We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny Name...Incredible Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #55 of 2,391 Hotels in Hangzhou
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Funny Name...Incredible Hotel!”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

With a name like "Friendship Hotel", the imagery that that kind of name evokes is of a small and stodgy Soviet era Communist hotel. What a pleasant surprise when we checked in. The lobby was expansive and the rooms were well appointed and we would venture to say that it even shades the NY Hilton that we'd previously stayed in and were quite happy with!

We have traveled to close to 200 cities worldwide and have yet to encounter a hotel like that. The rooms come equipped with a Nokia mobile phone that allows you to make and receive free phone calls in China and you can take the mobile out with you! Callers just have to call the hotel and cite your Room number and ask to be connected to your mobile. Now my wife and I can go shopping and know that if we are separated, we'd not be incommunicado. The room came with free welcome fruits and High Speed Broadband too.

The service is exceptional and staff are well trained. The buffet dinner in the revolving restaurant is not to be missed! We really pigged out. Its out of this world with lobsters, scallops, abalone, crabs, king prawns, oysters, steak, tiramisu etc. Some things are cooked in a trolley at your table...Chinese style but sometimes even flambe style. We've never seen a spread like this...ever. I would give it a 6 star rating. On the night that we dined they were trying to sell us a bottle of wine and a serving of an ultra luxurious dish that costs like US$65. We politely declined. Towards the mid point of our meal we were served the wine and the lux dish free! Compare this top NYC hotels that tend to nickle and dime you on everything. We've eaten at Michelin 3 star restaurants and the extravagant Chef's Table on 6 star cruise ships and thought that we'd experienced culinary heaven...until now!

Europeans and Americans originally set the standards for great hotel keeping, but it looks as though the Asians are the new kings - they are really pushing the envelope on great service differentiation! Its hard to believe, but it's only in Asia that we can get this level of amenities for circa US$68 per night inclusive of taxes!!!

The only problem is language, but the staff are so eager to please that you can rest assured that somehow they'd figure out what you want...even with the assistance of sign language! Someone in the Hotel will speak fluent English and they can usually be summoned for situations like this. However, the Chinese seems to be on the fast track to learning English as I understand that English classes are filled to the brim with eager students.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible with a view of the wonderful Hangzhou Westlake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrankDLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    119
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
27
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The Friendship Hotel does not look friendly from outside, but the service and attention you will receive from the staff certainly does. This hotel has improved and the rooms have been renovated. They provide all amenities, a cellular telephone, fruits and water for your eating pleasure, and a very elegant design with semi-circular rooms with views of the city (and some of the lake). Great selection of television stations and extraordinary noise control. I slept great.

The hotel is located at a walking distance to the lake. On your way, you will walk through shops and restaurants that cater both to tourists and the locals. Give them a try! The restaurants and shops on the lake front are great, but tourist-oriented. The streets on the hotel vicinity are vibrant and full of people at all times. There are bus stops on the side of the hotel that can take you to many places in the city. The railway station is quite close by taxi.

On my recent visit in June 2011, the hotel had a staff member ready to greet incoming guests with very good English skills which shows they are addressing the language problem. Yet remember that most guests are Chinese speaking (as I was told) and that Chinese tourism is extensive and growing so a great deal of attention is given to them. If your Chinese is not good, you may have problems with some staff and/or restaurant service, but there should always be somebody to help you.

The hotel is not cheap, but I was able to get my room at half the price, so good bargains abound. This is not a budget hotel, but given the new service and decor, this is a very well-priced choice in a great location in one of the most wonderful cities in China!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Revolving Restaurant is brilliant. Hotel staff were very good and friendly. Enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayNoraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Unfriendly front desk staff who can handle straightforward checkin/checkout deals but are unprofessional in dealing with any other additional requests. They bungled up a request to extend 1 room for half a day and insisted on charging for 2 rooms. Double rooms were small and cramped. They don't provide airport transfers and neither did they offer to help arrange for one. We had to arrange our own mini-van transfer outside the hotel.

If you don't speak Mandarin, be prepared for a frustrating time communicating with the front desk staff when you encounter any problems. Irate foreign guests at the front desk is a common sight!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and overall it's a pleasant hotel, just 300m away from west lake and a very complete set of amenities: free internet in the room, at least 3 restaurants, gym, travel service (good for buying train tickets in advance).

The breakfast is spectacular, on the top floor with a beautiful view over Hangzhou and a wide variety of options from Chinese to western food.

My only complain is about the difficulty on being understood by the staff: most of them did not speak English, and it was hard to make event the simplest requests. For example, I went to one of the restaurants (the Chinese one, on the ground floor) and no one of the multiple waiters was able to understand my questions - I was saved by the concierge, a girl who actually spoke English very well (but she was the only one!) Not surprisingly, the hotel seemed very popular among Chinese people, but I didn't see many non-chinese people there. It's a shame because otherwise it would be a 5 star review.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Was In HangZhou for 2D1N in Nov 2010 (yes apologies for this late review). Decided to stay the night at Friendship Hotel. I chose this because of the positive reviews in TA (thanks to all the reviewers and to TA for hosting and disseminating all these info). I have since recommended this to friends traveling to Hang Zhou in March 2011. My stay at the Hotel has been Most Positive and is consistent with other hotel guests reviews ie. smooth checking-in to comfortable, clean room to fantastic breakfast at the revolving restaurant with the West Lake view on the top floor to English speaking front desk & concierge staff. What stirred me to write this review is the Very Positive experience my friends had. They got to the hotel and realized that their iPhone had dropped off in the taxi from the trouser's back pocket. Reported this immediately to front desk who sent a staff to chase down (yes I mean chase) the taxi. Thank goodness for the slight traffic jam at that time - even then bell boy had to run 3 blocks to recover the iPhone. Friend offered a reward for this effort but hotel staff refuse to accept. Maintain that it is their responsibility to help their hotel guests. Wow, that says a lot about this hotel !! Thank You Staff of Friendship Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinnychinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Breakfast was better than i hope but all other things was average. It is my first time in china staff were helpful but difficult to understand each other. Very close to west lake which was beautiful, i like it so much, i walk there every morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennystar131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#33 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
307 reviews
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#34 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
323 reviews
Lake View Hotel Hangzhou
#54 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan International Hotel
#322 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
106 reviews
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#49 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
158 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#75 of 2,391 in Hangzhou
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou is a four-star Zhejiang, China hotel that offers plush accommodation and business and leisure facilities. Its convenient location near the Hangzhou's central business district is an advantage to traveling executives. This Shenzhen hotel also boasts an extensive roster of banquet halls and meeting rooms ideal for various events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Friendship Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangzhou Friendship Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing