We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes this worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #59 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location makes this worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just a 5 minute walk from West Lake (and the great nightly musical fountain) made this a good choice for our 3 night stay in Hangzhou. Hangzhou is a city that generally has far fewer Western tourists than other places we visited. As such, there was fewer fluent English-speakers among the staff. The saving grace was a charming intern from the Netherlands, who was always very courteous and helpful, and went out of his way to be sure we were satisfied. The breakfast buffet was quite plentiful and had a wide variety of Chinese and Western options. We were in one of the higher floor rooms, but the smog/fog was so consistently heavy we could barely see the lake. It is in a pretty busy area, but we didn't find the traffic noise to be too bad. The room itself and the bathroom were adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    133
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
35
65
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have found that Chinese hotels typically have a lot more smoking rooms than non-smoking. However, they also have adequate ventilation so that those who are lucky enough to get non-smoking rooms don't smell smoke from the other rooms in their own. The rooms in this hotel all smell like smoke. I switched a couple of times, and everyone in my group had the same problem. We ended up moving to another hotel after one night.

The rooms in this hotel are very old, small, outdated. Those overlooking the street are very noisy. I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not overlooking the road. It's a busy street and the windows are so thin that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_RA, Manager at Haihua Hotel Hangzhou, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Haihua! We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Our hotel is located in the busy section of the city center, only 2 minutes walk from West Lake. We are always willing to wholeheartedly provide relatively quiet rooms for guests who have special needs. We will constantly improve the service quality of the staff members, and looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!
If you still have any questions,please don't hesitate to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hangzhou hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

+ personel speaks and understands english
+ localisation is very good
+ really close to the lake and to the metro station
+ we had no problems to get another room when it turned out that it is extremly loud in the room we got (due to construction work on the street)
+ allthought we arrived before "check-in" time, our room was prepared very quickly
+ free-welcome drink on arrive
+ no problems with the wifi

- we took taxi to see "Tea Terraces" near the city - the staff from the hotel arranged a taxi (OK, since we don't speak in chinese) and proposed arbitrary fixed price for one hour (70 CNY) - which was too overpriced (whole trip would cost around 70CNY when drove with taximeter). We would expect hotel to keep side of his visitors/tourists than proposing overpriced conditions..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I did not like the hotel, i stayed yesterday night and thought it was dirty, very old, the staff spoked very poor english and it was expensive for what i got. Have to admit the location was good.
Today when i woke, up before i left for the train station, i went to the reception and exchanged money, 500 USD.

The front desk man exchanged me the money and with his poor engligsh explained me that it would take me 30 minutes to the train station.
When i got to Beijing nobody would accept my money. They said it is fake!!! The only place that i have changed before was an ATM Exchanger. So i am 100% sure it was them.

I called them, explained the situation and they said so sorry that they could do nothing! I am very pissed. Apparently not the whole 500 USD was bad because i have used most of it, but there is 700 yuan that are for sure fake, so i think the front desk man did it on purpose this way so it would be harder for us to know and also he knew i was on my way out of Hangzhou.

I dont recommend anybody this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari-woodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

In our search for a comfortable hotel with English speaking employees too a decent price and at the same time having the main attraction just around the corner - it doesnt get any better at the price than Ramada hotel.

First of all, friendly staff that speaks English (hard to find) in China in general.

A small but functional gym - and most important good good location, just next to the lake.

Room Tip: Room with a view is general a good rule of thome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkelengstrom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have been using RAMADA HOTEL chains in China for over 6 years. This Ramada Hotel is special for us because of its location. It is very close to West Lake (XiHu) and close to restaurants, bars, shopping malls and anything you want. Taking a taxi from this location is very easy. And the stuff is helpful when they see that you are a foreigner (this is a common thing in China i think). The worst point is that this hotel is a little old (i mean the building) and as most of the hotels, most people smoke in doors and i can not say that it is a very quiet place (because of busy road).
If you are going to stay in Hangzhou for some days and planning to visit scenic spots, this is a good hotel to choose. Very close to everything and the price is acceptable during our stays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HangzhouJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#13 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Chaptel Hangzhou
#34 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#57 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
#25 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haihua Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haihua Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.298 Qingchun Road, Hangzhou 310006, China (Formerly Ramada Plaza Haihua Hangzhou)
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xihu Resort , Downtown , Xiacheng District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haihua Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Haihua is a four star international hotel overlooking the north eastern shore of the famous West Lake adjacent to the city's commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haihua Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Ramada Hangzhou
Hangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing