We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dragon Hotel(Hangzhou)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
461
67
18
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
67
18
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjin shachinese restaurantoutdoor poolbeautiful hotelwest laketreatment rooms areboat tourprivate gardentraditional architecturewater featuresbest hotel i have ever stayedpremier roomdim sumconcierge teamsteam roomthe entire staffthe hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We took our 1-year-old daughter with an unforgettable 3-day stay there, and it's absolutely the best hotel in Hangzhou ! It's a resort suitable for family vacation.
Pros: New and spacious room. Friendly staff. Jin-sha restaurant provides good Chinese cuisine. West lake is nearby.
Cons: More varieties are needed for breakfast at the WLB restaurant. The pond in front of Jin-sha restaurant is dirty. It is a little bit far from downtown, most taxi drivers can't find the location immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsungchelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Four Seasons Hangzhou is an epic masterpiece in creating the look and feel of the surrounding area of Hangzhou. With fewer than 100 rooms, suites and villas, it sits on a classically Chinese landscaped campus that alone will take you a half-day to explore all the nooks. The Hotel is situated on the western-most side of West Lake, so if you need to be anywhere in Hangzhou, you must ply through the gridlock around the lake. This, I believe, has led some reviewers to say that the hotel is out of the way. It all depends on why you are there. The property feeds into the entire lake and park system and you can stroll for hours without really every seeing civilization, so if endless walks and relaxing is what you want, there is no better location than this.

The building is a series of passageways and semi-common areas that are set up to seclude you from the other guests and all done in the style of modern meets classic Chinese. From the outside, the building looks as if it has been there for centuries with covered walkways, pagoda style roofs and surrounded by traditional landscaping including streams, waterfalls and fountains. The inside is no less impressive. It seems like every corridor, room and common area has a view of water. It gives an authentic feeling, rather than one that tries to be something it is not.

The rooms are wonderful. They are well appointed, the bed is very comfortable and the bath products are awesome. Our room had a veranda that led out onto a private courtyard with a huge wicker chair in which to relax. The veranda had a reading chair and a table with two chairs that was perfect for breakfast. The doors of the veranda folded back and the entire area became an outdoor room to enjoy the weather.

There are two pools at the Four Seasons. The outdoor pool is a large infinity pool that sits amid a traditional Chinese pond looking out onto the adjacent lake. It is a unique design and looked inviting, but the cooler April temperatures kept us from trying it. The Indoor pool, though, is even more impressive. With the feeling of an emperor’s court, the large pool is surrounded by enclaves, rather than lounge chairs, that are recessed into semi-private nooks and are padded with a very comfortable mattress and comfy pillows - much like a day bed. Each enclave then has an accompanying recess in the pool that contains a built-in underwater bench with its own Jacuzzi jets. The entire pool area is decorated with subdued colors and is not overly lit to create a relaxing atmosphere.

The indoor pool is adjacent to the Four Season's world class spa. I have spent a lot of time in spas around the world and outside of the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok, I would rate this as the best spa to which I have ever been. The common area faces a huge rock waterfall that is viewed though a massive window and the overall feeling is one of compete relaxation. To get to the spa rooms, you must traverse a hallway that has a central raised walkway with running water on both sides. It gives the impression of walking on stones through a small stream. This walkway goes down the entire length of the corridor and each room has its own walkway that branches off the main. Very unique. The treatments are outstanding and the service is truly legendary! They even had homemade ginger cookies.

The property has two restaurants of polarizing quality. The first restaurant, WLB, is in the main lobby area and serves a variety of both Chinese and continental food. The entire experience is lackluster from the service to the food. It is complete contrast to everything else in the hotel. It is not horrible, but the standard is so high, that this restaurant falls very short of expectations. The breakfast buffet, which is served in the same restaurant, is expensive and it too falls short of expectations. You get a more extensive selection and better quality at the Shangri-La down the street. After the first day, we began ordering room service breakfast which has a better menu and was actually cheaper.

The second restaurant, Jin Sha, is in complete contrast to the first. The food and service are truly outstanding offering tradition and local Chinese dishes that are more culinary works of art than food. Both the lunch and dinner menu is extensive and we began to eat at Jin Sha for both. Even after a relaxing day in the spa, we were motivated to get dressed and walk over to the restaurant rather than ordering room service and staying in. The service, as well, is fantastic, with the wait staff recommending fantastic dishes that we would have never ordered on our own. The pace of service was whatever suited you. There were lunches when we need to be in and out and the staff was expedient and there were other meals which lingered on for hours while the staff patiently poured and re-poured our tea!

Lastly, let me highlight the overall service from the maids, to the spa, to the front desk. Everyone was courteous, helpful and professional. We worked closely with Robert, the concierge, to set up two days worth of tours. The first was a private boat trip on the lake which picked us up at the hotel and traversed the back canals of West Lake for most of the morning. It was really worth the time. The second tour Robert arranged was a day trip to the Ling Yin Temple, lunch at the Amanfayun and a tour of the Dragon Well Tea area. Robert, in partnership with his day counterpart, arranged a car, ensured the driver knew the itinerary and gave us written instructions on how to navigate the day. It went off flawlessly. Thank you Robert!

Overall, as you may surmise, I highly recommend the Four Season’s Hangzhou. I travel extensively around the world and, if you read my other reviews, I am not easy to please. This experience, though, was without incident and exceeded all my expectations. Again, though, you must know what you want. If simply exploring the lake region by foot and seeing a few of the sights around Hangzhou is your purpose, there is no better accommodation than the Four Season’s Hangzhou!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Landscape perfect, great design hotel. I made ​​almost 50 pictures.
The room was not like it.
The Desing there should be reworked.
For more than 675 U.S. dollars per night breakfast not included.
Extra cost of about $ 30. But it was delicious.
After the hotel I had to try something else. Much cheaper but not bad
See also my photos

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1anonymous00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is one of the most amazing Four Seasons properties in the world. The fit and finish, the design, the rooms and the amazing spa all make this property worth a visit. Though I beleive they are still working some kinks out of the serivice systems, it did not impact our stay and overall everything was perfect. The staff were amazing, helpful, and in the Four Seasons manner always wanting to make sure your stay is perfect.

A speical note on the spa, it is amazing. The private treatment rooms, the facilities and the treatments are second to none. The bar, though no one was there, is a nice place to relax and the restuarants are both excellent. West Lake is a very charming place and one of our favorites of China. This Four Seasons is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Four Seasons Hangzhou

Was picked up in a nice clean Audi at the Hangzhou train station, a mere 45 min from Shanghai.  Traffic seems to be getting worse everytime I visit Hangzhou. 

Got upgraded to a room with a little private classic Chinese garden, bathtub overlooking the Hangzhou style garden, comfy room with a few gadgets, room overall not as well designed vs Banyan Tree Hangzhou but much better workmenship vs BTH, but the outdoor areas ie the gardens were a pleasing surprise, you can say this is a Disney version of a Hangzhou style garden but it was perfect, I walked around one afternoon and only shared the path with a cat!   combine that with four seasons' almost flawless service ( concierge Robert Huang was very helpful ), well thought out architecture plus excellent food /wine/weather.   This was a pretty perfect way to end my weekend.   

I still love Amanfayun more (though I know not everyone "gets it" re Aman.)  If I recommend a Hangzhou hotel to friends and colleagues it would be four seasons, if for my own family it would be Amanfayun

Only gripes...
-Wine is very expensive here. They charge rmb285 plus 15% for a class of Chateau de Lamarque.  But the bottle itself would cost only rmb200.   Even if you incl shipping plus tax etc it is still overpriced
-Massage was not enjoyable.  Mostly coz the room was too warm and according to the therapist there was nothing she could do with the central heating. She also had quite rough hands so that did not help
- they charge for wifi at two different rates.  I paid for "premium" ($100 per 24hr) but still found the service to be quite slow.  While I knew I can't access facebook, but still had problems with even google, my brokerage online trading website, certain functions on flickr etc
- the doors can be better engineered.    I was in room 106 close by the west wing door entrance --In the morning around nine there was a constant parade of doors slamming.  Not sure if it was when housekeeping was doing their rounds then but it was quite noisy for a Sunday morning.  

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews