We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once and only time at New Century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hangzhou Merchant Marco Edgelake Hotel
Ranked #191 of 2,443 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed one night in 2 rooms recently.

The rooms were booked for nonsmoking.
We went to the rooms assigned and request a room change due to smoke stink.
The front desk said the rooms had been given odor elimination treatments.
However, they hit us with a 50 rmb/night surcharge to get rooms in "non-smoking" floor.

The facilities are OK for the original price.
Front desk were helpful to give map directions.

Acceptable place for smokers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2008

Very modern hotel with a great location - only 5-8 mins walk to West Lake. There's a supermarket and Watsons (like Boots in UK) along the way as well so great for stocking up on water and toiletries.

It's also next to a large department store which had some restaurants. There's also several restaurants in the area - we didn't have trouble finding somewhere to eat.

Room was nice and clean and roomy. Staff was ok at check in and spoke quite good English.

Highly recommended for its location - we were able to walk around till late at West Lake and still walk back knowing it was safe.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jukazu1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2007

My friend booked this hotel for me.
I highly recommend this to business travellers since the Internet access is good (with a cable that you can plug into PC) for FREE.
Even you can find some stationeries on the desk that would really help you working.
good PRICE of around US$50 per night.
Walking distance to Shopping centres, restaurants, and most important the WEST LAKE.
good sized room with a city view, nice and clean
sound proof is not the best as i had expereince one night, but my ear plugs helped me.
I do not have expectation on the staffs there, so they were alright, some young university graduated ladies serving on the concierge, do nto expect service like a 5 stars hotel.
Afterall GOOD PRICE, GOOD LOCATION, REASONABLE CLEAN ROOM. No doubt can stay there again and again.
[--]

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nmw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

My colleague and I shared a room to attend a conference last year. Our first night was on one of the middle floors and it was marginal. There was noise from adjacent rooms, TV didn't work, room smelled like smoke even though it was supposed to be non-smoking... The next day we asked if we could change rooms. They took us to the executive floor (6th?) and it was great. I think our daily bill was $60 which was nothing! I found the hotel staff to be very helpful. They spoke English and were quite friendly. I prefer these places to American chains any day.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tbschlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
chengdu china
1
Reviewed 25 August 2005

service neither friendly nor helpful. staff very unmotivated.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2005

I stayed at the New Century Hotel fir a week in November. The service was excellent, the rate was only about USD39/night, and within easy walking distance of the West Lake. The Splendid Jingnan Restaurant on the 4th floor was also excellent, and not expensive. I would stay at this hotel again.

Thank davidimports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Y_C_Biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Merchant Marco Hotel
#44 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
251 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#34 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
325 reviews
Hangzhou Hotel
#70 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xinqiao Hotel
#775 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
50 reviews
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#43 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
333 reviews
Gongshu District
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#12 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Merchant Marco Edgelake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Merchant Marco Edgelake Hotel

Address: No.99 Huansha Road, Hangzhou 310001, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 2,443 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hangzhou Merchant Marco Edgelake Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hangzhou Merchant Marco Edgelake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing