We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #4 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Good Hotel, the problem was I booked non smoking but I smell smoking I call reception they changed room immediately, I appreciated. The location is very good and the spa was nice, a bit expensive. The room was nice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have often been a little critical with the Marriott hotels, as I think they have a particularly greedy approach to business / pricing (e.g. one of the last high-end chains to realize you should give complimentary bottled water in rooms and free wifi). But this one at Hangzhou, where I stayed one Saturday night on a very good corporate rate, stands out as a really high level structure.
It’s in the business district, 2 walkable kilometres north of the pretty West Lake, and a couple hundred metres from the Canal. The JW Marriott shares the entrance with the Courtyard by Marriott (which made me think for a moment that the taxi driver had gotten it wrong…). Check in was quick, smooth (despite I was early) and appreciable (I got a complimentary room type upgrade).
My “Premium” room was on the 10th floor, pretty large, with a very large and (being a corner room) full-windowed bathroom. Linear modern decor and very well equipped with amenities (e.g. an ipod stand; an in-room coffee+espresso machine; waterproof TV and remote control by the bathtub; and such details as a paper stapler).
On the other hand, if you start looking at the assembly details, you can find various small faults (e.g. a poorly wall-mounted bathroom TV, loosely fitted bathtub taps, and ‘bar’ area furniture that looks fairly cheap).
I had a nice Hawaiian massage, in a room at the spa that wasn’t terrific from an aesthetic point of view.
Two more small faults… 1) given that the coffee machine can produce espresso-sized coffees, they could make available espresso-sized cups; 2) the TV remote and TV menu are exclusively in Chinese making it impossible to find the (for me indispensable!) sleep timer function!
Overall, very good service and a high standard hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice clean and bright hotel for sure!  The lobby area shiny, hallways clean, carpeting looked like new, and the rooms were well-appointed!   

I was very impressed by the rooms which were clean and fresh.  Nicely decorated; and, the bathroom had a large window around the tub.  There was white marble and a great corner shower.  Bathroom was big and bright, but only one sink and the tub is a bit small.  White fluffy towels and robe were wonderful.  Good quality soap and shampoo, as well as the other items.

Very good-sized office desk area and chair, a small couch and seat at the end of the bed.  A tray ceiling gave the room a bigger feel, and the doublewide bathroom doors opened up the  large bathroom.   Plenty of storage cabinets for a short stay and a good-sized closet, large combo safe, ironing board and minifrig of course.  My room was quite and the walls and glass seemed well insulated from outside noise.

The hotel, unfortunately, is not conveniently located.  Because of its location, you may be caught in traffic along the main overpass or on the crowded and polluted streets.  The airport is not located in Hangzhou, so it will take you at least one hour in light traffic.  Also, the West Lake is a distance away, so plan accordingly, especially in heavy traffic around 5pm!  The traffic can be bad and taxis are hard to catch, especially during rush hours!  Shopping is not great either around the hotel, just local shops (try the Hyatt for the best location,  wished I did).  

Executive lounge is a bit small with a view of the lake in the distance. Good quality eats, some cheeses, fruits, and sweet cakes.  Nice selection of alcohol and beverages as well as fresh juices - nice, well worth it!

Breakfast was very good with a large selection of Western and Asian choices on the first floor.  Fresh juices, cook-to-order eggs with fresh grilled potatoes; and locally produced sausages, sliced meats and yogurts.  The Executive Lounge had the imported yogurts though (there is a difference - this is China). 

The lobby area and front doorway/parking was a chaotic at times - feeling a bit overwhelming to a foreign guest.  People and cars were not very organized on the ground level, especially on a very busy evening.   But, the staff was so great which made my stay very comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Like everyone else I found the service here to be quite good. Maybe a little too good. I waited at the front of the hotel for my colleague to pick my up in his car. Because of traffic my colleague was 20 mins late - and over the course of the 20 mins I stood there five different people (staff at the hotel) asked me if they could help me or call someone or get me a car. By the 2nd person I was impressed with the care. By the fifth person I was kind of annoyed. Room and lounge were lovely. Very much a JW. The abutting courtyard looks perfectly good too though - so if the JW is pricey just stay at the Ctyd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imfletcher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is a great JW thought it is neighboring Courtyard. If you have enough budget, I would recommend you chose JW. The lounge is at the top, a good place to have a rest. I did not try the restaurant this time since last time we did try the Kantonese Dim Sum but it turn out not so good. It is still quite new facility and service is really good.

Room Tip: Choose the high floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I'm partial to JW's and this one did not disappoint. Was upgraded to club level and the room was a good size, clean, and well organized. The executive lounge had a very limited selection of food for breakfast and evening snacking - not quite up to Shanghai JW standards - but good enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Decided to stay here instead of the usual ihg hotels thanks to the MegaBonus promotion. Quite impressed by the staff, warm and friendly. Room was nice too, with an okay view of the residential houses at the back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
702 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#18 of 2,422 in Hangzhou
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Address: 28 Hushu South Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 2,422 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £132 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Hangzhou offers unmatched luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms are tastefully designed and appointed with guests’ utmost comfort in mind. Deluxe rooms, executive rooms and spacious suites are available to meet every discerning taste. The executive lounge overlooks West Lake with spectacular view of downtown, serves a full breakfast, choice refreshments and delicate snacks throughout the rest of the day. In the evening, cocktails and selected wines are served along with a variety of appetizers, international and local favorite dishes by our culinary team. Three world-class restaurants offer unforgettable culinary experiences. On-site amenities are catered to your home away from home needs such as a relaxing swim at our indoor pool; pamper yourself in our serene Spa or working off your fatigue at our well-equipped fitness center. Our friendly and attentive staff is delighted to serve and will strive to make your stay at Hangzhou an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing