for a class of Chateau de Lamarque.  But the bottle itself would cost only rmb200.   Even if you incl shipping plus tax etc it is still overpriced
-Massage was not enjoyable.  Mostly coz the room was too warm and according to the therapist there was nothing she could do with the central heating. She also had quite rough hands so that did not help
- they charge for wifi at two different rates.  I paid for "premium" ($100 per 24hr) but still found the service to be quite slow.  While I knew I can't access facebook, but still had problems with even google, my brokerage online trading website, certain functions on flickr etc
- the doors can be better engineered.    I was in room 106 close by the west wing door entrance --In the morning around nine there was a constant parade of doors slamming.  Not sure if it was when housekeeping was doing their rounds then but it was quite noisy for a Sunday morning.  

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The room is absolutely amazing and from our balcony we were able to go to the pool and see the lake. To take a walk in the hotel in something that you cannot miss. There are nice gardens and the peaceful atmosphere makes you forget that you are in a 8 million people city!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akiakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,752 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Calling ahead to book a limousine pickup from the train station to the hotel, I knew this will be a 5 star experience from their English and professionalism. Situated along a quieter part of the west lake, the hotel is a sight to behold, constructed beautifully like a landscaped garden. My passport was in another city being processed for a work visa and I mistakenly thought they would readily accept other forms of ID, but I was wrong. But they were very patient with me, giving me free rein of the business centre while I rummage my online email account for a copy of my passport.

The room was equally beautiful, with a giant bathroom, and a television that electronically emerges upwards from a hidden cabinet when activated.

The service is simply amazing and 1 of the best I've ever experienced, and I've stayed in over 300 hotels all over the world. Their English is great, they go out of their way to be polite and help you, and smiles all round. Room service and restaurant food quality and service is ok. The spa was amazing and we did the scrubs.

We had the ZhangYimou west lake performance tickets delivered to us, and the show was good, and within walking distance of the hotel. No problems with taxis back and forth when we headed to LinYin temple

I am based in shanghai, and this four seasons is worth considering a monthly retreat for me

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

The hotel is great, what can I say it's the Four Seasons, although it is not completely at the level I've experienced in the Middle East the service is very good, friendly and most importantly helpful.

The rooms are nice, offering beautiful vews over the gardens and the overal look of the hotel is very nice. Luckily I took time out of my schedule to include some sigh seeing in Hangzhou as well, although it was cold it's certainly something that you cannot skip in between meetings.

The only downside of this hotel is getting there. Getting a taxi from the city to the hotel is not easy, not many taxi driver seem to want to dtive there. Getting a taxi from the hotel to the city is a nightmare. As a business traveller it's not very convenient having to spend that much time in a taxi to and from the city. I have rated the hotel average simply because of the troubles I had getting to and from the hotel.

Hopefully Four Seasons can do something about this transportation problem in the near future. Only after this issue is dealt with will I return to the hotel and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank China_Traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

They really didn't spare any expense when constructing the new Four Seasons Hangzhou. Everything was of very high quality - the marble, the fixtures. The staff are very professional and many of them speak a very high level of English, even the bus boys. They are thorough and follow up promptly on details and requests. The bed is extremely comfortable with high quality linens - however, I was a little disappointed in the quality of some of the bathroom amenities, although they did offer L'Occitane shampoos and soaps.

The spa looks amazing, although we did not try it, and the gym and indoor heated pool look great as well. I found the food at the Western restaurant to be quite good, and the staff in general are quite professional and well-trained.

Location is quite nice, on a quieter side of West Lake, although it does tend to get a bit trafficky in the area and cabs can be hard to find.

The resort is a nice place to stay if you want to be right on West Lake. The hotel is up to Four Seasons standards you would expect to find elsewhere, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabellalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Barely a month old, the Four Seasons is a great option for a luxury stay in HangZhou, especially if you're looking for a private retreat yet don't want to be in too remote a location. Situated in its own beautifully landscaped gardens, the resort is conveniently located along the West Lake, unlike the Banyan Tree which is located pretty far away in the Xixi Wetlands (a huge park I visited but found a complete waste of time), and the Amanfayun which is in a little village on the city outskirts. Also on the West Lake is the historic Shangri-la just down the road, however it looks very run down, and the Hyatt, which is right smack in the crowded tourist area (although rates at both these hotel are half of what you would pay at the Four Seasons). The only drawback to the Four Season's West Lake location is that there is a single ring road (BeiShan Road) leading to and from the hotel, which tends to get pretty clogged with traffic.

The hotel itself is everything a Four Seasons should be. Elegant rooms and hotel interiors, a nice blend of contemporary with traditional Chinese touches. Service was fabulous, all the more so if you judge by China standards (although it helps if you do speak Mandarin). The bathroom suffered a little from bad plumbing however, and we were surprised to detect a faint whiff of sewerage even though the hotel was brand new.

Food at the Chinese restaurant was refined, athough a little pricey, while the fare at the western restaurant was quite good. The breakfast quality (in-room dining) however was not quite up to the mark - muffins and bread that weren't really to western standards, and a muesli that tasted a little stale.

Thanks to the attractive promotional offers, we did decide to try out the spa services, and found the masseurs professional and the spa luxurious. There is an indoor pool which is oddly surrounded by sofa lounges set in alcoves, which looked opulently out of place since the whole area was large and empty.

All in all the Four Seasons is a wonderful new addition to the luxury scene in HangZhou.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#12 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#30 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.6 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#8 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#2 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake

Property: Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Address: No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou 310013, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In China’s most picturesque setting, Four Seasons reveals an intimate lakeside village, melding centuries of tradition with chic contemporary style. Convenient to business and shopping, discover a tranquil enclave, woven with ponds, streams and lagoons. Experience the gentle spirit of Chinese hospitality in exclusive private dining rooms and resort-style recreation, including two swimming pools and a cutting-edge designer spa. Deftly sophisticated Four Seasons care instills confidence and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake
Four Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing