We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #45 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
OZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

A good hotel for the price, very close to West Lake 10 min walk, great breakfast in the revolving restaurant, watch for the catch of only 1 breakfast provided with each room. Staff were great and there always seemed to be the designated English speaking staff member to help us out, rooms were clean and while the bathroom was tiny it was adequate.
Got a good deal on Venere which included 2 breakfasts.
Chinese restaurant on the bottom floor had great food, hot and fresh with the bonus of an English speaking staff member, menu written in English with pictures.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on a high floor fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    119
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
27
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyogo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The location is good. A couple of blocks to the West Lake, a couple of blocks from the airport limousine bus stop. Staff very friendly, but you can only make minimum requests in English/Japanese, unless you're lucky enought to get someone who can speak English/Japanese, but hey, I can't speak too much Mandarin, so I can't complain.
They let you choose comfortable pillows on request, and you can choose from things like oolong pillows, lavendar pillows, silk pillows, and etc, which was quite nice.
There's free bottled water, and there's also a tap in the bathroom for 'drinking water' so you can enjoy room-made tes/coffee, whenever you need it.
The revolving restaurant on the 20th floor is spacious, has a really good selection of food for breakfast, and a great view.
The hotel also lets you use the room mobile phone for free domestic calls, which was quite handy. It took me a while to figure out that you didn't need to push the 0 or 00 for outgoing calls, when you are using the mobile...!
There is free wi-fi in the lobby, but the connection wasn't too great, and the seating area is small.
The night market is also just a few blocks away, it feels safe to walk around at night, and the metro is also very close.
Used the metro to go to Wulinmen, where you can get on the water buses, which is quite fun, but the water buses only run about 30 minutes apart, so if you don't have enough time or language skills, sticking to a taxi for transport may be safer.
The public rental bicycles looked very good, and there's a station very close by, so if you have a backpack or shoulder bag that you can keep your valuables in, it would'nt be a bad choice.

Room Tip: If you're not too good with noises, it might be better to ask for a room away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim-tam-tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The Friendship Hotel is really two places. The first is a hotel with lovely, well maintained public spaces, a very nice revolving restaurant serving a good breakfast ( and I don't, as a rule, eat in places that revolve). The other is a hotel with grim, shabby rooms, though with a very nice view, moldy bathroom caulking, and peeling paint in the shower, not to mention no wifi and none of the TV channels promised on the lost next to the remote. And this is not a budget hotel, but claims to be a four star property. The location, 2 blocks from West Lake is very nice, however. It is unclear to me how one hotel could be both so nice and so awful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rjnewman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by my supplier, and the hotel never failed my expectations.

The location was great, you're near the shopping area and 5 minutes walk to the west lake / Xihu.

They have a revolving restaurant in the 20th floor which gives you a great view of the city. Hangzhou is actually a relaxing city and having a view like that to start your day sets you on track. They have a nice variety of selection and is good.

The room is nice although small. The bathroom design is unique. Rooms clean, pillows and bed are comfortable. The room we had wasn't in the pictures from their website or google, but definitely better than what you can see online. Sorry guys I forgot to take pictures.

This hotel is nice, could better if the price is a bit lower, or the room a bit bigger. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jepoyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hatel located close to the lake, and can be reached by walking. I stayed 4 nights for business trip with my colega and my team (for factory test) at Hangzhou. The breakfast is available at the top of the hotel rotating 360 degree, so we can see a good view around the hotel. The food is served with many kinds choices of food. The room is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is (too) small (in my opinion and experience), others facilities seems good. There are at least three restaurant; at the top, at the loby and at 18th (? Not sure the floor level) japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpha_Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

My first impression upon stepping into the room was that it looks really dated. Nonetheless, the room was clean and adequate for a two days stay. No wifi in rooms. Front desk was efficient but unfriendly. Walking distance to the west lake and shopping centres.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extacy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I found this hotel really comfortable and cheap place to stay. The rooms are spacious and the bed was large. The decor was slightly dated but did bother me. I also found the location quite convenient as I could catch a taxi any time of the day and also most taxi drivers know the hotel - although I carried a taxi card with me which is written in Chinese.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#39 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#36 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
#66 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#57 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#13 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#59 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou is a four-star Zhejiang, China hotel that offers plush accommodation and business and leisure facilities. Its convenient location near the Hangzhou's central business district is an advantage to traveling executives. This Shenzhen hotel also boasts an extensive roster of banquet halls and meeting rooms ideal for various events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendship Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangzhou Friendship Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing