We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go out of your way”

Hangzhou Longjingshan Tea Cultural Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tea Culture Tour in Hangzhou from Shanghai
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you've been to a team plantation, there is not a lot to discover here. I enjoyed the ride out there more than the actual experience of being there as you see some very pretty parts of Hangzhou.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlf_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    74
    34
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Lovely to look at but beware sales technique.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The setting is very picturesque and the business area is pleasant to occupy. information about the names given to green tea based on the time at which it is picked ( virgin, lady, grandmother ) helped explain why green tea from teabags has been bitter when I have tried it before. The ceremony accompanying the sales pitch was entertaining. I guess it showed the presence of antioxidants in the tea but was portrayed as showing the tea cleansing impurities from the body. At first rice was placed into a beaker of water as a sample of what we might eat. Iodine was added with the explanation that there is iodine in our food. The iodine immediately turned black of course as any high school student who remembers the tests for food chemicals should recognise the iodine test for starch. The black colour was described as impurities in our bodies produced by what we eat. i thought this was a metaphor but the rest of our party took it as a real sign of impurities caused by eating rice and iodine. i bought some green tea because I enjoyed the flavour and had also chewed up my tea leaves and enjoyed them too. It was like eating a mild tasting green vegetable and i contemplated adding some to salads for variety.
If you like the tea which did actually decolourise the iodine back to its original shade quite dramatically I guess you will be happy with buying this product but if you are expecting magic refer to your old science books before travelling. i have been enjoying my green tea since coming home and do not regret my purchase but have not compared the price yet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubadory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We visited the Longjing "Dragon Well" tea village”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The tea, although expensive, is delicious and very healthy. We were there just after the first cut of the year so were able to try and buy the "Empress" (top quality) tea. The village was beautiful and the girl who served us our tea spoke English really well. She had a 5 year degree from the university in Tea!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SMMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh air and beautiful surrounding”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

There are many trees besides the road, also the air there is fresh and a little sweet. The mountain is high and you may take bus there. You can have lunch or dinner in the villiage restautants which are operated by the farmers lived in the viliage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhou X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Picturesque village a short bus ride from the city centre”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It is a short bus ride from West Lake. Take route Y3. The bus drops you a short walk away from the village. The village is really beautiful surrounded by steep hills with tea terraces and bamboo forests. Walking around is a great way to relax after the crowds of West Lake. The only bad thing is there are quite a few people who hassle you you to buy tea which is ridiculously over-priced. However, if you are happy to ignore them this is a great place for a day trip. We came in winter when it was snowing heavily so it was very quiet. It is probably much more busy in summer. We had a cup of tea and tea cakes at the Old Dragon Well. It was quite expensive RMB10 per person entrance into the gardens and then RMB 78 per person for tea (as many refills as you want) and a huge amount of fresh fruits, nuts, cakes and biscuits but we felt it was a good experience and worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JiaqiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hangzhou Longjingshan Tea Cultural Village also viewed

 

Been to Hangzhou Longjingshan Tea Cultural Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing