We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Ranked #23 of 2,333 Hotels in Hangzhou
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Centrally located hotel with clean rooms and washrooms. Breakfast is good and the staff made efforts to customise breakfast to suit our vegetarian tastes though they had limited options. For vegetarians, going for ala-carte breakfast is a better option rather than the buffet. Silk market is within walking distance from the hotel.
Front desk staff was very helpful though could not arrange a kingsize bed as it was very late at night during checkin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashanup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear ashanup,

Thank you for taking the time to input your comment about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center.

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at the Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center. I am glad to know you enjoyed the room、staff、service and location.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    161
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
22
40
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed here several times now - the standard is always high. Whilst the Holiday Inn is not much in the UK, its quite the opposite in China and always of 4-5 star standards. Rooms are always large with very big comfortable beds, a range of western TV news channels and sports, powerful showers, ironing board and well stocked mini bar.

The location depends on your purpose, you are quite close to the West Lake but not ideally close. If you are doing business in the area then this is a really convenient hotel with great service. Also getting a taxi in Hangzhou is notoriously difficult, so the location is in good walking distance with many places and the subway! Not a lot of decent restaurants in walking distance.

The Chinese restaurant is outstanding, though the 'Australian' Oak Room restaurant is massively over priced and quite poor quality. Breakfast is a typical but adequate buffet.

Overall its a great place to stay, with a very fast check-in/check-out, no-nonsense approach.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south facing side offer a nice view of 'downtown'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nathan W,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed our service, restaurant and location. In regards to the Australian Restaurant, we do pride ourselves in offer Fresh Australian and New Zealand products that are in fact below the market price here in Hangzhou.. I am sorry that you thought it was over priced….

Once again, thank you for your honest and direct comments and we are looking forward to your next visit. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Very cheap hotel but over consumed. Very old facilities and amenities, OK service and OK location, very far from perfection.
As a frequent business traveler, it is not the hotel for me.
Will never stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Samer S

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We apologize that we have not met your expectations in our service delivery. We pride ourselves at offering the best service available along with the best value for money, while enabling you the guest to be yourself.

Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location is in the CBD center and good for business travel. But not that close to subway station. Please note that the taxi driver exchange time is around 4 to 5 am/pm, also busy hours. So please be aware of that. Besides, due to the front road is a big roal, so not many stores, If you have budget limit for living, please remember to get the convenient store things in other places and don't expect any mart around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Richard C,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

As you mentioned that our hotel is located in the City Center and there are plans to have metro line near the hotel in the near future.

Also with 5 minutes walk from the hotel you will find the Tesco supermarket..which. Great selection of local and international products..

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is okay, I think 3,5 stars. The room is let down by hopeless air cond which over heated the room and in the end I turned it off as it can't be adjusted all for appearances.
Food is rather expensive and boring.
Location isn't really in the city center at all.
Room was large with reasonable amenities but carpet was very dirty.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiusSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear MarkGD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologize that we have not met your expectations in our service delivery.

For the food,actually the feedback from other customers was quite good. We are surprised about your comments. Our Aromas café and Oak provides wide varieties of western food.

For the location,our hotel is located in the city center. It only a 20-minute amble from the picturesque West Lake. It’s only about 3 kilometers to Hangzhou Railway station.

For the room cleanliness,i have discussed with our HSKP department and we will look into this.

Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Picked this Holiday Inn only because its location is very central, the first impression was this is a very typical Holiday Inn establishment in second tier cities in China. What makes this hotel special was the warm service; bell boy came up with a big smile offered to help with luggage the minute I stepped into lobby. Check in was efficient and friendly and helpful, when I asked for local information, Emma asked around for me with smile as well. The room was standard, bed was comfy and clean. Slightly noisy because my room faces street front but I had good sleep anyway. Unfortunately, because this is an old building, drainage was smelly. I can smell it in the room and restaurant. The deputy manager offered to give me room change, but I didn't think this will help so I thanked but refused this offer, then I have got a fruit plate! Breakfast was adequate but not many Western choices. Traffic is not good in Hangzhou; concierge used their magic machine called taxis for guests. In general, this hotel is a good short stay business hotel. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear MinibearX,

Thank you for taking the time to input your comment about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center and also for providing such great detail.

We are very proud heard that you had such a good experience at our hotel during your trips to Hangzhou. I am glad to know you enjoyed our service, the location of the hotel and staff. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guest’ to indulge in the best they deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have to admit that i was nervous about staying in this hotel before getting there. I've stayed in Hangzhou a couple of times before, but those hotels were over my budget, so i had to book the holiday inn which was much cheaper! But i had nothing to be worried about! My room was amazing! I had a massive bed, sofa, large bathroom etc. It was modern, new, and nicely styled with a glass window from bathroom to bedroom. There was also an extensive western breakfast buffet which was included in the price. The only slight negative was that the check-in proceedure seemed to take a long time, but it was worth the wait. I'll definately be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHangzhou1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Zoe081

Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us!

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center! I am glad to know you enjoyed our room and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your comments. If we can offer any further assistance please do not hesitate to let us know.

With best regards

Jason Burnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Landison Plaza Hotel
#15 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#40 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#3 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#6 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Cosy Park Hotel
#18 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
#14 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Address: No.289 Jianguo North Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310003, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#13 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and be productive in the heart of vibrant Hangzhou at the towering Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre.The aluminium and mirror-glass frontage of the 26-floor Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre hotel presides over Hangzhou's central commercial hub, close by to shops, restaurants and offices. A sweeping staircase leads from the mezzanine Lobby to Aromas restaurant, overlooking the leafy East River. Bullet trains reach nearby Hangzhou rail station from Shanghai in just 40 minutes, and you can jet into Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, 25km away.Upgrade to a fresh Executive room for complimentary wireless Internet and cocktail hour in the duplex Executive Lounge on the 25th and 26th floors. Meetings at companies like Nokia, Coca Cola and Merck are within 10km of this modern, office-district hotel. We can host your banquets for up to 300 people in the elegant daylit ballroom.Sing your heart out in the private, state-of-the-art KTV lounges on the 4th floor. Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre is just a 20-minute amble from the picturesque West Lake and a short 10km drive from the mountainside Buddhist shrines at Lingyin Temple.Rack up at the billiards table while our live duo entertains in trendy Stocks bar. You can dip in the 5th-floor swimming pool and treat yourself to a massage and sauna session on your relaxing stay at Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Centre.Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center will renovate swimming pool & gym during Sep 01 the middle ten days of January 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing