We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average!”
Review of Hangzhou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hangzhou Hotel
Ranked #58 of 2,413 Hotels in Hangzhou
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pretty Average!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This Hotel had the noisiest Aircon (60 decibels in room 1601), so much so that we could not sleep with it on, and it was a hot room. It does have great wifi - although for westerners Chinese restriction on social media will frustrate you. The rooms are basic and in need of repairs.

Breakfast in the revolving restaurant on top of bldg is a novelty but not does not cater to western tastes. The major cracks in the windows of this room have been "tastefully" masked with green tape in the shape of a vine!! quite a concern!

There are 2 free small bottles of water in the room but don't get caught out on the extra ones alongside - they are Y35. (~A$6,5)!!
The Spa is sadly lacking in cleanliness, facilities or skills.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    71
    24
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
6
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is highly recommended. It is centrally located and easily found because of its height and the revolving restaurant on the top.
The staff, despite not all having good English were all friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean and well equipped. There is free wifi.
There is a good view of West Lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great central hotel to stay in. Moderate price but very good facilities. Very good meal at the restaurant and at the buffet of the revolving restaurant.
Handy to "Silk Road , West Lake and the local shops. Some very good bakeries and coffee shops around if you need them.
Staff had a good level of English- arranged rail tickets for us back to Shanghai.
Took a taxi to a Tea plantation-cheap and the visit very worthwhile.
Would stay at the same place next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candas, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wow! Hereby to share my experience at The East Hotel Hangzhou and do a highly recommendation for all the travellers who have the plan to visit Hangzhou.
This boutique hotel located very close to the bussiness area, a little bit far away from the famous lake, but this didn't affect my sightseeing at all coz the guys at lobby were really trying their best to help me get a cab, by using app or add around 1 dollar as tip for the drivers, thanks for their hlep, but the government should take some effective measures to fix this problem, the city got a very bad traffic situation on rush hour and really difficult to get a cab.
Rooms were morden designed and well furnished, the double basin, iphone docking, free mini bar, etc. do not worry about those stuff coz the receptionist will escort you to room directly afer check in and make a detailed introduction with good english, which i even can't expect at those branded luxury hotels.
The only negative thing i want to say is the noise from outside, but the hotel manager told me they have started to install the double glazing since this month, the problem could be solved recently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajapapa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is just next to Metro Line, which can travel to Train Station easily. West lake is only 20 min walk from the hotel. There are lots of shopping malls and restaurants around the hotel. There is also a small community just across Yan'an Road, you can experience the "wet market", local breakfast there. However, there are lots of construction works going on, the surroundings are quite messy and dirty.

The staff are very helpful in showing ways and how to get on the local transport. One of the staff even guide me to the bus stops. Really appreciate.

The hotel room is not prefectly clean is one of the failing. I stayed for 2 nights but notice the bathroom has not thoroughly clean after the first night. Apart from that, the room is perfectly ok.

I will definitely return to this hotel when all the construction works around is completed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed for a few nights in April 2013. OK hotel for the price. It's also pretty central. The breakfast at the top restaurant was good. The hotel only had wireless internet in the lobby. The staff seemed a bit surprised that we talked English, but eventually found someone who could talk to us.

There was one big problem though. The room was supposed to be none smoking, but stank of old smoke. If I were to stay longer I would definitely have complained.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maintitles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Prestigiously clean accommodation. The Thai restaurant is Outstanding! Guest Relations Team could not have been more helpful in arranging pick up from station and transport during my stay. Their sightseeing recommendations were just right and arranged excellent seats for the Lake Opera. Special thanks to Sheyma, Marco & Julia for ensuring my stay was so enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Hangzhou.

Room Tip: Premier room with Lake View was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PML76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,413 in Hangzhou
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#33 of 2,413 in Hangzhou
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hangzhou Tower
Hangzhou Tower
#187 of 2,413 in Hangzhou
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#15 of 2,413 in Hangzhou
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zhejiang International Hotel
Zhejiang International Hotel
#37 of 2,413 in Hangzhou
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Hotel

Property: Hangzhou Hotel
Address: No.546 Yan'an Road, Xiacheng District | Wulin square, Hangzhou 310006, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 2,413 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hangzhou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hangzhou Hotel IntroduceLocated at the CBD of Hangzhou – the southern part of Wulin Square, Hangzhou Hotel is a high star hotel which integrates accommodations, food & beverages, entertainment and business services. The hotel has gained the certificate of ISO9001/14001 Environmental Quality System.Hangzhou Hotel is only 1km from the famous West Lake. As one of the landmark Hangzhou is 112 meters. There are 32 floors and some of them are non-smoking floors that build an eco-friendly environment. Broadband internet access is available in all 223 guest rooms. Central air-conditionings and digital televisions are equipped in all rooms. Guests can make DDD & IDD call in their rooms. For business guests, the hotel provides conference rooms of all sizes for maximizing their convenience and the business center provides the most efficient service.Various entertainment services including chess & card, foot massage, beauty salon are provided you the most joyful and comfortable leisure time. You may take the sightseeing lift to 32F Revolving Restaurant. The restaurant provides delicious international cuisines and quality service. Our guests will enjoy the atmosphere there by having a great view of the West Lake and city panorama.Add: No.546 Yan’an Road Hangzhou Hotel China ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hangzhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing